Key Pediatric E-Books
AAP Neonatal Resuscitation e-Book Collection by
Textbook of Neonatal Resuscitation, Guidelines for Perinatal Care, Questions From NeoReviews, Neonatal Care: A Compendium of AAP Clinical Practice Guidelines and Policies , Challenging Cases in Neonatology: Cases from NeoReviews &
Guidelines for Air and Ground Transport of Neonatal and Pediatric Patients
ISBN: 9781610025249Publication Date: 2021
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Pediatrics by
The most practical, up-to-date guide available for accurately diagnosing and effectively treating child patients--from birth to adolescence The authoritative resource to pediatric medical conditions most often encountered in daily practice, CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment Pediatrics provides the evidence-based information readers need to deliver effective care in every situation. Packed with 600 photos and illustrations, this evidence-based text offers succinct, accurate overviews of important pediatric health concerns, such as childhood nutrition and eating disorders; substance use; psychiatric disorders; child abuse; oral medicine and dentistry; immunization; and emergencies and injuries. Complete with an invaluable guide to normal laboratory values, it provides detailed descriptions of diseases, as well as diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, and present all information in the time-saving style that makes LANGE CURRENT books so popular: Problem, Essentials of Diagnosis, Clinical Findings, Differential Diagnosis, Treatment, and Prognosis. NEW to this edition: Color insert for dermatology, ophthalmology, infectious disease, and other chapters Optimized digital edition for improved search
ISBN: 9781264269983Publication Date: 2022
The Harriet Lane Handbook by
Every three years, The Harriet Lane Handbook is carefully updated by residents, edited by chief residents, and reviewed by expert faculty at The Johns Hopkins Hospital. Easy to use, concise, and complete, this essential manual keeps you current with new guidelines, practice parameters, pharmacology, and more. The 22nd Edition of this portable reference continues to be the #1 source of pediatric point-of-care clinical information for pediatric residents, students, nurses, and all healthcare professionals who treat young patients. Trusted for more than 65 years for fast, accurate information on pediatric diagnosis and treatment. Updated and expanded content includes an all-new chapter on Psychiatry, plus reorganized information on Emergency and Critical Care Management, as well as Traumatic Injuries. The popular Pediatric Drug Formulary, updated by Carlton K. K. Lee, PharmD, MPH, provides the latest in pharmacologic treatment of pediatric patients. Outline format ensures you'll find information quickly and easily, even in the most demanding circumstances. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323876988Publication Date: 2024
Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics by
Concise, readable, and up to date, Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics, 9th Edition, provides the must-know information you need in pediatrics from the name you trust. A readable, full-color format; high-yield, targeted chapters; and thorough content updates ensure strong coverage of core knowledge as well as recent advances in the field. This focused resource is ideal for medical students, pediatric residents, PAs, and nurse practitioners in various educational and practice settings, including pediatric residencies, clerkships, and exams. Covers normal childhood growth and development, as well as the diagnosis, management, and prevention of common pediatric diseases and disorders. Contains new coverage of COVID-19, Multisystem Inflammatory Syndrome in Children (MIS-C), and Vaping-Induced Lung Injury. Includes Pearls for Practitioners at the end of each section, as well as updated immunization schedules and an expanded discussion of trauma-informed care. Features well written, high-yield coverage throughout, following COMSEP curriculum guidelines relevant to your pediatric clerkship or rotation. Uses a full-color format with images and numerous new tables throughout, so you can easily visualize complex information. Provides real-world insights from chapter authors who are also Clerkship Directors, helping you gain the knowledge and skills necessary to succeed both in caring for patients and in preparing for clerkship or in-service examinations. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Evolve Instructor site with an image and test bank is available to instructors through their Elsevier sales rep or via request at https://evolve.elsevier.com.
