Reference E-Books
Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research by
Designated a Doody's Core Title Praise for the previous edition: This reference is valuable to scholars at all levels of nursing and is especially useful to researchers. . . . With this volume at hand consumers of research and theory will learn more easily and quickly.Molly (Mickey) Dougherty, PhD, RN Professor of Nursing, University of North Carolina Editor, Nursing Research What distinguishes this Dictionary from others are its attention to the diversity in inquiry and distinctively nursing 'takes' on key concepts in theory and research. This Dictionary will be a welcome addition to the libraries of both new and experienced researchers." Margarete Sandelowski Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill The fourth edition of this classic dictionary for understanding traditional and new concepts in nursing theory and research encompasses the considerable changes that have occurred in the clinical health sciences since the previous edition was published. It includes updates and new references for entries from the previous edition, and information related to developing areas of research and practice. New content that reflects nursing priorities in research and theory development in the current interprofessional health care environment is featured. This book remains an invaluable reference for nursing students, researchers, theoreticians, and scholars.Key features: Includes new and updated entries on developing national and international research trends, such as translational research, implementation science, and comparative effectiveness research Contains content related to high-priority research areas, such as biological and biobehavioral research, outcomes research, health services research, and participatory models of research Presents cross-references and citations from relevant multinational nursing and interdisciplinary literature sources Incorporates information based on the scrutiny of students and faculty to ensure utmost clarity
ISBN: 9780826106650Publication Date: 2010-12-01
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses by
Perfect for this student nurse!"Seriously, I love this book. It has already helped me ace 2 assignments! Definitely a must-have for student nurses."--Amy L., Online Student Reviewer SAFETY FIRST WITH 'CURE & CARE'! Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses®, Eighteenth Edition delivers everything you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan--643 well-organized monographs encompassing hundreds of generic drugs and thousands of trade names. Its nursing-focused Cure & Care' approach explains what the drug does and describes what the nurse does and how the nursing process relates to the pharmacotherapeutics. BONUS! FREE DIGITAL ACCESS An access code inside new, printed texts unlocks your one-year, FREE 1-year subscription to DrugGuide.com, Davis's Drug Guide Online, powered by Unbound Medicine, information on more than 5,000 trade names and generic drugs, as well as audio pronunciations and color photographs, all updated regularly. LIFE-SAVING GUIDANCE AT A GLANCE In-depth coverage of patient safety, red tab for high-alert medications, red, capitalized letters for life-threatening side effects, and REMS (Risk Evaluation and Mitigation Strategies) icon Special considerations for patient populations Icon highlighting pharmacogenomic content IV administration coverage Patient and family teaching guidance Canadian-specific content identified with a maple leaf icon FREE ONLINE LEARNING, CARE PLANNING & PATIENT EDUCATION TOOLS Audio Pronunciation Library of 1,200+ drug names Tutorials with self-tests, Preventing Medication Errors and Psychotropic Drugs Calculators for body mass index (BMI), metric conversions, IV drip rates, dosage/KG and Fahrenheit/Celsius. Interactive Case Studies, each followed by a series of questions Eight audio podcasts covering must-know information, concepts, and considerations for safe drug administration Video clips illustrating the safe administration of medications
ISBN: 9781719646406Publication Date: 2023
Clinical Nurse Specialist Toolkit, Second Edition by
This is a one-of-a-kind, all-inclusive reference guide for new clinical nurse specialists (CNSs) entering the field, as well as for seasoned practitionerslooking to update their knowledge. Disseminating a wealth of current professional practice guidance and practical information on reimbursement andcertification, the second edition has been fully updated to reflect changes resulting from the Affordable Care Act and the APRN Consensus Model. Four new chapters address changes and emerging trends, expanding the focus on independent practice, increasing demands on health care due to the growingpopulation of older adults, and updated reimbursement/economic issues. This authoritative toolkit is organized in an easy-toread format and includesnumerous clinical examples, case scenarios, and personal anecdotes culled from the