Clinical Resources
- EMBASEA biomedical and pharmaceutical database that contains abstracts from EMBASE and Medline.
- LexidrugLexidrug is the URMC drug database that content includes the Natural Products Database to provide clinicians valuable information on more than 460 commonly used natural products. Peer reviewed by an expert panel, professional monographs include in-line referencing and information on dosage, source, adverse reactions, uses and pharmacology, toxicology, pregnancy/lactation, and other key information.
- NatMed Pro (Fomerly Natural Medicines)Evidence-based, detailed monographs provide clinical, therapeutic information to assist pharmacists, physicians, nurse practitioners, dietitians and others in providing patient care. Searching recently enhanced to allow natural product effectiveness, natural product/drug interaction, and disease/medical conditions.
- ReprotoxContains summaries on the effects of medications, chemicals, infections, and physical agents on pregnancy, reproduction, and development.
Herbs and Natural Supplements
- ConsumerLab.comfee-based
- Dietary Supplements Labels DatabaseFree,from the National Library of Medicine and the NIH. It contains label information on more than 7000 brands of dietary supplements.
- FDA Dietary SupplementsFDA regulates dietary supplements under a different set of regulations than those covering "conventional" foods and drug products. Adverse effects are included.
- HerbMedFee-based. Only herbs listed without the asterisks are free.
- MedlinePlus, Drugs, Herbs & Supplements InformationFree. Herbs and supplements information mostly from Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database or National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine.
- Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. Information Resources: About Herbs, Botanicals & Other ProductsFree. Written by staff at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center.
- Native American EthnobotanyFree. A database of plants used as drugs, foods, dyes, fibers,etc., by native Americans.
Medication Assistance Resources
- Needy MedsRegistered nonprofit that links patients to drug information and advocates for assistance programs.
- Partnership for Prescription Assistance (PPA)PPA is an alliance of biopharmaceutical companies, doctors, patient advocate organizations and civic groups who provide information and assistance to low-income patients.
Drug Information and Overviews
- DailyMed: Current Medication InformationDailyMed provides trustworthy information about marketed drugs in the United States. DailyMed is the official provider of FDA label information (package inserts)
- FDA Orange BookApproved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations
- FDA Purple BookThe “Purple Book” lists biological products, including any biosimilar and interchangeable biological products, licensed by FDA under the Public Health Service Act (the PHS Act).
- Independent Drug Information Service: Balanced Data About MedicationsThe Alosa Foundation is a national leader in developing and implementing programs of academic detailing to improve prescribing.
- Institute for Safe Medication PracticesThe Institute for Safe Medication Practices (ISMP), based in suburban Philadelphia, is the nation’s only 501c (3) nonprofit organization devoted entirely to medication error prevention and safe medication use.
- Nature Reviews Drug DiscoveryNature Reviews Drug Discovery is a monthly journal aimed at everyone working in the drug discovery and development arena.
- NLM Drug Information Resource PortalNLM provides links to many sites with information about prescription, over the counter and herbal supplements.
Books
Helping Parents and Teachers - Understand Medications for Behavioral and Emotional Problems by ISBN: 9781585625062Publication Date: 2015
What Your Patients Need to Know about Psychiatric Medications by ISBN: 9781585625086Publication Date: 2017