ISBN: 9780323775625Publication Date: 2023- Nelson Pediatric Symptom-Based Diagnosis: Common Diseases and Their Mimics by
Patients don't present with a disease; they present with symptoms. Using a practical, symptom-based organization, Nelson Pediatric Symptom-Based Diagnosis: Common Diseases and their Mimics, 2nd Edition, offers authoritative guidance on differential diagnosis and treatment of diseases and disorders in children and adolescents, and covers the symptoms you're likely to see in practice, their mimics, and uncommon disorders. Drs. Robert M. Kliegman, Heather Toth, Brett J. Bordini, and Donald Basel walk you through what to consider and how to proceed when faced with common symptoms such as cough, fever, headache, autistic-like behaviors, chronic pain, chest pain, gait disturbances, and much more. Begins with a presenting symptom and leads you through differential diagnosis and a concise review of treatment recommendations. Contains more than a dozen new topics including Disease Mimics: An Approach to Undiagnosed Diseases, Autistic-like Behaviors, Shock, Hypertension, Neurocognitive and Developmental Regression, Chronic Pain, Hypertonicity, Movement Disorders, Hypermobility, and more. Features a new focus on symptoms of rarer diseases that are mimics of more common diseases. Offers a user-friendly approach to Altered Mental Status such as coma and other CNS disorders, with numerous clinically useful tables and figures to guide clinical decision making in various care settings. Uses a highly templated format for easy reference and quick answers to clinical questions, with the same consistent presentation in each chapter: History, Physical Examination, Diagnosis (including laboratory tests), Imaging, Diagnosis, and Treatment. Includes numerous full-color illustrations, algorithms, tables, and "red flags" to aid differential diagnosis. Serves as an ideal companion to Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics, 21st Edition. Content in this book is referenced and linked electronically to the larger text, providing easy access to full background and evidence-based treatment and management content when you own both references. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323761741Publication Date: 2022-05-06
Reaching Teens
Reaching Teens: Strength-based, Trauma-sensitive, Resilience-building Communication Strategies Rooted in Positive Youth Development
(2nd edition) is an online resource from the American Academy of Pediatrics that is designed to benefit all professionals who serve adolescents.Reaching Teens integrates a trauma-sensitive model with the core belief that identifying, reinforcing, and building on inherent strengths can facilitate positive youth development. More than 400 videos combine with written chapters to show how strength-based communication engages and empowers teens.
Includes content customized for a variety of settings, for example:
- educational
- juvenile justice
- substance use program and recovery
- foster care
- health care
- sports and physical recreation
- services for youth enduring homelessness, unstable housing, or human trafficking
Specialty Pediatric E-Books
AAP Textbook of Pediatric Care by
The landmark guide to pediatric medicine - updated and streamlined for today's clinicians and students For more than 80 years, the American Academy of Pediatrics has been the nation's leading and most trusted child health authority. The new second edition of AAP Textbook of Pediatric Care continues the tradition by providing a wealth of expert guidance spanning every aspect of current clinical practice. When you purchase the AAP Textbook of Pediatric Care, 2nd Edition print copy, you also receive FREE eBook access! Gain a better understanding of the relationship between mental and physiologic health and between early childhood adversity and long-term health outcomes. Deliver the best pediatric health care with step-by-step recommendations on what to do, when and how to do it, when to admit, and when to refer. Effectively integrate mental health care into routine primary pediatric care: mental health screening, surveillance, promotion, symptoms, and conditions are now fully integrated through the text. Expertly apply the latest approaches and techniques with 75 new chapters, including Planned Coordinated Care to Support the Medical Home; Pediatric History: Assessing the Social Environment; Promoting the Health of Young Children; Applying Behavior Change Science; Conducting the Health Supervision Visit; Psychosocial Therapies; Transitions to Adulthood; Children in Poverty; Maternal Depression; Disruptive Behavior and Aggression; and more. Diagnose, treat, and manage 85 of the most common physiologic and behavioral signs and symptoms more effectively. Includes more than 600 full-color photos and illustrations.
ISBN: 9781581109665Publication Date: 2016
Avery's Diseases of the Newborn by
Covering the evaluation and management of every key disease and condition affecting newborns, Avery's Diseases of the Newborn, by Drs. Christine A. Gleason and Sandra E. Juul, remains your #1 source for practical, clinically relevant information in this fast-changing field. You'll find the specific strategies you need to confidently diagnose and treat this unique patient population, in a full-color, easy-to-use single volume that focuses on key areas of practice. Now in a thoroughly revised 10th Edition, this highly respected reference is an authoritative clinical resource for neonatal practitioners. Provides up-to-date information on every aspect of newborn evaluation and management in a new, visually improved format featuring more than 500 all-new, full-color illustrations integrated within each chapter. Includes greatly expanded Neurology and Hematology sections that highlight the knowledge and expertise of new co-editor, Dr. Sandra E. Juul. Features all-new chapters on Palliative Care, Gastroesophageal Reflux, Platelet Disorders, Transfusion Therapy, Hypertension, , and The Ear and Hearing Disorders, as well as expanded coverage of brain injury and neuroprotective strategies in the preterm and term infant. Contains new Key Points boxes at the beginning of every chapter. Brings you up to date on current topics such as the evolving epidemic of neonatal abstinence syndrome and the new clinical uses of ultrasound (including ultrasound videos online). Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323828239Publication Date: 2024
Avery's Neonatology by
