Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Freeing Your Child from Anxiety by
Childhood should be a happy, carefree time. Yet too many children are stressed-out and exhibiting symptoms of anxiety. In Freeing Your Child from Anxiety, childhood anxiety expert Dr. Tamar Chansky shares a proven approach for helping children build emotional resilience for a happier and healthier life. Parents everywhere want to know: What is normal? How can you know when stress has crossed over into a full-blown anxiety disorder? How can you prevent anxiety from taking root? And how do you help your son or daughter break free from a pattern of fear and worry and lead a happy, productive life? Fortunately, anxiety is very treatable, and parents can do a lot to help get their children's emotional well-being back on track. Freeing Your Child from Anxiety contains easy, fun, and effective tools for teaching children to outsmart their worries and take charge of their fears. This revised and updated edition also teaches how to prepare children to withstand the pressure in our competitive test-driven culture. Learn the tips, techniques, and exercises kids need to implement the book's advice right away, including "How to Talk to Your Child" sections and "Do It Today" activities at the end of each chapter. These simple solutions can help parents prevent their children from needlessly suffering today--and ensure that their children have the tools they need for a good life tomorrow.
Publication Date: 2014-07-29
Helping Your Anxious Child by
Most children are afraid of the dark. Some fear monsters under the bed. But at least ten percent of children have excessive fears and worries--phobias, separation anxiety, panic attacks, social anxiety, or obsessive-compulsive disorder--that can hold them back and keep them from fully enjoying childhood. If your child suffers from any of these forms of anxiety, the program in this book offers practical, scientifically proven tools that can help. Now in its second edition,Helping Your Anxious Childhas been expanded and updated to include the latest research and techniques for managing child anxiety. The book offers proven effective skills based in cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) to aid you in helping your child overcome intense fears and worries. You'll also find out how to relieve your child's anxious feelings while parenting with compassion. Inside, you will learn to: Help your child practice "detective thinking” to recognize irrational worries What to do when your child becomes frightened How to gently and gradually expose your child to challenging situations Help your child learn important social skills This book has been awarded The Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies Self-Help Seal of Merit--an award bestowed on outstanding self-help books that are consistent with cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) principles and that incorporate scientifically tested strategies for overcoming mental health difficulties. Used alone or in conjunction with therapy, our books offer powerful tools readers can use to jump-start changes in their lives.
Publication Date: 2008-12-03
If Your Adolescent Has an Anxiety Disorder by
SERIES COPY:The Adolescent Mental Health Initiative series addresses some of the major mental health issues facing teenagers today--eating disorders, anxiety disorders, depression, and schizophrenia. Of the books planned for the series, the first four, including the two presented here, focuson how parents and other adults, including teachers, coaches, guidance counselors, and even pediatricians, can help afflicted teens overcome the disrupting and often devastating challenges of these disorders. Each book is an authoritative guide that offers essential information such as how to goabout getting a diagnosis, what the latest treatment options and prevention strategies are, how to help teens cope with mental illness at home and at school and, perhaps most importantly, what the warning signs and red flags are that parents and other adults should look out for in teenagers who maybe at risk for these diseases. Combining the expertise of leading psychiatrists and psychologists with the experience of everyday people who have faced these disorders in their own children, the books are designed to help adults deal effectively with adolescent mental illness and to empower them toact immediately and wisely in getting teens the best available treatment possible. Growing up can be stressful for any teenager, but it is considerably harder for the many adolescents who develop an anxiety disorder. This book is an essential guide for parents, teachers, or other adults involved with teenagers who may be affected by these disorders. By bringing together twostrands of expertise-that of mental health professionals and of parents who have lived through the experience of their own teenager's mental illness--If Your Adolescent Has an Anxiety Disorder provides adult readers with the clinical information and practical advice they need to understand and helpthe teen. There are chapters detailing four of the different types of anxiety disorders, including social anxiety, generalized anxiety, obsessive-compulsive, and post-traumatic stress disorders. Each includes a clearly written definition, a discussion of factors that can contribute to developingthe disorder, treatment information, and case studies based on a real family's own experience with the disease. Tips and quotes from parents are sprinkled liberally throughout the text, and helpful sidebars provide more detailed information. The authors also provide a chapter fully dedicated todiscussing treatment options, including what role parents play in treatment, how to juggle treatment and school, and how to handle insurance and managed care issues Knowing the right information about anxiety disorders is the first step towards helping adolescents who are dealing with them grow to become healthy, happy adults
