Thompson Health: Free Resources

(Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center)
Evidence-based information on herbs, botanicals, vitamins, and other supplements from the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center's Integrative Medicine Service.

(AHRQ)
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality includes research on health care quality, costs, outcomes, and patient safety. Evidence-based Practice, Preventive Services, and Practice Guidelines are all part of this site.

(NIH)
Offers the latest federally approved information on HIV and AIDS research, clinical trials, and treatment for patients and health care providers. Includes the former ACTIS, AIDSTrials and AIDSDrugs databases.

(anatomyEXPERT)
Thousands of 3D models, illustrations, and photographs of the human body. Complete description of anatomy structures and audio pronounciation tool. Simple to use, but with ability to zoom, pan, drag, and rotate viewing angle if the image is 3D.

(Johns Hopkins University)
Produced by Johns Hopkins Division of Infectious Diseases, this database provides concise, clinically useful, and up-to-date information about the evaluation and treatment of infectious diseases in adults. It is free, but requires registration.

(Buros)
The Buros Institute of Mental Measurements database provides a subject index, test locator and review locator for commercially published tests. Some content (including detailed reviews) is fee-based.

(NIH)
Peer-reviewed cancer summaries (PDQ), a database of clinical trials (PDQ), cancer literature, NCI publications, links to other sites and more for patients, caregivers and researchers.

(NLM)
Chemical Carcinogensis Research Information Systems. Carcinogenicity, mutagenicity, tumor promotion, and tumor inhibition data provided by the National Cancer Institute.

(NIH)
A database of 350,000 chemical records, including 56,000 with structures.

(DHS, HHS, NIH)
Information to enable first responders, first receivers, other healthcare providers, and planners to plan for, respond to, recover from, and mitigate the effects of mass-casualty incidents involving chemicals.

(NLM)
Current information about clinical research studies

(NLM)
The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other key government agencies. It offers a varied selection of resources and focused topics in medicine and drug-related information, with links to individual resources with potential drug information and summaries tailored to various audiences. General drug categories from MeSH are also included in the Drug Portal records.

(AHRQ)
Complete reports from the Evidence-based Practice Centers (EPC). The EPCs develop evidence reports and technology assessments on topics relevant to clinical, social science/behavioral, economic, and other health care organization and delivery issues — specifically those that are common, expensive, and/or significant for the Medicare and Medicaid populations.

(Institute of Education Sciences)
The world’s premier database of journal and non-journal education literature. A database of more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966, including more than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents issued between 1993-2004.

Harborview Medical Center's ethnic medicine website. Ethnomed contains medical and cultural information about immigrant and refugee groups, including patient education handouts in ten languages.

(NLM)
The National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes responsible for those conditions.

(AHRQ)
Free to all, A tool for identifying, tracking, analyzing, and comparing statistics on hospitals at the national, regional, and State level.

(NLM)
Information on Hazardous Chemicals and Occupational Diseases.

(HERO)
A free database of scientific studies and other references used to develop the EPA's risk assessments. Content is aimed at understanding the health and environmental effects of pollutants and chemicals.

(NLM)
Citations to research-in-progress funded by federal, state, private organization, and foundation grants and contracts. Provides information before results are available in published form.

(NLM)
Information on the health effects of over 4,000 consumer brands, the ingredients in these products, and the names of the manufacturers.

(NLM)
Hazardous Substances Data Bank includes human and animal toxicity, safety and handling, environmental fate and more.

(NLM)
Integrated Risk Information System. Data from the EPA in support of human health risk assessment, focusing on hazard identification and dose-response assessment.

NIH)
Published, international, scientific literature on dietary supplements, including vitamins, minerals, and botanicals. IBIDS is produced by the Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) at the National Institutes of Health to assist the public, health care providers, educators, and researchers in locating credible, scientific information on dietary supplements.

(NLM)
A database with information on drugs and lactation geared to the healthcare practitioner and nursing mother. LactMed contains over 450 drug records. It includes information such as maternal levels in breast milk, infant levels in blood, potential effects in breastfeeding infants and on lactation itself, the American Academy of Pediatrics category indicating the level of compatibility of the drug with breastfeeding, and alternate drugs to consider. It can also be accessed through TOXNET.

(NLM)
Access to extensive information about specific diseases and conditions for consumers and practitioners.

(NIH)
A database of structured descriptions of congenital abnormalities associated with mental retardation.

(AHRQ)
A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

(NCBI/Johns Hopkins University)
Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man, a catalog of human genes and genetic disorders.

(Pesticide Action Network North America)
The PAN Pesticides Database is resource for current toxicity and regulatory information for pesticides. Includes a chemical search which includes a link to a PubMed search, a product search, and a pesticide poisoning diagnostic tool.

(Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy, The George Institute for Global Health)
A free database of over 17,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy, including citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are assigned independent quality ratings.

(K4Health Project)
Worldwide coverage of population, family planning, and related health issues. The contents of this database prior to 2001 is also available through PubMed (journal citations) and the NLM Gateway (meeting abstracts).

(Center for Public Service Communication)
RHIN is national collaborative partnership that has created a database of quality multilingual, public health resources for those providing care to resettled refugees and asylees. Resources include: Health education materials in various languages and formats (brochures, fact sheets, videos; Provider tools (including information on refugee populations, cultures); Links to related websites.

(DOE)
A gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results. Free to all.

(NLM)
Available through TOXNET and through PubMed; in PubMed use the limit feature and select the Toxicology subset.

(NLM)
A cluster of full text databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas.

(TRIP Database, Ltd.)
The TRIP Database allows users to rapidly and easily identify high quality evidence-based medical literature from a wide range of sources.