Manage newborns effectively through an accurate understanding of their pathophysiology with Avery,,s Neonatology! Originally authored by Dr. Gordon B. Avery, a founding father of the specialty, this respected neonatology reference is internationally acknowledged as the defining source on the pathophysiology and management of both preterm and full-term neonates. Features: - Make the most informed, appropriate clinical decisions with guidance and insights from hundreds of world authorities. - Access the latest advances via comprehensive updates from 52 new authors as well as four completely new chapters.d regularly by the - Apply evidence-based practices through current links to multi-institutional trials, which will be updated regularly by the authors. the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, - Find the answers you need more easily thanks to a new color format. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: in the book, your - Complete content with enhanced navigation - A powerful search that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the webasier reference of key content throughout the - Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation - Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the textk reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use - Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues - Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
ISBN: 9781451192681Publication Date: 2016
Breastfeeding by
Written and edited by leading physicians, Breastfeeding: A Guide for the Medical Profession, 9th Edition, offers comprehensive, dependable information and guidance in this multifaceted field. Award-winning author and co-founder of the Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine, Dr. Ruth Lawrence, and her son, Dr. Rob Lawrence, ensure that you're brought fully up to date on everything from basic data on the anatomical, physiological, biochemical, nutritional, immunological, and psychological aspects of human lactation, to the problems of clinical management of breastfeeding-all in a highly readable, easily accessible desk reference. Helps you make appropriate drug recommendations, treat conditions associated with breastfeeding, and provide thoughtful guidance to the breastfeeding mother according to her circumstances, problems, and lifestyle. Includes numerous charts and tables throughout, with an emphasis on the scientific, chemical, and physiological underpinnings of breastfeeding. Appendices contain additional charts and tables, including the complete collection of clinical protocols on breastfeeding and human milk from the Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine. Features new chapters on breast conditions and their management in the breastfeeding mother, breastfeeding and chest-feeding for LGBTQ+ families, breastfeeding during disasters, and establishing a breastfeeding practice or academic department. Provides significant updates on physiology and biochemistry of lactation; medications and herbal preparations in breast milk; transmission of infectious disease through breast milk; allergy and its relationship with breastfeeding, exposure, and avoidance; premature infants and breastfeeding; and practical management of the mother-infant nursing couple. Offers authoritative and fresh perspectives from new associate editors: neonatologist Dr. Larry Noble, obstetrician Dr. Alison Stuebe, and pediatrician and lactation specialist Dr. Casey Rosen-Carole. Covers patient-centered counseling, the cellular composition of human breast milk, microbiota of the breast and human milk, and the multifunctional roles of human milk oligosaccharides (HMOs). Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323680134Publication Date: 2022
Cummings Pediatric Otolaryngology by
Indispensable for all otolaryngologists who see children in their practice, as well as fellows and others in training Cummings Pediatric Otolaryngology offers comprehensive, state-of-the-art coverage for evaluation and treatment of children with otolaryngologic disorders. The 2nd Edition features revised and updated content and numerous new chapters throughout, making it your #1 resource for the latest information, techniques, and treatments on improving otolaryngologic outcomes for children. Offers expanded discussion of common comorbidities occurring in children as well as challenging clinical problems in both healthy and medically complex children. Includes extensive new content on otology, as well as new chapters on pediatric speech disorders, 22q11.2 deletion syndrome, pediatric cochlear implantation, laryngotracheal clefts, pediatric tracheotomy and decannulation, and more. Covers hot topics such as evaluation and management of pediatric vestibular disorders and ankyloglossia and tight maxillary frenula. Provides detailed, authoritative coverage of every area of head and neck surgery, authored by leading experts in the field and carefully edited by a senior pediatric otolaryngologist, Dr. Marci M. Lesperance. Includes an all-new electronic appendix with supplemental pediatric content from Cummings Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery, 7th edition and additional references. Features superb, full-color illustrations throughout. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323696180Publication Date: 2022
Dulcan's Textbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry by
Already a foundational resource in the field, Dulcan's Textbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry has been updated in the third edition, including the latest research and clinical advances. An expanded chapter on telehealth acknowledges the changes and challenges posed by the COVID-19 pandemic and also discusses e-mental health options that support primary care providers, who are often the front line in mental health treatment. Two completely new chapters on pediatric consultation liaison psychiatry examine the history, clinical practice models, scope of interventions, and pharmacological considerations that are relevant to treatment of medically ill children and those seen in primary care--more important than ever, with the significant increase in the number of children with mental health care needs who are seen by pediatricians. In addition, readers will find thorough, DSM-5-aligned insight from dozens of experts on: * Neurodevelopmental and other psychiatric disorders, including disorders affecting somatic function, with clinical descriptions, epidemiology, risk factors, diagnosis, treatment options, and more* A full range of psychosocial treatments, including those focused on both individuals and families, as well as therapeutic milieus and systemic models of care* The principles and application of psychopharmacology, from antidepressants to antipsychotic medications to mood stabilizers and medications for ADHD* Specialized issues, including cultural and religious considerations, gender and sexual diversity, and legal and ethical issues Each chapter features summary points for ease of reference and extensive references for continued study. Working with young patients, who are changing and evolving with age throughout the course of treatment, and their families presents very real and distinct challenges. This latest edition of Dulcan's Textbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry provides child and adolescent psychiatrists, pediatricians, family physicians, general psychiatrists, child neurologists, psychologists, advanced practice nurses, psychiatric social workers, and other practitioners the depth and breadth of knowledge needed to treat children and adolescents effectively.