contributors' own professional experiences. New to the Second Edition: Fully revised and updated Addresses CNS practice within affordable care organizations Describes the CNS leadership role in system-level evidence-based practice initiatives Covers documentation and communication of CNS activities aligning with strategic initiatives and CNS practice priorities Discusses facilitating transitions of care to ensure safety and quality Addresses the CNS role in interprofessional education in clinical settings Key Features: Presents crucial information on negotiating and securing a job Provides advice on establishing credibility, prioritizing, and finding a mentor Contains guidelines on mentoring staff, leading groups, and precepting students Addresses documenting and measuring clinical outcomes Describes how to network with professional organizations and community agencies Offers practical guidance on applying for reimbursement and pursuing certification and licensure
ISBN: 9780826171917Publication Date: 2016-03-28
Print Reserve Books
Critical Care Nursing (Us Ed) Cb by Call Number: WY 154 C934 2013 Open ReserveISBN: 1609137493Publication Date: 2012-10-12
Health Promotion in Nursing Practice by Call Number: WY 100 P397h 2011 Open ReserveISBN: 9780135097212Publication Date: 2010-04-15
Cardiac Nursing by Call Number: WY 152.5 C2663 2010 Open ReserveISBN: 0781792800Publication Date: 2009-09-25
Awhonns Perinatal Nursing by
Leave the self-doubt behind -- get fully grounded in effective perinatal care, with Perinatal Nursing, 5th Edition, an official publication of the Association of Women''s Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN). This freshly updated, comprehensive resource offers expert guidelines and best practices for the full range of patient care issues, from cultural practices and pregnancy complications to newborn assessments and nutrition. Stay current with this must-have, evidence-based support for both perinatal and labor and delivery nursing. Strengthen and upgrade your perinatal nursing strengths and expertise: NEW and expanded content on pregnancy complications - Bleeding in pregnancy, preterm labor and birth, diabetes, cardiac disease, pulmonary complications, multiple gestation, obesity and more NEW content on newborn nutrition - The infant feeding decision, breastfeeding benefits, nutritional components, and preterm milk and lactation NEW and updated content on patient safety and maternal morbidity and mortality in the United States - Instructions on how to make maternity units safer based on the most current evidence, and through application of various care bundles Evidence-based information on clinical conditions - Includes chapter on obesity that covers risks to the mother and fetus, care from preconception to postpartum, and bariatric surgery Text boxes emphasize crucial care standards and guidelines Practical guidance and current best practices for areas including: Perinatal patient safety and quality care Integrating patient cultural beliefs and practices into perinatal care Physiologic changes of pregnancy Antenatal care Hypertensive disorders of pregnancy Pregnancy complications Multiple gestation Maternal-fetal transport Labor and birth Fetal assessment Managing pain during labor Postpartum care Newborn care - Adaptation to extrauterine life, physical assessment and nutrition Common neonatal complications All chapters written by expert nurse clinicians and researchers to support positive perinatal outcomes Nursing staffing standards are included as they apply to each patient population Ideal for those seeking certification in obstetrics nursing (RNC-OB) and maternal newborn nursing (RN-MNN, RNC-LRN) Perfect on-the-job resource and review text for all perinatal nurses, maternal units, and students Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS(tm), Android(tm), PC and Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource® eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity, as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click About the Clinical Editors Kathleen Rice Simpson, PhD, RNC, FAAN is Perinatal Clinical Nurse Specialist and Editor-in-Chief MCN, The American Journal of Maternal Child Nursing in Saint Louis, Missouri. Patricia A. Creehan, MSN, RNC is Manager of Clinical Operations, Labor and Delivery at Advocate Christ Medical Center in Oak Lawn, Illinois. Nancy O''Brien-Abel, MSN, RNC is Perinatal Clinical Nurse Specialist at Perinatal Consulting, LLC and Affiliate Instructor at the School of Nursing, University of Washington in Seattle, Washington. Cheryl K. Roth, PhD, WHNP-BC, RNC-OB, RNFA is a Nurse Practitioner, Labor and Delivery at HonorHealth Scottsdale Shea/Osborn Medical Centers in Scottsdale, Arizona. Annie J. Rohan, PhD, RN, NNP-BC, CPNP-PC,FAANP is Director of the Doctor of Nursing Practice Program and Director of Pediatric Research at the School of Nursing, Office of Nursing Research and Innovation at Stony Brook University (SUNY at Stony Brook) in Stony Brook, New York.