Publication Date: 2006-04-01
Worried No More by
About 13% or over 6.5 million children and adolescents in the US suffer from serious anxiety, making it the most common emotional problem in youngsters. Anxiety in youngsters is commonly misdiagnosed as attention-deficit disorder (ADD). The good news is that anxiety is the most treatable emotional problem. Success rates with early recognition and proper treatment are excellent! Countless parents, schools and healthcare professionals have come to rely on Worried No More to help youngsters with anxiety reclaim the joys of childhood. In her landmark and highly acclaimed book, Dr. Aureen Wagner brings scientifically proven and time tested cognitive-behavioral strategies into the everyday lives of children and families. Her creative, warm and user-friendly approach appeals to children and adults alike. She identifies the red flags and early warning signs of anxiety, and how to tell normal from problem anxiety. Worried No More is packed with information and valuable step-by-step guidance to help children cope with worry, school refusal, separation anxiety, excessive shyness, panic, disasters and tragedies, phobias, obsessions and compulsions.
Publication Date: 2005-10-15
Resources & Support
American Academy of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry: Anxiety Disorder Resources Center
Provides information on the different types of anxiety disorders and what child and families can do to help.
Works with experts to increase awareness, promote education and improve access to current, evidence based resources on anxiety. Provides free downloadable resources for youth and families.
Child Anxiety Netword
Provides thorough, user-friendly information about child anxiety.
A great tool for boosting youngsters' confidence in their ability to cope with stress and anxiety. Appropriate for children between the ages of approximately 5 - 14 years.
I Can Relax CD for Children
Focuses on teaching children relaxation skills while also promoting positive self-image for children.
Worry Wise Kids
An organization aiming to improve quality of life for anxious children and their families. It provides information on cognitive behavioral approaches to the treatment of anxiety.
Books for Kids
What to Do When You Worry Too Much by
An interactive self-help book designed to guide 6-12 year olds and their parents through the cognitive-behavioral techniques most often used in the treatment of generalized anxiety. This book educates and motivates children to work towards change. It includes a note to parents by psychologist and author Dawn Huebner, PhD.
Publication Date: 2005-09-15
Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day by
The perennially popular tale of Alexander’s worst day is a storybook that belongs on every child’s bookshelf. Alexander knew it was going to be a terrible day when he woke up with gum in this hair. And it got worse... His best friend deserted him. There was no dessert in his lunch bag. And, on top of all that, there were lima beans for dinner and kissing on TV! This handsome new edition of Judith Viorst's classic picture book is sure to charm readers of all ages.
Publication Date: 1987-07-15
Wemberly Worried by
Wemberly worried about everything. Big things. Little things. And things in between. Then it was time for school to start.And Wemberly worried even more. If you ever worry (or know someone who does), this is the book for you.
Publication Date: 2000-07-25
Up and down the Worry Hill by
Over one million children and adolescents in the US suffer from Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (OCD), a baffling illness that can be debilitating for the child in school, with friends and family. Help is now available! Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy (CBT) is the gold standard of treatment for OCD, and offers youngsters and their families the path to mastery over OCD. In this uniquely creative and heart-warming book, Dr. Wagner, an internationally recognized expert in the treatment of childhood OCD, uses the powerful real-life metaphor of the Worry Hill to describe OCD and its treatment clearly and simply through the eyes of a child. Children and adults will identify with Casey's struggle with OCD, his sense of hope when he learns about treatment, his relief that neither he nor his parents are to blame, and eventually, his victory over OCD.Parents and Professionals can use this book alone or together with the companion book, What to do when your Child has Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder. This is the only children's OCD book that has a companion book for parents.