ISBN: 9781615373277Publication Date: 2022
Fanaroff and Martin's Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine by
Trusted by physicians and advanced practice providers through ten standard-setting editions, Fanaroff and Martin's Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine, 11th Edition, remains the reference of choice for expert, multidisciplinary guidance on the management and evidence-based treatment of problems in the mother, fetus, and neonate. An expanded team of international authors, led by Drs. Richard J. Martin, Avroy A. Fanaroff, and Michele C. Walsh of Rainbow Babies and Children's Hospital, brings you up to date with advances in the control of nosocomial infections in preterm infants, genetic disorders and birth defects, the fetal origins of adult disease, the late preterm infants, and much more - all designed to help you improve the quality of life and long-term outcomes of your patients. Helps you make informed clinical choices for each patient - from diagnosis and treatment selection through post-treatment strategies and management of complications - with a dual focus on neonatology and perinatology. Includes a new chapter on Social and Economic Contributors to Neonatal Outcome. Features extensive updates and reorganization throughout, with new Key Points at the end of each chapter Provides up-to-date, evidence-based content, with more information on precision medicine and genetics. Uses detailed, full-color illustrations that depict disorders in the clinical setting and explain complex information. Offers indexing in both volumes that provides quick access to specific guidance. Remains the most comprehensive, multidisciplinary text in the field - an excellent source of information for every stage of your practice. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323567114Publication Date: 2020
Goldsmith's Assisted Ventilation of the Neonate by
A must-have reference for the entire NICU,;Goldsmith's Assisted Ventilation of the Neonate, 7th Edition, is the only fully comprehensive, evidence-based guide to all aspects of this fast-changing field. Easy to use and multidisciplinary in scope, this trusted reference provides authoritative guidance on contemporary management of neonatal respiratory diseases, with an emphasis on evidence-based pharmacologic and technologic advances that improve outcomes and quality of life in newborns. It's an outstanding resource for neonatologists and NICU professionals to acquire new knowledge and techniques in this critical area of neonatal care.
ISBN: 9780323761772Publication Date: 2023
Kendig and Wilmott’s Disorders of the Respiratory Tract in Children by
Now in a fully updated 9th Edition, Kendig's Disorders of the Respiratory Tract in Children, by Drs. Robert Wilmott, Andrew Bush, Robin Deterding, and Felix Ratjen, continues to provide authoritative, evidence-based information to residents, fellows, and practitioners in this wide-ranging specialty. Bringing key knowledge from global experts together in one easy-to-understand volume, it covers everything from the latest basic science and its relevance to today's clinical issues, to improving patient outcomes for the common and rare respiratory problems found in newborns and children worldwide. Uses succinct, straightforward text, numerous tables and figures, summaries at the end of each chapter, and more than 500 full-color images to convey key information in an easy-to-digest manner. Contains new chapters reflecting expanding knowledge on the respiratory complications of Down syndrome and other genetic disorders, modern molecular therapies for cystic fibrosis and asthma, and pulmonary embolism and thromboembolic disease. Includes access to a new video library with demonstrations of key procedures. Features a new templated format with more descriptive headings and bulleted text for quick reference and navigation. Covers today's key issues, including the genetic basis of respiratory disease, new and emerging respiratory infections, interstitial lung diseases in infants and young children, technology and diagnostic techniques for pulmonary function tests, emerging lung infections, and new therapies for cystic fibrosis and asthma. Provides up-to-date instruction on important procedures, such as bronchoscopy and pulmonary function testing. Highlights the knowledge and expertise of three new editors, as well as more than 100 world authorities in the fields of pediatrics, pulmonology, neurology, microbiology, cardiology, physiology, diagnostic imaging, critical care, otolaryngology, allergy, and surgery. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323829151Publication Date: 2024
Klaus and Fanaroff's Care of the High-Risk Neonate by