Call Number: WY 157.3. P445 2014 Open ReserveISBN: 9781496398239Publication Date: 2020-04-29
Wong's Nursing Care of Infants and Children by
Prepare to give pediatric patients the specialized care they deserve with the leading text in pediatric nursing. Written by pediatric experts, Wong''s Nursing Care of Infants and Children, 11th Edition takes a unique, easy-to-follow developmental approach to describe the care of children at each age and stage of development. This longtime bestseller provides an evidence-based, clinical perspective that shows how the quality of nursing care can impact quality patient outcomes. Childhood diseases and disorders are organized by age groups and body systems and explained through the nursing process framework. This edition features completely updated and reorganized chapters that present content in a clear, easy-to-understand way. New Quality Indicator boxes paint a bigger picture of hospitals and how they look at quality and safety. A focus on family-centered care emphasizes the role and influence of the family in health and illness with a separate chapter and Family-Centered Care boxes. Emergency Treatment boxes serve as a quick reference in critical situations. Pathophysiology Reviews explain complicated disease processes with illustrated summary boxes. Quality Patient Outcomes are discussed for major childhood diseases and disorders, showing how nursing care directly impacts patient outcomes. Nursing Tips include helpful hints and practical, clinical information. Critical Thinking Case Studies help you test and develop your own analytical skills. Cultural Considerations provide cultural tips from clinical experts. Nursing Care Plans provide models for planning patient care, with rationales explaining why specific nursing interventions have been chosen, and include nursing diagnoses, patient/family goals, nursing interventions/rationales, expected outcomes, and NIC and NOC guidelines. Nursing Care Guidelines offer clear, step-by-step, detailed instructions on performing specific skills or procedures. Translating Evidence into Practice and Applying Evidence to Practice boxes help you apply research to support, guide, and improve the outcomes of nursing care. Atraumatic Care boxes contain techniques for care that minimize pain, discomfort, or stress, and provide guidance for performing procedures in a caring manner. Community and Home Health Considerations boxes focus on wellness information and illness-related topics. Drug Alerts highlight important drug-related information for safe, appropriate care. Nursing Alerts provides critical information that must be considered in providing care. Research Focus boxes emphasize research with concise reviews of important evidence. NEW! Quality Indicator boxes present a bigger picture of hospitals and how they look at quality and safety, or Pediatric Clinical Quality Measures. EXPANDED! Added emphasis on the impact of genetics and genomics on pediatric nursing care. NEW and UPDATED! New information on Zika virus and Rotavirus keeps you in the know. NEW! New section on Chiari malformation added to neurologic dysfunction chapter. NEW! Self-harm, GLBT, and e-cigarette content added to adolescent problems chapter. UPDATED! Oxygen and carbon dioxide exchange information is now included throughout the text. EXPANDED! Updated accidental poisoning section now includes cleaning solutions and liquid from e-cigarettes. UPDATED! New Impact of Chronic Illness, Disability, or End of Life Care for the Child and Family chapter thoroughly combines two previous chapters. UPDATED! Integumentary dysfunction content now appears as chapter 32. UPDATED! Reorganized chapter on pain provides specific guidelines for pediatric pain assessment and management and focuses on common acute and chronic pain conditions and how to manage them. UPDATED! Human Papillomavirus content significantly updated. EXPANDED and UPDATED! Disorders with behavioral components section significantly expanded. UPDATED! Updated influenza, RSV, and acute lung injury section in respiratory chapter. UPDATED! Childhood cancer survivor section has significant updates.
Call Number: WY 159 W872 2011 Open ReserveISBN: 9780323549394Publication Date: 2018-10-02
Clinical Management for Positive Outcomes by Call Number: WY 161 M488 2009 Open ReserveISBN: 1416036415Publication Date: 2008-03-28
Medical-Surgical Nursing by
Using a uniquely collaborative and reader-friendly approach, expert authors Donna D. Ignatavicius and M. Linda Workman cover all the latest trends, evidence-based treatment guidelines, and additional updated information needed for safe clinical practice in medical-surgical nursing. This seventh edition features an expanded emphasis on patient safety and NCLEX® Examination preparation, new ties to the QSEN priorities for patient safety, and a greater alignment with the language and focus of clinical practice. A new chapter on evidence-based practice and a wealth of effective online learning tools help solidify your mastery of medical-surgical nursing. UNIQUE! Collaborative care approach organizes all medical, surgical, nursing, and other interventions within the framework of the nursing process, mirroring the nurse''s role in the coordination/management of care in the real world of medical-surgical nursing. UNIQUE! A focus on nursing concepts relates concepts learned in Nursing Fundamentals with the disorders you will