Nursing Theory Resources: Nursing Theory Books

This text offers a number of distinct contributions to the literature on Nursing Theory. First, at the highest level of theory analysis, the authors examine the conceptual and philosophical foundational ideas that are the basis of nursing theory moving far beyond the description and analysis of given theories offered by most texts. Furthermore, they have successfully linked the views of German-speaking and English-speaking scholars from different philosophical orientations as well as differing cultural and academic backgrounds to promote rich insights into nursingOCOs theoretical heritage and exciting challenges for the future."

A concise, accessible introduction to the development, application and evaluation of nursing theories, this new edition of Fundamentals of Nursing Models, Theories & Practice provides a thorough overview of the body of knowledge on the topic, and a clear outline of their relevance to everyday nursing practice. Linking the development of theory to practice, this full-updated text features learning outcomes, key concept summaries and reflective exercises to aid the study of this key element of all modern nursing courses. Special Features Clearly examines the relationship between nursing theory, clinical practice and nursing roles Accessible and user-friendly with a range of features to help study, including key concepts, learning objectives and reflective exercises Useful for all pre-registration nursing students, as well as newly qualified nurses Accompanied by an online resource centre featuring case studies, multiple choice questions, exercises and activities

Pioneering Theories in Nursing traces the origins of nursing theories through their founders. Unlike other nursing theory texts, this book provides the personal story on some of the greatest nursing leaders, clinicians and theorists to date so th...

Completely updated in a new edition, Nursing Theories 6/e   incoporates the latest theories and research methods in nursing today. Designed as a tool to help nurses apply concepts and theories to practice, this book considers the ideas of well-known nursing theorists and relates the work of each tot he nursing process. Chapters are organized to relate the theorist's work to the nursing metaparadigm, the nursing process, characteristics of a theory, and strengths and limitations of the theory. Some key features include: Quanitiative and qualitative research methods in each chapter. An emphasis on the use of nursing theory in clinical practice. Chapters on the work of Artinian and Conger, as well as the introduction of an interdisciplinary model. For nursing professionals.

Nursing Theory: Utilization & Application, 5th Edition covers the development of nursing theory; the application of different nursing theories, models and philosophies; and the expansion of these practices with a look toward the future. This text provides the opportunity for students who have learned the background of nursing theory using the companion title, Nursing Theorists and Their Work, to apply what they have learned to actual nursing practice through various patient scenarios. Real-life case history examples included in application chapters promotes evidence-based practice and further demonstrates how a theory is used in practical situations. Consistent case history featuring the patient Debbie in every chapter and the nursing plan that follows help you apply philosophies, theories and models presented in the text. Critical thinking exercises provide a more application-based approach rather than just contemplation of theories presented. Chapters written by contributors who utilize the work offer a unique approach to using theory in practice. Nursing metaparadigm discussion illustrates the four center concepts with which the discipline is concerned to help you see the scope of concern for the profession. Logical organization presents content in three distinct parts. Glossary offers quick access to key terms throughout the text. NEW! Nursing Care sections demonstrate how theories apply to certain situations and particular types of nurses. NEW! QSEN competencies throughout the book relate nursing theories to today's important focus on patient safety and quality improvement. NEW! Nursing theory timeline helps you place different nursing theories and theorists in history, illustrating the progression of the content. NEW! Fresh design helps you visually identify the text's relationship with its Nursing Theorists companion.

