Skip to Main Content
Edward G. Miner Library

Obstetrics & Gynecology: Databases & Resources

Key Databases

        

Bibliographic (Article) Databases

  • PubMed@UR Provided by the National Library of Medicine, the PubMed database searches over 21 million biomedical citations from the MEDLINE database and select life science journals.
  • Embase   Indexes more than 8,500 peer-reviewed journals for users looking for drug, medical device, and disease-related information.
  • Web of Science This database indexes over 12,000 scientific journals including meeting abstracts. 
  • APA PsycINFO Extensive coverage of literature on psychology and related fields.

Evidence-Based Practice Databases

  • Cochrane Library Access to high quality, evidence-based medical literature. The database searches Cochrane systematic reviews, clinical trials, and other resources.
  • Trip Pro Find high quality clinical research evidence

Point of Care

  • UpToDate Evidence-based summaries on a variety of clinical topics, drug information powered by Lexidrug, and a collection of medical calculators.

Search help or research assistance from a Miner librarian, please contact the library or fill out the Literature Search Request form.

Find ACOG Guidelines

ACOG Guidelines, officially called "Practice Bulletins" can be useful but hard to locate. 

The ACOG website has some bulletins avaialbe but if  buletin is labeled 'login required' please go to the journal to find the full text bulletin.

Miner Library has access to Obstetrics & Gynecology Journal through the publisher and through Ovid.

Below are some pointers that may be useful to finding bulletins AND the full text.

  • On the Obstetrics & Gynecology Journal website and choose the Collections tab, collections home, then scroll down looking for ACOG Practice Bulletins.  Alnother option is the journal website 'article search box' on the top right. Search for 'ACOG practice bulletins,'  or add the number if looking for a specific bulletin.
  • Users can also search the journal issues on the Ovid journal platform.
  • If you have the bulletin number (e.g., 148 for 148 Thyroid disease in pregnancy) you can also search PubMed@UR ti (the title tag) in square brackets e.g., "Obstet Gynecol"[Journal] AND 148[ti] Click the "FIndText@UR" button to view full text.

This can be a confusing process! I hope this is helpful. 

AccessMedicine

Books, images, multimedia, infographics, patient education, cases.

ClinicalKey

ClinicalKey

ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine providing over 500 full text journals, over 1000 reference books, Procedures Consult videos, and more.

Web Links

CDC Contraception          

CDC STI