Skip to Main Content
Pediatrics
Avoiding Common Errors in Pediatric Emergency Medicine by Dale Woolridge; Aaron Nathaniel Liietch
Conversational and easy to read, Avoiding Common Errors in Pediatric Emergency Medicine discusses 198 errors commonly made in the practice of pediatric emergency medicine and gives practical, easy-to-remember tips for avoiding these pitfalls. This unique manual offers brief, approachable, evidence-based chapters suitable for reading immediately before the start of a rotation, for quick reference on call, or daily for personal assessment and review. Covers nuanced topics specific to the care of children in the emergency setting, including treatment strategies, procedure competencies, distinct pathophysiology, and disease processes. Discusses the crashing patient, ultrasound and imaging, community and legal issues, applied practice, behavioral health, and medication/pharmacy topics. Summarizes each chapter with handy key points that present must-know information in an easy-access, bulleted format. Helps prevent clinical practice errors in the ED due to applying an adult management approach instead of a directed pediatric approach. Ideal for emergency medicine physicians, residents, and attendings; emergency nurse practitioners, PAs who practice in the ED, and pediatricians. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781975138332
Publication Date: 2020
Fleisher and Ludwig's 5-Minute Pediatric Emergency Medicine Consult by Robert J. Hoffman (Editor-In-Chief)
The second edition of Fleisher & Ludwig's 5-Minute Pediatric Emergency Medicine Consult helps anyone working in a busy emergency or urgent care setting diagnose, treat and manage over 500 diseases and common pediatric conditions. You'll instantly find clear answers--summarized succinctly--on clinical orientation, differential diagnosis, medications, management, discharge criteria and more. Practice guidelines are evidence-based, and the book is formatted for quick reference, double-checking or a 5-minute refresher.
ISBN: 9781496394545
Publication Date: 2020
Fleisher and Ludwig's Textbook of Pediatric Emergency Medicine by Richard G. Bachur; Kathy N. Shaw (Editor)
Overcome the latest clinical challenges in the emergency care of pediatric patients! Fleisher & Ludwig's Textbook of Pediatric Emergency Medicine has long been acknowledged as the indispensible comprehensive clinical reference on diagnosing and managing emergent health issues in children. Now, a new editorial team and an all-star collection of contributing authorities have meticulously updated this essential work, bringing you all of the most recent approaches to virtually any pediatric emergency you are likely to encounter in practice. A multitude of new chapters and comprehensive updates put the latest know-how at your fingertips, helping you to optimally manage young patients. A reorganized, streamlined table of contents and refined chapter template for medical emergencies, trauma, surgical emergencies, and behavioral health emergencies approaches pediatric emergencies the way you engage with them in practice. New clinical pathways section provide key steps for managing critical patients New related chapters feature in most chapters enables you to easily cross-reference content across chapters. New colorful design Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition , which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages , references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use Online-only content includes e-figures, e-tables and additional resources See the inside front cover to find out how to access your eBook!
ISBN: 9781451193954
Publication Date: 2015
Fuhrman and Zimmerman's Pediatric Critical Care by Jerry J. Zimmerman; Alexandre T. Rotta
In the highly specialized field of caring for children in the PICU, Fuhrman and Zimmerman's Pediatric Critical Care is the definitive reference for all members of the pediatric intensive care team. Drs. Jerry J. Zimmerman and Alexandre T. Rotta, along with an expert team of editors and contributors from around the world, have carefully updated the 6th Edition of this highly regarded text to bring you the most authoritative and useful information on today's pediatric critical care-everything from basic science to clinical applications Contains highly readable, concise chapters with hundreds of useful photos, diagrams, algorithms, and clinical pearls. Uses a clear, logical, organ-system approach that allows you to focus on the development, function, and treatment of a wide range of disease entities. Features more international authors and expanded coverage of global topics including pandemics, sepsis treatment in underserved communities, specific global health concerns by region. Covers current trends in sepsis-related mortality and acute care after sepsis, as well as new device applications for pediatric patients. Provides ultrasound videos and more than 500 board-style review questions and answers on
ISBN: 9780323672696
Publication Date: 2022
Pediatric Imaging for the Emergency Provider by Robert Vezzetti (Editor)
Children and infants comprise up to 20% of emergency department visits, and emergency physicians must be knowledgeable in choosing the most appropriate imaging modality to arrive at an accurate diagnosis and provide optimal patient care. Written specifically for the non-specialist and those with limited pediatric training, Pediatric Imaging for the Emergency Provider provides expert guidance in this challenging area. Abundant high-quality imaging examples cover the full range of pediatric disorders you're likely to see, including trauma, musculoskeletal, pulmonary, ENT, cardiac, genitourinary, gastroenterology, neurological, and neonatal patients. Presents more than 80 common and important rare cases, supported with 450+ images across relevant modalities including ultrasound, radiography, CT, and MRI. Identifies key radiographic findings for various pediatric conditions including congenital heart lesions, surgical entities, infectious disease processes, and traumatic injuries. Accompanies images with clear, concise text that makes it easy to grasp the most clinically significant points of each case. Provides expert guidance on best practices in important areas of pediatric imaging such as sedation, ionizing radiation exposure reduction, and imaging modality selection. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323708494
Publication Date: 2022
Strange and Schafermeyer's Pediatric Emergency Medicine, Fifth Edition by Robert W. Schafermeyer; Milton Tenenbein; Charles G. Macias; Ghazala Sharieff; Loren Yamamoto
This clinically-focused evidence-based guide covers the entire field of pediatric emergency medicine. Featuring a strong focus on practical need-to-know information Pediatric Emergency Medicine, Fifth Edition is bolstered by many full-color images, bulleted High-Yield Facts at the beginning of each chapter, nearly 100 diagnostic and treatment algorithms, and treatment tables with drug dosages. Endorsed by the American College of Emergency Physicians, this book is perfect for use in the emergency department or the pediatric clinic. FEATURES include Chapters open with bulleted High-Yield Facts, followed by just enough pathophysiology for understanding, and continue with a focus on what needs to be done to protect and save the child. * NEW CHAPTER on Brief Resolved Unexplained Events (BRUE)
ISBN: 9781259860751
Publication Date: 2019
Harriet Lane Handbook
The Harriet Lane Handbook by Johns Hopkins Hospital
Every three years, The Harriet Lane Handbook is carefully updated by residents, edited by chief residents, and reviewed by expert faculty at The Johns Hopkins Hospital. Easy to use, concise, and complete, this essential manual keeps you current with new guidelines, practice parameters, pharmacology, and more. The 22nd Edition of this portable reference continues to be the #1 source of pediatric point-of-care clinical information for pediatric residents, students, nurses, and all healthcare professionals who treat young patients. Trusted for more than 65 years for fast, accurate information on pediatric diagnosis and treatment. Updated and expanded content includes an all-new chapter on Psychiatry, plus reorganized information on Emergency and Critical Care Management, as well as Traumatic Injuries. The popular Pediatric Drug Formulary, updated by Carlton K. K. Lee, PharmD, MPH, provides the latest in pharmacologic treatment of pediatric patients. Outline format ensures you'll find information quickly and easily, even in the most demanding circumstances. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323674072
Publication Date: 2021
Pediatric Emergency Assessment, Recognition, and Stabilization Provider Manual by ISBN: 9781616695538Publication Date: 2018
