Subject Guides: Finger Lakes Health College of Nursing & Health Sciences: Free Resources

Free Databases

About Herbs, Botanicals & Other Products
(Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center)
Evidence-based information on herbs, botanicals, vitamins, and other supplements from the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center's Integrative Medicine Service.
Agencey for Healthcare Research and Quality
(AHRQ)
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality includes research on health care quality, costs, outcomes, and patient safety. Evidence-based Practice, Preventive Services, and Practice Guidelines are all part of this site.
HIVinfo
(NIH)
Offers the latest federally approved information on HIV and AIDS research, clinical trials, and treatment for patients and health care providers. Includes the former ACTIS, AIDSTrials and AIDSDrugs databases.
InnerBody Anatomy Explorer
3D models of Skeletal, Muscular, Cardiovascular, Digestive, Endocrine, Nervous, Respiratory, Immune/Lymphatic, Urinary, Female Reproductive, Male Reproductive, Integumentary systems.
Antibiotic Guide
(Johns Hopkins University)
Produced by Johns Hopkins Division of Infectious Diseases, this database provides concise, clinically useful, and up-to-date information about the evaluation and treatment of infectious diseases in adults. It is free, but requires registration.
Buros Institute of Mental Measurements
(Buros)
The Buros Institute of Mental Measurements database provides a subject index, test locator and review locator for commercially published tests. Some content (including detailed reviews) is fee-based.
CANCERNET
(NIH)
Peer-reviewed cancer summaries (PDQ), a database of clinical trials (PDQ), cancer literature, NCI publications, links to other sites and more for patients, caregivers and researchers.
CCRIS
(NLM)
Chemical Carcinogensis Research Information Systems. Carcinogenicity, mutagenicity, tumor promotion, and tumor inhibition data provided by the National Cancer Institute.
ChemIDplus (PubChem)
PubChem will serve as NLM's single source for chemical information. NLM is retiring ChemIDplus and the Drug Information Portal, two chemical property information sites, to better focus our development efforts on a single, integrated source of chemical information. All of the data found in ChemIDplus and the Drug Information Portal is currently available and will continue to be available in PubChem.
Chemical Hazarads Emergency Medical Management - CHEMM
(DHS, HHS, NIH)
Information to enable first responders, first receivers, other healthcare providers, and planners to plan for, respond to, recover from, and mitigate the effects of mass-casualty incidents involving chemicals.
Clinical Trials
(NLM)
Current information about clinical research studies
Drug Information Portal
(NLM)
The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other key government agencies. It offers a varied selection of resources and focused topics in medicine and drug-related information, with links to individual resources with potential drug information and summaries tailored to various audiences. General drug categories from MeSH are also included in the Drug Portal records.
EPC Evidence Reports
(AHRQ)
Complete reports from the Evidence-based Practice Centers (EPC). The EPCs develop evidence reports and technology assessments on topics relevant to clinical, social science/behavioral, economic, and other health care organization and delivery issues — specifically those that are common, expensive, and/or significant for the Medicare and Medicaid populations.
ERIC
(Institute of Education Sciences)
The world’s premier database of journal and non-journal education literature. A database of more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966, including more than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents issued between 1993-2004.
Ethnomed
Harborview Medical Center's ethnic medicine website. Ethnomed contains medical and cultural information about immigrant and refugee groups, including patient education handouts in ten languages.
Genetics Home Reference
(NLM)
The National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes responsible for those conditions.
H-CUPnet
(AHRQ)
Free to all, A tool for identifying, tracking, analyzing, and comparing statistics on hospitals at the national, regional, and State level.
Haz-Map
(NLM)
Information on Hazardous Chemicals and Occupational Diseases.
Health & Enviromental Research Online
(HERO)
A free database of scientific studies and other references used to develop the EPA's risk assessments. Content is aimed at understanding the health and environmental effects of pollutants and chemicals.
Health Services Research Projects in Progress
(NLM)
Citations to research-in-progress funded by federal, state, private organization, and foundation grants and contracts. Provides information before results are available in published form.
Household Products Database
(NLM)
Information on the health effects of over 4,000 consumer brands, the ingredients in these products, and the names of the manufacturers.
HSDB
(NLM)
Hazardous Substances Data Bank includes human and animal toxicity, safety and handling, environmental fate and more.
Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS)
(EPA)
Integrated Risk Information System. Data from the EPA in support of human health risk assessment, focusing on hazard identification and dose-response assessment.
International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements
NIH)
Published, international, scientific literature on dietary supplements, including vitamins, minerals, and botanicals. IBIDS is produced by the Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) at the National Institutes of Health to assist the public, health care providers, educators, and researchers in locating credible, scientific information on dietary supplements.
LactMed
(NLM)
A database with information on drugs and lactation geared to the healthcare practitioner and nursing mother. LactMed contains over 450 drug records. It includes information such as maternal levels in breast milk, infant levels in blood, potential effects in breastfeeding infants and on lactation itself, the American Academy of Pediatrics category indicating the level of compatibility of the drug with breastfeeding, and alternate drugs to consider. It can also be accessed through TOXNET.
MedlinePlus
(NLM)
Access to extensive information about specific diseases and conditions for consumers and practitioners.
MedlinePlus Health Information in Multiple Languages
Health information on general health and special health topics in languages other than English

more... less...

Amharic, Arabic, Armenian, Bengali, Bosnian, Burmese, Cape Verdean Creole, Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), Chuukese, Dari, Dzongkha, Farsi, French, German, Gujarati, Hakha Chin, Hindi, Hmong, Ilocano, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Khmer, Kinyarwanda, Kirundi, Korean, Kurdish, Lao, Malay, Marshallese, Nepali, Oromo, Pashto, Polish, Portuguese, Punjabi, Russian, Serbo-Croatian, Somali, Spanish, Swahili, Tagalog, Thai, Tibetan, Tigrinya, Tongan, Turkish, Ukrainian, Urdu, and Vietnamese. Unknown reading level, free resource.
Multiple Congenital Anomaly/Mental Retardation (MCA/MR) Syndromes
(NIH)
A database of structured descriptions of congenital abnormalities associated with mental retardation.
ECRI Guideline Trust
Publicly available online repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guideline content. Its purpose is to provide physicians, nurses, other healthcare providers and professionals, and members of the healthcare community with current clinical practices to advance safe and effective patient care globally. This centralized repository includes evidence-based guidance developed by nationally and internationally recognized medical organizations and medical specialty societies.
OMIM
(NCBI/Johns Hopkins University)
Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man, a catalog of human genes and genetic disorders.
PAN Pesticides Database
(Pesticide Action Network North America)
The PAN Pesticides Database is resource for current toxicity and regulatory information for pesticides. Includes a chemical search which includes a link to a PubMed search, a product search, and a pesticide poisoning diagnostic tool.
PEDro
(Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy, The George Institute for Global Health)
A free database of over 17,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy, including citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are assigned independent quality ratings.
POPLINE
(K4Health Project)
Worldwide coverage of population, family planning, and related health issues. The contents of this database prior to 2001 is also available through PubMed (journal citations) and the NLM Gateway (meeting abstracts).
Science.gov
(DOE)
A gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results. Free to all.
TOXLINE via PubMed
TOXLINE has been retired. Updated TOXLINE content is available in PubMed or by searching PubMed using the search string: tox [sb] .
TOXNET
TOXNET HAS MOVED
As part of a broader NLM reorganization, most of NLM's toxicology information services have been integrated into other NLM products and services.

Finger Lakes Health College of Nursing & Health Sciences: Free Resources

Ask A Librarian

Free Databases