The most comprehensive of its kind, Nursing Theorists and Their Work, 8th Edition provides an in-depth look at 39 theorists of historical, international, and significant importance. Each chapter features a clear, consistent presentation of a key nursing philosophy or theory. Case studies, critical thinking activities, and in-depth objective critiques of nursing theories help bridge the gap between theory and application. Critical Thinking Activities at the end of each theorist chapter help you to process the theory presented and apply it to personal and hypothetical practice situations. A case study at the end of each theorist chapter puts the theory into a larger perspective, demonstrating how it can be applied to practice. A Brief Summary in each theorist chapter helps you review for tests and confirm your comprehension. A Major Concepts & Definitions box included in each theorist chapter outlines the theory's most significant ideas and clarifies content-specific vocabulary. Each theorist chapter is written by a scholar specializing in that particular theorist's work, often having worked closely with the theorists, to provide the most accurate and complete information possible. Beginning chapters provide a strong foundation on the history and philosophy of science, logical reasoning, and the theory development process. Diagrams for theories help you visualize and better understand inherently abstract concepts. Pictures of theorists, as well as a listing of contact information for each individual, enables you to contact the source of information directly. Theorist chapters have been reviewed and edited by the theorist, validating the accounts set forth in the text for currency and accuracy. An extensive bibliography at the conclusion of each theorist chapter outlines numerous primary and secondary sources of information, ideal for both undergraduate and graduate research projects. NEW! Quotes from the theorist make each complex theory more memorable. NEW! Chapter on Afaf Meleis profiles a theorist who has shaped theoretical development in nursing and explores her "transition theory." NEW! Need to Know Information is highlighted to streamline long, complex passages and help you review key concepts. NEW! Points for Further Study at the end of each chapter direct you to assets available for additional information.

With a consistent focus on application throughout, Nursing Theory covers the development of nursing theory; the application of different nursing theories, models and philosophies; and the expansion of these practices with a look toward the future. Nursing Theory provides the opportunity for students who have learned the background of nursing theory using the companion title, Nursing Theorists and Their Work, to apply what they have learned to actual nursing practice through various patient scenarios. Real-life case history examples included in application chapters promotes evidence-based practice and further demonstrates how a theory is used in practical situations. Consistent case history featuring the patient Debbie in every chapter and the nursing plan that follows help you apply philosophies, theories and models presented in the text. Critical thinking exercises provide a more application-based approach rather than just contemplation of theories presented. Chapters written by contributors who utilize the work offer a unique approach to using theory in practice. Nursing metaparadigm discussion illustrates the four center concepts with which the discipline is concerned to help you see the scope of concern for the profession. Logical organization presents content in three distinct parts. Glossary offers quick access to key terms throughout the text. NEW! Nursing Care sections demonstrate how theories apply to certain situations and particular types of nurses. NEW! QSEN competencies throughout the book relate nursing theories to today's important focus on patient safety and quality improvement. NEW! Nursing theory timeline helps you place different nursing theories and theorists in history, illustrating the progression of the content. NEW! Fresh design helps you visually identify the text's relationship with its Nursing Theorists companion.

This text presents a look at the application of the Neuman Systems Model in nursing education and practice, with emphasis on social change, current trends and future nursing needs. It features a systems approach that provides an assessment guide for use of the model.

The second edition of this text provides an updated statement of Roy's Model, a theoretical framework used in nursing education and practice. Diagrams, case studies, and examples help students and clinicians apply concepts to actual patient care.

The latest edition of Madeleine Leininger's book, Culture Care Diversity & Universality: A Worldwide Nursing Theory, Second Edition remains the primary and most comprehensive source on the Culture Care Theory with the Sunrise Enabler and the Ethnonursing Research Method. Nurses and other health professionals will continue to find Culture Care Diversity & Universality the most reliable guide for providing culturally congruent, competent, and safe care in a growing multicultural world.

Cheryl Forchuk provides an easily understood overview of Peplau′s Interpersonal Nursing Theory which identifies the therapeutic nurse-client relationship as the crux of nursing. The author shows how this theory enables nursing to move away from a ′doing to′ to a ′doing with′ relationship with patients and develop as a profession that promotes health in the individual. The book begins with a brief biography of Peplau, and continues with a succinct discussion of the theory.

The latest edition of Madeleine Leininger's book, Culture Care Diversity & Universality: A Worldwide Nursing Theory, Second Edition remains the primary and most comprehensive source on the Culture Care Theory with the Sunrise Enabler and the Ethnonursing Research Method. Nurses and other health professionals will continue to find Culture Care Diversity & Universality the most reliable guide for providing culturally congruent, competent, and safe care in a growing multicultural world.