study in Medical-Surgical Nursing. Easy to read, direct-address writing style makes this one of the most readable medical-surgical nursing textbooks available. UNIQUE! A focus on QSEN emphasizes patient safety and evidence-based practice with Nursing Safety Priority boxes including Drug Alerts, Critical Rescues, and Action Alerts. UNIQUE! Emphasis on clinical judgment teaches you to develop skills in clinical reasoning and clinical decision-making when applying concepts to clinical situations, with Clinical Judgment Challenge questions throughout the chapters. An emphasis on prioritization stresses the most important patient problems and nursing interventions, with patient problems presented in a single prioritized list of nursing diagnoses and collaborative problems. UNIQUE! NCLEX preparation tools include chapter-opening Learning Outcomes and chapter-ending Get Ready for the NCLEX Examination! sections organized by NCLEX® Client Needs Categories, plus NCLEX Examination Challenge questions, with an answer key in the back of the book and on the Evolve companion website. Practical learning aids include NCLEX Examination Challenges, Clinical Judgment Challenges, Best Practice for Patient Safety & Quality Care charts, common examples of drug therapy, concept maps, laboratory profiles, and more. A clear alignment with the language of clinical practice reflects the real world of nursing practice with NANDA diagnostic labels where they make sense, and non-NANDA diagnostic labels when these are more common descriptions of patient problems. Student Resources on an Evolve companion website help you prepare for class, clinicals, or lab with video and audio clips, animations, case studies, a concept map creator, NCLEX exam-style review questions, and more. UNIQUE! Concentration on essential knowledge for the RN level of medical-surgical nursing practice focuses your attention on need-to-know content to pass the NCLEX Examination and practice safety as a beginning nurse. NEW! Enhanced focus on QSEN (Quality and Safety Education for Nurses) competencies includes new icons identifying QSEN competency material and new Quality Improvement boxes describing projects that made a dramatic difference in patient outcomes. UPDATED learning features include an expanded emphasis on developing clinical judgment skills; on prioritization, delegation, and supervision skills; on long-term care issues; and on preparation for the NCLEX® Examination and consistency with the 2013 NCLEX-RN® Test Plan. NEW! UNIQUE! Care of Transgender Patients chapter discusses the unique health care needs and issues specific to the transgender community. Improved delineation of NANDA-I nursing diagnoses clearly differentiate NANDA diagnoses from collaborative problems. NEW photos and drawings show patient care skills as well as the latest in nursing education and practice.
Call Number: WY 161 M489 2010 Closed ReserveISBN: 9781455772551Publication Date: 2015-02-09
Nursing Research & EBP Books - Print & Electronic
Clinical Context for Evidence-Based Nursing Practice by
The Evidence-Based Nursing Series is co-published with Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI). The series focuses on implementing evidence-based practice in nursing and midwifery and mirrors the remit of Worldviews on Evidence-Based Nursing, encompassing clinical practice, administration, research and public policy. Clinical Context for Evidence-Based Practice provides insights into the key contextual issues to be considered in the implementation and assessment of evidence-based practice. Increasingly, implementation research is demonstrating that for evidence to be successfully implemented into practice, the context of practice needs to be considered. Clinical Context for Evidence-Based Practice addresses professional, educational, and organizational contextual issues that impact on the implementation of evidence into practice and the bringing about of practice change. Practical strategies that have been used effectively to overcome these contextual issues in a range of healthcare settings are identified. Specific contextual issues in different care settings are also addressed e.g. acute care, primary health care, peri-operative settings, paediatrics, aged care, mental health, midwifery. Each chapter is written by an internationally known and respected author, with experience of developing or reviewing contextual strategies that have an impact on the implementation and utilisation of research in practice. They explore how gaining a better understanding of context made a difference to the implementation process or outcome and address the potential to transfer different approaches to a range of healthcare settings. An informative, practical resource for nurses and other health care professionals Explores context-related models and approaches to implementation Informs implementation and enables effective decision making Critically appraises contextual factors across the spectrum of care Explores future directions and implications Includes case examples
ISBN: 9781118275887Publication Date: 2011-11-22
Critical Appraisal from Papers to Patient by
This book represents a brilliant primer and the tools and skills it equips the clinician with are designed to help them navigate the uncertainties of medical practice today. It is essential for those who wish to practice medicine in the best possible way for their patients.
