Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation: Databases

The Database on International Research from the Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and Exchange (CIRRIE) contains citations, abstracts, and in many cases, links to the full text of articles that report research conducted in countries other than the U.S

From the website: "The Evidence-Based Review of Moderate To Severe Acquired Brain Injury (ABIEBR) is a joint project to develop an evidence-based review of the literature for rehabilitation or rehabilitation-related interventions for ABI. The principle of the ABIEBR is to improve the quality of ABI rehabilitation by synthesizing the current literature into a utilizable format and laying the foundation for effective knowledge transfer to improve programs and services."

The National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC) is the library of the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR.). It collects, catalogs, and disseminates the articles, reports, curricula, guides, and other publications and products of the research projects funded by NIDRR. NIDRR funds more than 250 projects each year that conduct research on a wide range of issues including technology, health and function, independent living, and capacity building.

From the website: "OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. Most trials have been critically appraised for their validity and interpretability. In one database, OTseeker provides fast and easy access to information from a wide range of sources to inform occupational therapy."

PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 23,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice. PEDro is produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at The George Institute for Global Health.

"PM&R Knowledge NOW is an evolving, dynamic online resource that highlights the breadth and depth of clinical topics in the specialty of PM&R. Currently in the process of becoming the specialty's go-to resource, PM&R Knowledge NOW offers 100+ clinical topics for you to explore." [From the website]

For APTA members only.

PTNow provides: clinical summaries on common PT diagnoses; clinical cases; tests and measures used for functional limitation reporting; clinical practice guidelines; and an Evidence Based Practice Library.

REHABDATA, produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, is the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The database describes over 80,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The collection spans 1956 to the present.