Trusted by neonatologists for more than 40 years, Klaus and Fanaroff's Care of the High-Risk Neonate provides unique, authoritative coverage of technological and medical advances in this challenging field, and includes personal and practical editorial comments that are the hallmark of this renowned text. The 7th Edition helps you take advantage of recent advances in the NICU that have improved patient care, outcomes, and quality of life, with new coverage of genetics and imaging, new cases and commentary throughout, new contributors, and much more. Covers all aspects of high-risk neonatal care, including resuscitation, transport, nutrition, respiratory problems and assisted ventilation, and organ-specific care. Includes two new chapters: Genetics, Inborn Errors of Metabolism, and Newborn Screening; and Neonatal Imaging. Features new case studies, new editorial comments that provide pearls and red herrings, and question-and-answer sections at the end of each chapter. These popular features set this book apart from other NICU-related titles. Uses a new two-color format for readability and quick reference. Contains updated content throughout; easy-to-follow clinical workflow algorithms; numerous tables and illustrations; useful appendices with drug information, normal values, and conversion charts. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
ISBN: 9780323608541Publication Date: 2020
MacDonald's Atlas of Procedures in Neonatology by
Detailed, step-by-step instructions and abundant full-color illustrations make MacDonald's Atlas of Procedures in Neonatology, Sixth Edition, an indispensable resource in the neonatal intensive care nursery. This unique reference uses a practical outline format to present clear, easy-to-follow information on indications, preparation, technique, precautions, and how to avoid potential complications. New chapters, new procedural content, and new videos bring you fully up to date with current practice in the NICU. Uses a step-by-step format that presents more than 200 photographs and illustrations along with user-friendly procedural descriptions, helping you minimize errors and promote safe practice standards. Contains six new chapters: Making Low-Cost Simulation Models for Neonatal Procedures, Delayed Cord Clamping and Cord Milking, Surfactant Administration via Thin Catheter, Amplitude-integrated EEG, VP shunts and EVD Management and Wound Care. Includes a new quick-reference appendix with a convenient checklist of procedures. Provides access to updated videos that depict both common and emergency neonatal procedures. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781496394255Publication Date: 2020
Moss and Adams' Heart Disease in Infants, Children, and Adolescents, Including the Fetus and Young Adult by
The 9th edition of the gold standard in pediatric cardiology offers up-to-date, comprehensive coverage of this challenging and rapidly changing field. New chapters based on reader requests, two new associate editors, new contributing authors, and an enhanced digital version of the text make Moss and Adams,, Heart Disease in Infants, Children, and Adolescents the reference you,,ll turn to when caring for patients. From cover to cover, this award-winning two-volume resource provides the authoritative, state-of-the-art information you need when caring for young patients with heart disease. - New, reader-requested chapters cover Development of Myocardial Structure and Function, Global Challenge of Heart Disease, Impact of Congenital Heart Disease on Other Organ Systems, Non-Compaction Cardiomyopathy, Beyond the Cardiac Device, and Transition to Adult Care. - All chapters have been updated and revised, including vital new information on genetics and embryo development. - Two new associate editors, Drs. Daniel J. Penny and Frank Cetta, offer fresh perspectives in their areas of expertise. - Enhanced digital access includes the full text; bonus question and answer sections similar to those on the pediatric cardiology board examination; videos of echoes, angiograms, aortic arch anomalies, open-heart operations, and more; and phonocardiograms with accompanying audio of various heart sounds and murmurs. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: - Complete content with enhanced navigation - Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web - Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation - Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text - Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues - Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
ISBN: 9781496300249Publication Date: 2016
Paller and Mancini - Hurwitz Clinical Pediatric Dermatology by
Classic text provides both detailed content for the specialist and easily accessible information for the non-dermatologist and less experienced clinician.
This award-winning, evidence-based text has been fully revised and updated, and is an essential resource for anyone who sees children with skin disorders. Features new content outline boxes for faster navigation, hundreds more clinical images, and authors' tips for the diagnosis and treatment of pediatric skin diseases. Contains updated, evidence-based guidance and the latest drug developments and disease classifications. Provides a careful balance of narrative text, useful tables,
and 1,300 high-quality clinical photographs, helping you recognize virtually any skin condition you're likely to see. Includes a greatly expanded discussion of atopic dermatitis and psoriasis and new therapeutic approaches for treating genetic disorders and systemic diseases such as ichthyoses and rheumatologic disorders.