ISBN: 9781138445758Publication Date: 2017-06-30
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research by
This award-winning nursing reference, meticulously researched by luminaries in the field, represents the state of the art in nursing science. Comprehensive and concise, entries provide the most relevant and current research perspectives and demonstrate the depth and breadth of nursing research today. This one-stop reference presents key terms and concepts and clarifies their application to practice. The fourth edition has been substantially updated to contain the latest research for nurse scientists, educators, and students in all clinical specialties. With new information from the National Institute of Nursing Research, this reference is an essential compendium of nursing research for nursing students at any level and researchers in all clinical specialities. New to the Fourth Edition: Extensively revised and updatedProvides new information emphasized by the National Institute of Nursing Research on wellness, end-of-life and palliative care, and health technologyNew entries, including Symptom Management Theory and Self-Management Key Features: Provides the most relevant and current research perspectivesWritten by over 200 experts in the fieldClarifies research applications in practice
ISBN: 0826133045Publication Date: 2017-07-01
Essentials of Nursing Research by
This eighth edition ofEssentials of Nursing Research, written by AJN award-winning authors, along with its accompanyingStudy Guide for Essentials of Nursing Research,student learning ancillaries, and instructor teaching materials present a unique learning-teaching package that is designed to teach students how to read and critique research reports, and to appreciate the application of research findings to nursing practice. New to this edition: - New text organization with separate sections on quantitative and qualitative research offer greater continuity of ideas to better meet the needs of students and faculty. - New online chapter supplements for every chapter expand student's knowledge of research topics. - New chapter on mixed methods research, which involves the blending of qualitative and quantitative data in a single inquiry, responds to the surge of interest in this type of research - Increased emphasis on evidence-based practice (EBP) especially in the areas of asking well-worded questions for EBP and searching for such evidence guides the reader from theory to application. - Enhanced assistance for instructors with numerous suggestions on how to make learning about--and teaching--research methods more rewarding. -New interactive critiquing activity, available on thePoint website, brings the Critical Thinking Exercises from the textbook to an interactive tool. The new format makes it easy for students to respond to the series of targeted questions about the Research Examples. Responses can be printed or e-mailed directly to instructors for homework or testing.
ISBN: 1451176791Publication Date: 2013-02-09
Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses by
Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a complete eBook, Study Center, homework and Assessment Center, and a dashboard that reports actionable data.Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses: Appraisal and Application of Research, Third Edition is the definitive reference for transitioning research into nursing practice. Based on the innovation-decision process (IDP), each unit is shaped according to the five steps of the IDP: knowledge, persuasion, decision, implementation, and confirmation. This unique organizational approach, combined with updated case studies and ethical principles, allows the research process to be tangible and linked with strategies that promoteadvancement.KEY FEATURES:Updated and expanded "Apply What You Have Learned" feature prompts students to find, read, and evaluate current research"Keeping it Ethical" ties relevant ethical issues in to each chapterPractice questions in every chapter help students test their knowledge as they work through the materialChapter objectives, key terms, and critical thinking exercises help guide and focus studyInstructor Resources:Instructor's ManualLecture outlines in PowerPoint format Test bank
ISBN: 9781284226386Publication Date: 2022
How to Read a Paper : The Basics of Evidence-Based Medicine and Healthcare by
Required reading in many medical and healthcare institutions, How to Read a Paper is a clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings. Author Trisha Greenhalgh guides readers through each fundamental step of inquiry, from searching the literature to assessing methodological quality and appraising statistics. How to Read a Paper addresses the common criticisms of evidence-based healthcare, dispelling many of its myths and misconceptions, while providing a pragmatic framework for testing the validity of healthcare literature. Now in its sixth edition, this informative text includes new and expanded discussions of study bias, political interference in published reports, medical statistics, big data and more. Offers user-friendly guidance on evidence-based healthcare that is applicable to both experienced and novice readers Authored by an internationally recognised practitioner and researcher in evidence-based healthcare and primary care Includes updated references, additional figures, improved checklists and more How to Read a Paper is an ideal resource for healthcare students, practitioners and anyone seeking an accessible introduction to evidence-based healthcare.
ISBN: 9781119484745Publication Date: 2019
Implementing evidence-based practice: real-life success stories by ISBN: 9781935476696Publication Date: 2011
Implementing the Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) Competencies in Healthcare by
Hospitals and healthcare systems around the world have attempted to build and sustain evidence-based practice (EBP) cultures and environments, yet they have struggled to clearly understand what EBP competency means. Implementing the Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) Competencies in Healthcare clears up that confusion and serves as a guide for clinicians, leaders, faculty, EBP mentors, and students in achieving EBP competency, facilitating evidence- based decision making in daily practice, and accelerating the speed at which research knowledge is translated into real-world settings to improve health outcomes and decrease healthcare costs. Authors Bernadette Mazurek Melnyk, Lynn Gallagher-Ford, and Ellen Fineout-Overholt provide step-by-step explanations and case scenarios that illustrate realistic advice and ready-to-use resources to help organizations integrate EBP broadly and deeply across their infrastructure to improve patient care quality and safety.