Publication Date: 2013-08-21
What to Do When You're Scared and Worried by
From a dread of spiders to panic attacks, kids have worries and fears, just like adults. This is a book kids can turn to when they need advice, reassurance, and ideas. They'll find out where fears and worries come from, practice Fear Chasers and Worry Erasers, and learn to seek help for hard-to-handle fears they can't manage on their own. "An easy-to-follow and well organized self-help tool that will be invaluable for kids who struggle with fears or worries." -- School Library Journal
Publication Date: 2004-01-15
When My Worries Get Too Big! Second Edition by
Worry and anxiety are on an upswing. In fact, anxiety is the most frequent of all mental disorders in children. High levels of stress and big emotions related to social situations, sensory issues, or general frustration are common in children who live with anxiety. Such stress can lead to a loss of control, resulting in aggressive behavior, such as screaming, throwing things or even hurting someone. Prolonged anxiety can also seriously impact success in academic achievement and cause children to avoid social and extracurricular activities. Now with a special section on evidence-based teaching activities for parents and teachers alike, this bestselling children s classic just became even better and more relevant. Engaging and easy to read, this illustrated children s book is filled with opportunities for children to participate in developing their own self-calming strategies. Children who use the simple strategies in this charming book, illustrated by the author, will find themselves relaxed and ready to focus on work or play!
Publication Date: 2014-10-01
Master of Mindfulness by
Faster than a speeding spitball, more powerful than a playground bully, able to breeze through homework and finish nightly chores in a single bound, it s Master of Mindfulness here to conquer stress, worry, and any trouble that comes your way!Do you ever feel angry, disappointed, or stressed out about family problems, school, bullies, or trouble with friends? If so, mindfulness can help. Master of Mindfulness is a unique and empowering book written for kids by kids, with cool illustrations and tips that show you how to be confident, get focused, stay calm, and tap into your own inner strength so you can be your own superhero no matter what life throws your way!Childhood is supposed to be a happy, carefree time, but the truth is that all kids have stress especially when dealing with difficulties at school, at home, or with friends. Sometimes things happen in life that are hard, and you can t stop thinking about them, or you react too fast. You might be mad, sad, irritated, embarrassed, anxious, jealous, or even disappointed with yourself when things don t go the way you would ve hoped. And when you re really upset, it s hard to make good decisions you may end up doing something you later regret, or that gets you into trouble. You could probably use some help and fast! but where can you turn? This book will give you the skills you need to discover your own superpowers by showing you how mindfulness like stopping to take a few deep, mindful breaths can help you calm down and deal with things differently.Written by Laurie Grossman, cofounder of Mindful Schools, and Mr. Musumeci s fifth grade class at Reach Academy in Oakland, CA, Master of Mindfulness presents mindful activities proven to make it easier to pay attention, accept yourself and others, manage your anger, and even get to sleep at night. The book features cool, mixed media illustrations with real kids photos and stories about how mindfulness can help in different stressful situations. It even covers some of the brain science behind why mindfulness helps people to feel better, stay in the present moment, be kind, and make good decisions. The book includes easy and fun practices like mindful breathing, noticing your feelings, paying attention to your body, and mindful eating, as well as links to engaging audio recordings produced by Mr. Musumeci s students. And once you become a master of mindfulness, you can help others by sharing your superpower and teaching them how to do it, too.When things go wrong, or when you have scary thoughts or strong feelings, you may need help to sort it all out no matter how old you are. Learning and practicing mindfulness can make it easier to deal with the issues you face every day by showing you how to tap into your own inner strength in times of stress. So, why not use mindfulness and start being your own superhero today?
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
UR Medicine | Golisano Children's Hospital
Family Resource Library
1st Floor, Room 1.1177
Phone: (585) 275-7710