Now in its fifth edition, Diffusion of Innovations is a classic work on the spread of new ideas. In this renowned book, Everett M. Rogers, professor and chair of the Department of Communication & Journalism at the University of New Mexico, explains how new ideas spread via communication channels over time. Such innovations are initially perceived as uncertain and even risky. To overcome this uncertainty, most people seek out others like themselves who have already adopted the new idea. Thus the diffusion process consists of a few individuals who first adopt an innovation, then spread the word among their circle of acquaintances—a process which typically takes months or years. But there are exceptions: use of the Internet in the 1990s, for example, may have spread more rapidly than any other innovation in the history of humankind. Furthermore, the Internet is changing the very nature of diffusion by decreasing the importance of physical distance between people. The fifth edition addresses the spread of the Internet, and how it has transformed the way human beings communicate and adopt new ideas.

How do you tailor education to the learning needs of adults? Do they learn differently from children? How does their life experience inform their learning processes? These were the questions at the heart of Malcolm Knowles's pioneering theory of andragogy which transformed education theory in the 1970s. The resulting principles of a self-directed, experiential, problem-centered approach to learning have been hugely influential and are still the basis of the learning practices we use today. Understanding these principles is the cornerstone of increasing motivation and enabling adult learners to achieve. This eighth edition has been thoughtfully updated in terms of structure, content, and style. On top of this, online material and added chapter-level reflection questions make this classic text more accessible than ever. The new edition includes: Two new chapters: Neuroscience and Andragogy, and Information Technology and Learning. Updates throughout the book to reflect the very latest advancements in the field. A companion website with instructor aids for each chapter. If you are a researcher, practitioner or student in education, an adult learning practitioner, training manager, or involved in human resource development, this is the definitive book in adult learning that you should not be without.

"As expected, this book is complex but it is also engaging, thought-provoking, and exciting because it helps nurses and other readers think deeply about meeting the needs of patients at their most vulnerable moments. Score: 94, 4 Stars--Doody's Medical Reviews Callista Roy, one of nursingis leading theorists and creator of the widely used Roy Adaptation Model of Nursing, presents a unique pathway for developing knowledge for nursing practice. Her book distills the most relevant information from 200 published research studies to provide a roadmap for progressing from nursing research to middle-range theory to optimum practice regimens. It is based on tested knowledge, clear evidence, and refined caring perspectives. Step by step, the text identifies and critiques research suited for developing cumulative knowledge for practice and uses the research to develop middle-range theories that apply across all health care settings. It then presents the evidence for practice for each middle range theory, refocuses EBP within nursing knowledge and within defined levels of readiness for practice, and recommends changes for practice based on evidence. Grounded in the Roy Adaptation Model of Nursing, the book provides a single conceptual basis for synthesis of research into middle range theories for use across all patient populations. It clarifies ways to select research from one conceptual basis to build middle-range theories, how to classify evidence for practice by levels of readiness, and recommend research-based changes in practice. The text includes quantitative and qualitative research designs and offers instruments to measure major concepts for implementation. Also included are plentiful examples, tables that display values across studies, definitions of major terms and concepts, and diagrams of concepts. Supplementing the text is a faculty guide for using the text to teach critical thinking at multiple graduate levels and videos illuminating each section of the book.Key Features: Explains clearly how middle-range theories grow from researchDesigned for implementation in practiceUses Royis five core iadaptationi contexts as organizing themes: coping, changing life events, loss, chronic health condition, and traumatic eventsConstitutes a seminal work from a pre-eminent nursing theorist and educatorIncludes faculty guide and videos elucidating each section of the book

Examines the efforts of more than 100 companies to remake themselves into better competitors. This book identifies the common mistakes leaders and managers make in attempting to create change and offers a step-by-step process to overcome the obstacles and carry out the firm's agenda.