ISBN: 9780323549882Publication Date: 2022
Park's Pediatric Cardiology for Practitioners by
Providing authoritative, everyday guidance in the diagnosis and management of children with congenital and acquired heart disease, Park's Pediatric Cardiology for Practitioners is the go-to reference of choice for pediatricians, family practitioners, NPs, and PAs-as well as medical students, residents, and fellows. The 7th Edition of this core text comprehensively covers every aspect of pediatric cardiology in an easy-to-read, practical manner for the non-specialist, bringing you completely up to date with all that's new in this fast-changing field. Covers everything from history and physical examination through preventative treatment and the management of special problems. Incorporates all of the latest concepts and most recent developments in pediatric cardiology. Offers highly accessible content through the extensive use of numbered lists, easy-to-use tables, and explanatory graphs and diagrams. Features new chapter outlines, as well as a new larger size and two-color format for greater readability. Provides fresh perspectives and expertise from new author Dr. Mehrdad Salamat, who joins Dr. Park for this 7th Edition. Synthesizes the most important references for generalists in a Suggested Readings section, ideal for additional reading in greater depth. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323681070Publication Date: 2021
Pediatric Acute Care : A Guide to Interprofessional Practice by
Stay up-to-date on the latest evidence and clinical practice in pediatric acute care with the definitive textbook in the field. Now in its second edition, Pediatric Acute Care: A Guide for Interprofessional Practice takes an evidence-based, interprofessional approach to pediatric acute care as it exemplifies the depth and diversity that's needed for the dynamic healthcare environments in which acutely ill children receive care. Coverage includes how to work with the pediatric patient and family, major acute care disorders and their management, emergency preparedness, common acute care procedures, and much more. With contributions from more than 200 practicing clinicians and academic experts, it represents a wide variety of disciplines including medicine, nursing, pharmacy, child life, nutrition, law, integrative medicine, education, public health, and psychology, among others. The second edition also features the addition of new physician and nurse practitioner co-editors as well as extensive content updates including updated evidence-based content throughout the text, the integration of the 2016 IPEC Core Competencies for Interprofessional Collaborative Practice, a new full-color design, and new vivid illustrations throughout. UNIQUE! Interprofessional collaborative approach includes contributions from more than 200 practicing clinicians and academic experts from the U.S. and Canada, including nursing, medicine, pharmacy, child life, nutrition, law, integrative medicine, education, public health, and psychology. Consistent organization within disorder chapters begins with a section on Physiology and continues with sections on Pathophysiology, Epidemiology and Etiology, Presentation, Differential Diagnosis, Diagnostic Studies, and a Plan of Care that include Therapeutic Management, Consultation, Patient and Family Education and Disposition and Discharge Planning. Comprehensive content spanning five units divides coverage into introductory information, the approach to the pediatric patient and family, major acute care disorders and their management, emergency preparedness, and common acute care procedures. NEW! Updated evidence-based content has been added throughout to ensure that you're up-to-date on all topics needed to provide care for pediatric patients in acute, inpatient, emergency, transport, and critical care settings. NEW! Full-color design and illustrations enhance learning and make content easier to navigate and digest. NEW! Integration of the 2016 IPEC Core Competencies ensure that you're learning the professional skills and protocols required for effective, contemporary interprofessional collaborative practice. UPDATED! Streamlined procedures unit focuses more sharply on need-to-know content.
ISBN: 9780323673327Publication Date: 2021
Pediatric Headache by
Covering the topic of headache in children from the viewpoint of both primary care and neurology, Pediatric Headache provides concise, authoritative guidance on all aspects of this multifaceted subject. Each an expert in pediatric headache, contribute their considerable knowledge and expertise to assist neurologists, pediatricians, and primary care providers in providing optimal care to young patients. Offers concise guidance on diagnosis and treatment of pediatric headache from both a primary care and neurologist's point of view.
ISBN: 9780323830058Publication Date: 2022
Pediatric Liver Transplantation by
Pediatric Liver Transplantation: A Clinical Guide covers all aspects of treatment and management regarding this multifaceted procedure and unique patient population. This practical reference offers detailed, focused guidance in a highly templated, easy-to-consult format, covering everything from pre-transplantation preparation to surgical techniques to post-operative complications. Provides an in-depth understanding of all aspects of pediatric liver transplantation, ideal for pediatric hepatologists, pediatric transplant surgeons, and others on the pediatric transplant team. Covers all surgical techniques in detail, including split graft, living related, auxiliary, and domino. Discusses pediatric liver transplantation consideration for an increasing number of additional metabolic, hematologic and renal conditions; breakthroughs in grafting and stem cell therapy; and techniques and present role of hepatocyte transplantation. Uses a quick-reference templated format; each chapter includes an overview, pathophysiology, conventional management, controversies, and bulleted summary of key take-aways. Includes state-of-the-art mini-reviews based on updated references and author experience throughout the text. Features a full-color design with numerous algorithms, figures, and radiological and histopathological photos. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323636711Publication Date: 2021
