Nursing Theory Resources: Basic Books

Designated a Doody's Core Title This second edition is the perfect companion to original theoretical works in nursing for a better understanding of both the theories themselves and the essential questions about nursing theory development. Rather than being a nursing theory survey, the text provides the reader with a deeper understanding of nursing theories through examining them in their conceptual and philosophical contexts. This is a work of international collaboration, with distinguished nurse scholars from the United States, Germany, and Norway, organized around major themes in nursing and health care into which information on specific nursing theories is integrated. It is designed for advanced nursing students, educators, and others interested in nursing theory and concepts. For Further Information, Please Click Here Please note that this website is in German "

A concise, accessible introduction to the development, application and evaluation of nursing theories, this new edition of Fundamentals of Nursing Models, Theories & Practice provides a thorough overview of the body of knowledge on the topic, and a clear outline of their relevance to everyday nursing practice. Linking the development of theory to practice, this full-updated text features learning outcomes, key concept summaries and reflective exercises to aid the study of this key element of all modern nursing courses. Special Features Clearly examines the relationship between nursing theory, clinical practice and nursing roles Accessible and user-friendly with a range of features to help study, including key concepts, learning objectives and reflective exercises Useful for all pre-registration nursing students, as well as newly qualified nurses Accompanied by an online resource centre featuring case studies, multiple choice questions, exercises and activities

Pioneering Theories in Nursing traces the origins of nursing theories through their founders. Unlike other nursing theory texts, this book provides the personal story on some of the greatest nursing leaders, clinicians and theorists to date so th...

Three-time recipient of the AJN Book of the Year Award Praise for the third edition: "This is an outstanding edition of this book. It has great relevance for learning about, developing, and using middle range theories. It is very user friendly, yet scholarly." Score: 90, 4 Stars -Doody's Medical Reviews The fourth edition of this invaluable publication on middle range theory in nursing reflects the most current theoretical advances in the field. With five additional chapters, new content incorporates exemplars that bridge middle range theory to advanced nursing practice. Additional content for DNP programs includes two new theories: Bureaucratic Caring and Self-Care of Chronic Illness. This user-friendly text stresses how theory informs practice and research in the everyday world of nursing. Divided into four sections, content sets the stage for understanding middle range theory by elaborating on disciplinary perspectives, an organizing framework, and evaluation of the theory. Middle Range Theory for Nursing, Fourth Edition, presents a broad spectrum of 13 middle range theories. Each theory is broken down into its purpose, development, and conceptual underpinnings, and includes a model demonstrating the relationships among the concepts, and the use of the theory in research and practice. Including concept building for research through the lens of middle range theory, a rigorous 10-phase process that moves from a practice story to a conceptual foundation, and exemplars that clarify the concept building process, this new edition remains an essential text for advanced practice theory and research courses. New to the Fourth Edition: Reflects new theoretical advancesFive completely new chaptersNew exemplars linking middle range theory to advanced nursing practiceNew content for DNP programsTwo new theories: Bureaucratic Caring and Self-Care of Chronic IllnessTwo articles from Advances in Nursing Science documenting a meta-perspective about middle range theory development over the decades Key Features: Provides a strong contextual foundation for understanding middle range theoryIntroduces the Ladder of Abstraction to clarify the "range" of nursing's theoretical foundationPresents 13 middle range theories with philosophical, conceptual, and empirical dimensions of each theoryExamines research application through exemplars demonstrating the use of middle range theory for advanced practice nursingIncludes Appendix summarizing middle range theories from 1988 to 2017

This is the first book to clearly and fully demonstrate the process of using theory to guide nursing research and professional practice. It describes a step-by-step format for evaluating nursing theory's applicability to research, a format that links theory (both middle-range and grand theory) to research on a wide range of clinical populations and care delivery systems. The book describes how theory analysis models are used to examine various nursing phenomena as they relate to nursing research and professional practice, and provides key examples of how this is accomplished.

Completely updated in a new edition, Nursing Theories 6/e  incoporates the latest theories and research methods in nursing today. Designed as a tool to help nurses apply concepts and theories to practice, this book considers the ideas of well-known nursing theorists and relates the work of each tot he nursing process. Chapters are organized to relate the theorist's work to the nursing metaparadigm, the nursing process, characteristics of a theory, and strengths and limitations of the theory. Some key features include: Quanitiative and qualitative research methods in each chapter. An emphasis on the use of nursing theory in clinical practice. Chapters on the work of Artinian and Conger, as well as the introduction of an interdisciplinary model. MARKET: For nursing professionals.