ISBN: 1940446449Publication Date: 2016-06-01
Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice by
The goal of evidence-based practice (EBP) in nursing is to promote improved interventions, care, and patient outcomes. Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice: Model and Guidelines has proven to be one of the most foundational books on EBP in nursing. This fully revised third edition builds on the strength of the first two editions with updated content based on more than a decade of the model's use and refinement in real-life settings. Authors Deborah Dang and Sandra L. Dearholt also incorporated feedback from nurses around the world. Key features of the Johns Hopkins Nursing EBP model include: NEW: Tips for using the newly updated Johns Hopkins Nursing EBP model and guidelines, NEW: Tips on seeking funding for the advancement of interprofessional collaboration and teamwork, NEW: Tools to guide the EBP process, such as Stakeholder Analysis, Action Planning, and Dissemination, Explanation of the Practice question, Evidence, and Translation (PET) approach to EBP projects, Overview of the Patient, Intervention, Comparison, and Outcome (PICO) approach to EBP question development, Creation of a supportive infrastructure for building an EBP nursing environment, Exemplars detailing real-world EBP experiences, CNOs, nurse managers, bedside nurses, and students alike have successfully transformed their practices and improved patient care using Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice: Model and Guidelines. Book jacket.
ISBN: 9781940446974Publication Date: 2018
Nursing Research by
Now in full color, this easy-to-understand textbook offers a comprehensive introduction to nursing research concepts and methods. Evidence-based practice is emphasized throughout, with clear guidelines for evaluating research and applying scientific evidence to practice. Coverage includes qualitative and quantitative research, appraising and critiquing research, critical thinking, and clinical decision-making using research information. Balanced coverage acquaints you with the processes behind research and evidence-based practice. Distinct coverage of qualitative and quantitative research approaches are presented in separate parts of the book to avoid the confusion that often results when the two are interwoven. Complete, high-quality research examples, including three sample critiques, demonstrate how to apply the principles outlined in the text to published quantitative and qualitative research studies. Research Vignettes help bridge the gaps among clinical research, academia, and clinical practice. All-star cast of contributors represents a widely respected team of experts in nursing research and evidence-based practice. Each chapter contains a variety of popular learning aids, including Key Terms, Learning Outcomes, Helpful Hints, Evidence-Based Practice Tips, Appraising the Evidence, Critiquing Criteria, Critique of a Research Study, Critical Thinking Decision Paths, Critical Thinking Challenges, and Key Points. NEW! Streamlined steps of the research process focus on how to appraise and apply research findings for evidence-based practice. NEW! Theory chapter features an up-to-date exploration of the most important theories behind nursing research. NEW! Systematic Reviews and Clinical Practice Guidelines chapter addresses this important area of nursing research. NEW! Quality Improvement chapter discusses the trending topic of quality improvement as it relates to nursing research. NEW! Updated research articles, including a Cochrane Collection study, reflect the most current, high-quality studies, particularly those that are accessible and relevant to readers with minimal clinical experience. NEW! All-new Research Vignettes illustrate the dynamic nature of nursing research.
Call Number: WY 20.5 N974 2010ISBN: 9780323100861Publication Date: 2013-09-27
Research for Evidence-Based Practice in Healthcare by ISBN: 9781118276334Publication Date: 2011-11-22
Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: a Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, 3E by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The leading guide to the principles and clinical applications of evidence-based medicine--updated with new examples and new chapters A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Revised and updated to reflect the latest in medical research and evidence-based resources Practical focus and organization to guide clinicians through the fundamentals of using the medical literature to the more advanced strategies and skills for use in patient care, using the key questions to assess any new research: What are the results? How serious is the risk of bias? How do I apply the results to patient care? Updated real-world examples drawn from the medical literature New chapters that reflect the changing complexity of medical research and literature, including genetic association studies, systematic reviews and meta-analyses, network meta-analysis, noninferiority trials, quality improvement, and evidence-based medicine and the theory of knowledge New emphasis on understanding the role of patient preferences and preappraised resources that provide updated evidence and evidence-based recommendations for practice
ISBN: 9780071790710Publication Date: 2015