Pediatric Vaccines: a Clinical Decision Support Chart by
This handy visual aid guides clinicians in discussions with patients and parents about the importance of vaccines, the diseases they help prevent and the various vaccines recommended. The chart includes infographics and clinical images to help illustrate why vaccines remain important in preventing diseases. Vaccines covered include influenza, varicella (chickenpox), human papillomavirus infection, polio, meningitis, and much more. The chart also includes information for health care professionals about the origin and nature of the diseases and current recommendations for vaccine schedules. Topics Include Consider Simultaneous Administration of Multiple Vaccines for a Happier Visit Diphtheria, Tetanus, and Acellular Pertussis (DTap, Tdap, Td) Haemophilus influenzae Type B (Hib) Hepatitis A and Hepatitis B Human Papillomavirus Infection Influenza (Flu) Measles, Mumps, and Rubella (MMR) Meningitis Community-acquired Pneumonia Polio Rotavirus Varicella (Chickenpox)
ISBN: 9781610024648Publication Date: 2020
Practice of Anesthesia for Infants and Children by
Covering everything from preoperative evaluation to neonatal emergencies to the PACU, A Practice of Anesthesia in Infants and Children, 6th Edition, features state-of-the-art advice on the safe, effective administration of general and regional anesthesia to young patients. It reviews underlying scientific information, addresses preoperative assessment and anesthesia management in detail, and provides guidelines for postoperative care, emergencies, and special procedures. Comprehensive in scope and thoroughly up to date, this 6th Edition delivers unsurpassed coverage of every key aspect of pediatric anesthesia. Includes a laminated pocket reference guide inside - also available as an expanded online version ("Pedi Anesth" from the Starship Children's Hospital in Auckland, NZ). Features key references at the end of each chapter that provide a quick summary for review. Presents must-know information on standards, techniques, and the latest advances in pediatric anesthesia from global experts. Provides access to a video library of 70 pediatric anesthesia procedures - 35 are new! Videos include demonstrations on managing the difficult pediatric airway, cardiac assist devices in action, new positioning devices, management of burn injuries, and many demonstrations of ultra-sound guided regional anesthesia blocks and techniques. Features extensive revisions of all chapters with many new contributors, and numerous new figures and tables throughout. Introduces new drugs such as those used to premedicate children and facilitate emergence from anesthesia, plus an up-to-date discussion of the drug approval process and detailed information on opioid safety for children with obstructive sleep. Includes new chapters on pharmacogenomic implications of drugs in children and the anesthetic implications when caring for children with cancer. Offers up-to-date information on the management of emergence agitation, sleep-disordered breathing, neonatal and pediatric emergencies, and the obese child and bariatric surgery. The Essentials chapters, with extensive input from pediatrician experts, provide the latest information concerning hematology, pulmonology, oncology, hepatology, nephrology, and neurology. Contains significant updates on perioperative fluid management, pharmacology, intravenous anesthesia and target controlled infusions, cystic fibrosis, new interventional devices for children with congenital heart defects, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, simulation in pediatric anesthesia, and much more. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323429740Publication Date: 2019
Principles and Practice of Pediatric Infectious Diseases by
Comprehensive in scope, yet concise and easy to manage, Principles and Practice of Pediatric Infectious Diseases, 6th Edition, by Drs. Sarah S. Long, Charles G. Prober, Marc Fischer, and new editor David Kimberlin, is your go-to resource for authoritative information on infectious diseases in children and adolescents. A veritable "who's who" of global authorities provides the practical knowledge you need to understand, diagnose, and manage almost any pediatric infectious disease you may encounter. Covers the latest aspects of the COVID-19 pandemic, including manifestations, diagnosis, management, and prevention of SARS-CoV-2 infection. Features an easy-access format with high-yield information boxes, highlighted key points, and an abundance of detailed illustrations and at-a-glance tables. Allows quick look-up by clinical presentation, pathogen, or type of host. Highlights expanding antimicrobial resistance patterns and new therapies for viral and fungal infections and resistant bacterial infections. Includes coverage of the latest vaccine products, recommendations, and effectiveness. Reviews emerging healthcare-associated infections, their management, control, and prevention. Contains a new chapter on Chorioamnionitis and Neonatal Consequences. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323756082Publication Date: 2023
Red Book 2021-2024 by
"Refer to the Red Book." That's been the watchword for generations of healthcare professionals seeking trustworthy guidance on pediatric infectious disease prevention, management, and control Now the 32nd edition continues this tradition of excellence with the latest clinical guidance on the manifestations, etiology, epidemiology, diagnosis and treatment of more than 200 childhood infectious diseases. The 32nd edition provides evidence-based guidance on pediatric infections and vaccinations based on the recommendations of the committee as well as the combined expertise of the CDC, FDA, and hundreds of physician contributors. Red Book® is an indispensable reference for pediatricians and pediatric infectious disease specialists and is useful for family medicine and emergency medicine physicians as well. Public health and school health professionals, medical residents, and students also will find it a high-yield source of pediatric infectious disease and vaccine information.
