Faculty Resources: Apps

Comprehensive Drug Information

Lexidrug is URMC's drug database. As a point-of-care resource, users can access evidence-based content quickly via desktop or mobile device.

Lexidrug is a collection of content sets and clinical tools that provides users with robust clinical drug information.

Information includes:

• INTERACTIONS Analyze a patient’s entire drug and natural product profile, identify potential interactions, and obtain patient management options.

• DRUG ID - Identify loose or unlabeled medications by searching based on imprint(s), dosage form, color(s), and/or shape. Database includes images of more than 22,000 drug products.
• CALCULATORS - Access more than 130 medical calculators designed to assist you with drug dosing, conversions, drip rate, organ function and more in both adult and pediatric patients.

• TRISSEL’S IV COMPATIBILITY -Determine the compatibility and stability of IV drugs in a wide variety of solutions and combinations with this tool that incorporates content from Trissel’s™ 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics Database by Lawrence A. Trissel.

• Complete list of content sets and databases inlcuded in Lexidrug. 

App Download Directions

 Lexidrug is a comprehensive clinical drug information provided as part of the University of Rochester's Institutional subscription. 

• Go to Lexidrug and click on the blue button labeled Mobile Access Codes.
• Select platform: iPhone/iPod Touch/iPad or Android.
• If you already have a Lexidrug personal account or app installed, choose existing customer.
  If you have not created an account, choose new customer.  
  • Create a personal Lexidrug account  You must register using your URMC e-mail address.
• Now login to your Lexidrug account with the username & password you just created.
• In the Subscriptions section, Add a Subscription by Code,  type or paste the Lexidrug authorization code.  

• On your mobile device, go to app store, download UpToDate Lexidrug and login with your Lexidrug login/password.
• License agreement pops up. Accept.
• Select Automatic Update preference: WiFi only or Wifi and Data; Tap Next.
• Select your Library content preference: I will select the content sets to install; or Download ALL content sets for me; Tap Get Started.
• Select content sets or tap Download ALL.
• After the update is complete, tap the Menu button in the top right corner and tap Home.
• Select an icon to begin accessing your Lexidrug Mobile App subscription.

Clinical Point of Care Tool

Comprehensive clinical support tool accessible through the app and web.

The first time users log in to UpToDate through SSO, a new UpToDate account will be created.  If already using an UpToDate account, merge accounts during registration process. After completing registration, your UpToDate username is your URMC Email address.

An UpToDate account allows users:

• Download Mobile App on up to two devices
• UpToDate Anywhere  / Mobile Web Access which means going directly to UpToDate to log in.
• CME/CE/CPD credits when researching a clinical question using UpToDate onsite or remotely -- including on your mobile device.

Download the free app from your usual app store and log in with the UpToDate username which is your URMC Email address then log in through SSO. Users no longer have to reaffiliate every 90 days. 

Browse the most recent issues of a wide array of journals in an electronic format. You can build your own bookshelf of journals you would like to receive updates when new issues come out. Available for iPads and Android tablets and in a browser. 

• Tablet version provides PDF's which can be saved in a variety of programs such as reference management software, Box.com or Notability.
• Web Version allows patrons to read articles online from a web browser.
• Requires an account to save favorite journals.

After downloading free app choose University of Rochester as your university affiliation and log in with your URMC email/network account or UR NetID.

Available to University of Rochester students, staff and faculty from Miner Library.

-Visual diagnostic clinical support system.
-Access VisualDx on a computer connected to the URMC network; click on Get Our Free App... and register. You'll receive an email with instructions for downloading the app.