Nursing Theory: Utilization & Application, 5th Edition covers the development of nursing theory; the application of different nursing theories, models and philosophies; and the expansion of these practices with a look toward the future. This text provides the opportunity for students who have learned the background of nursing theory using the companion title, Nursing Theorists and Their Work, to apply what they have learned to actual nursing practice through various patient scenarios. Real-life case history examples included in application chapters promotes evidence-based practice and further demonstrates how a theory is used in practical situations. Consistent case history featuring the patient Debbie in every chapter and the nursing plan that follows help you apply philosophies, theories and models presented in the text. Critical thinking exercises provide a more application-based approach rather than just contemplation of theories presented. Chapters written by contributors who utilize the work offer a unique approach to using theory in practice. Nursing metaparadigm discussion illustrates the four center concepts with which the discipline is concerned to help you see the scope of concern for the profession. Logical organization presents content in three distinct parts. Glossary offers quick access to key terms throughout the text. NEW! Nursing Care sections demonstrate how theories apply to certain situations and particular types of nurses. NEW! QSEN competencies throughout the book relate nursing theories to today's important focus on patient safety and quality improvement. NEW! Nursing theory timeline helps you place different nursing theories and theorists in history, illustrating the progression of the content. NEW! Fresh design helps you visually identify the text's relationship with its Nursing Theorists companion.

The most comprehensive of its kind, this classic resource in the field of nursing theory provides an in-depth look at 49 theorists of historical, international, and significant importance. Each chapter features a clear, consistent presentation of a key nursing philosophy or theory. Case studies and critical thinking activities help bridge the gap between theory and application. Critical Thinking Activities at the end of each theorist chapter help you to process the theory presented and apply it to personal and hypothetical practice situations. A case study at the end of each theorist chapter puts the theory into a larger perspective, demonstrating how it can be applied to practice. A Brief Summary in each theorist chapter helps you review for tests and confirm your comprehension. A Major Concepts & Definitions box included in each theorist chapter outlines the theory's most significant ideas and clarifies content-specific vocabulary. Each theorist chapter is written by a scholar specializing in that particular theorist's work, often having worked closely with the theorists, to provide the most accurate and complete information possible. Beginning chapters provide a strong foundation on the history and philosophy of science, logical reasoning, and the theory development process. Diagrams for theories help you visualize and better understand inherently abstract concepts. Pictures of theorists, as well as a listing of contact information for each individual, enables you to contact the source of information directly. Theorist chapters have been reviewed and edited by the theorist, validating the accounts set forth in the text for currency and accuracy. An extensive bibliography at the conclusion of each theorist chapter outlines numerous primary and secondary sources of information, ideal for both undergraduate and graduate research projects. NEW! Quotes from the theorist make each complex theory more memorable. NEW! Chapter on Afaf Meleis profiles a theorist who has shaped theoretical development in nursing and explores her "transition theory." NEW! Need to Know Information is highlighted to streamline long, complex passages and help you review key concepts. NEW! Points for Further Study at the end of each chapter direct you to assets available for additional information.

This valuable text offers clearly defined and practical ways to integrate nursing theory into actual nursing practice. Intended as a companion title to Nursing Theorists and Their Work, Nursing Theory goes beyond the presentation of the theories to help readers determine concrete ways to apply these often abstract concepts in everyday practice. Designed as a companion title to Nursing Theorists and Their Work, this text helps readers apply complex nursing theories to realistic nursing situations. This is the only book that explores the moral and ethical meaning of nursing practice and with specific nursing duties. Features a recurring case study character - Debbie - to apply a variety of philosophies, models, and theories to this same patient, encouraging students to compare and contrast the various nursing care approaches presented. The student-friendly approach presents the content logically in three distinct parts: Part I: Conceptualization discusses the history of nursing's search for substantive knowledge and provides necessary background information to help readers understand and apply theory. Part II: Application contains 16 chapters, each designed as a critical thinking structure outlining an overview of a nursing theoretical work and illustrating that work through case application and critical thinking exercises. Part III: Expansion contains two chapters: one highlighting nursing practice areas for expansion of theory-based practice; and another issuing a challenge based on nursing values and the essential nature of theory-based nursing. Critical Thinking Exercises at the end of each chapter present a diverse offering of patients and cases and serve as ideal weekly threads for courses that are taught through distance education. The Application section presents theory as a guide for reasoning and decision-making. This approach helps clarify the critical thinking process for the reader through case studies, critical thinking tables, and end-of-chapter exercises, helping each student learn to personally apply each philosophy, model, and theory discussed. Links among philosophies, models, and theories build a sound knowledge foundation for practice and explain the evolution of nursing theory. Chapter 1, The Nature of Knowledge Needed for Nursing Practice, introduces a new period in nursing theory -the Theory Utilization Era - that highlights today's widespread use of middle range theory. The idea of middle range theory in a generic structure of knowledge is developed throughout the book.