ISBN: 9781610025218Publication Date: 2021
Red Book Atlas of Pediatric Infectious Diseases by
This edition features Zika virus, chikungunya, serious bacterial infections caused by Enterobacteriaceae, Moraxella catarrhalis, human parechovirus, rhinovirus, staphylococcal food poisoning, Staphylococcus aureus, coagulase-negative staphylococcal infections, Ureaplasma urealyticum, and Ureaplasma parvum. Streamline disease recognition and clinical decision-making with hundreds of finely detailed color images, combined with updated step-by-step guidelines. Concise text descriptions walk the reader through the diagnosis, evaluation, and management essentials for each condition. Clinical manifestations Epidemiology Diagnostic tests Etiology Incubation period Treatment Contents include: Adenovirus Infections Bacteroides and Prevotella Infections Bartonella henselae (Cat-Scratch Disease) Candidiasis Cystosporiasis (formerly Isosporiasis) Diphtheria Epstein-Barr Virus Infections (Infectious Mononucleosis) Giardia intestinalis Infections (Giardiasis) Human Herpesvirus 6 (including Roseola) and 7 Lyme Disease (Lyme borreliosis, Borrelia burgdorferi Infection) Meningococcal Infections Nocardiosis Onchocerciasis (River Blindness, Filariasis) Human Papillomaviruses Pediculosis Capitis (Head Lice) Pelvic inflammatory disease Pneumococcal Infections Rabies Respiratory Syncytial Virus Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever Salmonella Infections Shigella Infections Group A Streptococcal Infections Staphylococcus aureus Syphilis Tinea Corporis (Ringworm of the Body) Trichinellosis (Trichinella spiralis) Tuberculosis Endemic Typhus (Flea-borne Typhus or Murine Typhus) West Nile Virus Zika virus Plus much more...
ISBN: 9781610023504Publication Date: 2019
Tachdjian's Pediatric Orthopaedics by
With complete coverage appropriate for residents through experienced pediatric orthopaedic surgeons, Tachdjian's Pediatric Orthopaedics continues a 50-year tradition of excellence as the most comprehensive, authoritative guide to diagnosing and treating pediatric musculoskeletal disorders. Editor John Herring, MD, and experts from the Texas Scottish Rite Hospital for Children offer step-by-step instruction and detailed visual guidance on both surgical and non-surgical approaches. It's everything the orthopaedic surgeon needs to know to accurately treat the full spectrum of pediatric orthopaedic conditions and injuries. Presents complete coverage of the latest knowledge on etiology, imaging, differential diagnosis, growth instrumentation, and non-operative and surgical techniques for a wide range of pediatric orthopaedic conditions. Provides expert guidance on difficult diagnostic and clinical management issues for your most challenging cases. Covers today's most effective approaches for management of severe spinal deformities, early onset scoliosis, hip preservation methods, long-term follow-up of trauma conditions, and much more. Offers superb visual guidance with nearly 2,500 full-color illustrations and 70 videos (many are new!) of pediatric surgical procedures, including a number that highlight clinical examination and unusual clinical findings. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323567695Publication Date: 2022- Textbook of Neonatal Resuscitation by
New 8th Edition! Innovative resource for interactive, simulation-based teaching and learning The Neonatal Resuscitation Program (NRP) is an educational program jointly sponsored by the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) and the American Heart Association (AHA). The course is designed to teach an evidence-based approach to resuscitation of the newborn to health care professionals who care for newborns at the time of delivery. NRP Essentials and NRP Advanced The NRP, 8th edition, introduces a new educational methodology to better meet the needs of health care professionals who manage the newly born baby. New in the 8th edition Key Points at the beginning of each lesson. Quick Response (QR) codes that enable the reader to view short videos about the topics on their mobile device. Lesson Review Questions grouped together at the end of each lesson. Quality Improvement Opportunities and Frequently Asked Questions in each lesson. New sections in Lesson 10 (Special Considerations) about resuscitation of the newborn with a myelomeningocele or an abdominal wall defect. Three Supplemental Lessons (Improving Resuscitation Team Performance, Resuscitation Outside the Delivery Room, and Bringing Quality Improvement to Your Resuscitation Team) that allow NRP users to enhance their resuscitation knowledge and performance.
ISBN: 9781610025249Publication Date: 2021
More E-Books
Are We Missing Something?
Request that Miner purchase a new book or journal
Pediatric Surgery NaT
APSA Pediatric Surgery NaT (Not a Textbook)
From presentation to procedures to long-term outcomes, Pediatric Surgery NaT
resource keeps the current general surgical care of children at your fingertips.
- Organized by clinical modules and learning objectives
- High-resolution images and videos
- Perform advanced searches of the medical literature
- Links to relevant PubMed articles
Questions?
 |
Robin Lacagnina, MLS
Liaison Librarian, Pediatrics UR Medicine | Golisano Children's Hospital
Family Resource Library 1st Floor, Room 1.1177 Phone: (585) 275-7710 |