Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Supporting Children with Cerebral Palsy by
Completely revised and fully updated in light of the 2014 SEND Code of Practice, this edition familiarises readers with the specific learning needs of cerebral palsy. Offering practical tips and tried-and-tested strategies from professional practitioners, this accessible guide provides advice on how to meet the needs of young people with cerebral palsy. This new edition presents all of the information practitioners will need to know to deliver outstanding provision for young people with cerebral palsy and support the inclusion of children and young people with cerebral palsy into mainstream schools. The far-reaching advice found within this guide includes: Planning for a pupil with cerebral palsy Accessing the curriculum, including specific advice on each subject area How to make effective use of support staff Developing independence skills Liaising between home and school Making the transition into adulthood With accessible materials, such as checklists, templates and photocopiable resources, this up-to-date guide will enable teachers and other professionals to feel more confident and effective in the support they can provide.
Publication Date: 2016-08-12
Cerebral Palsy by
The book has been designed to provide readers with an understanding of cerebral palsy (CP) as a developmental as well as a neurological condition. It details the nature of CP, its causes and its clinical manifestations. Using clear, accessible language (supported by an extensive glossary) the authors have blended current science with metaphor both to explain the biomedical underpinnings of CP and to share their awareness that there is much that can be done to promote child and family development, enhance the capabilities of young people with CP, empower their families, and chart a course into adulthood. The authors have reviewed classification and have emphasised the wide range of functional impairments that are seen in both children and adults with cerebral palsy. In doing so they have used the ICF framework and have described the range of interventions that may be applicable to people with cerebral palsy whilst emphasising that the condition is lifelong and that promotion of adaptation is a key component to understanding its nature and effects. Essential reading for parents and carers of those with cerebral palsy, clinicians, paediatricians, neurologists, occupational therapists and physiotherapists.
Publication Date: 2012-08-06
Cerebral Palsy by
When a child has a health problem, parents want answers. But when a child has cerebral palsy, the answers don't come quickly. A diagnosis of this complex group of chronic conditions affecting movement and coordination is difficult to make and is typically delayed until the child is eighteen months old. Although the condition may be mild or severe, even general predictions about long-term prognosis seldom come before the child's second birthday. Written by a team of experts associated with the Cerebral Palsy Program at the Alfred I. duPont Hospital for Children, this authoritative resource provides parents and families with vital information that can help them cope with uncertainty. Thoroughly updated and revised to incorporate the latest medical advances, the second edition is a comprehensive guide to cerebral palsy. The book is organized into three parts. In the first, the authors describe specific patterns of involvement (hemiplegia, diplegia, quadriplegia), explain the medical and psychosocial implications of these conditions, and tell parents how to be effective advocates for their child. In the second part, the authors provide a wealth of practical advice about caregiving from nutrition to mobility. Part three features an extensive alphabetically arranged encyclopedia that defines and describes medical terms and diagnoses, medical and surgical procedures, and orthopedic and other assistive devices. Also included are lists of resources and recommended reading.
Publication Date: 2006-05-04
Teaching Motor Skills to Children with Cerebral Palsy and Similar Movement Disorders by
While most families of young children with cerebral palsy and similar conditions work in conjunction with a physical therapist a few times a week, it takes daily intervention to help a child reach his motor potential and become more independent. Teaching Motor Skills is the resource that parents, therapists, and other caregivers can consult to help children with gross motor delays learn and practice motor skills outside of therapy sessions. Written by an experienced physical therapist who is also the mother of a child with cerebral palsy, this comprehensive guide examines the physical characteristics of cerebral palsy and similar conditions, muscle tightness and weakness, increased or decreased flexibility, abnormal reflexes, imparied sensory perception, that affect a child's ability to sit, crawl, stand, and walk. Teaching Motor Skills offers dozens of easy-to-follow exercises with accompanying photos that parents may incorporate into many daily routines at home with the guidance and support of their child's physcial therapist. Exercises address: head control; protective reactions; proper positioning; independent sitting with and without arm support; transitional movements; daily stretching; improving muscle strength and coordination; balance training; gait training. Full of anecdotes and frequently-asked-questions, with a chapter on medical intereventions and bracing, and an appendix of equipment and supplies, this user-friendly guide helps parents and professionals coordinate their efforts to achieve the best possible outcome for the child.
Publication Date: 2006-06-01
Resources & Support
Aspire of Western NY
Provides services to individuals with cerebral palsy and other developmental disabilities in Western New York.
Provides supports and services to individuals with physical and developmental disabilities across the life span.
Provides services to individuals with disabilities, focusing on work, wellness, and independence.
Upstate Cerebral Palsy
Based in Utica, New York, provides individualized programs and services for individuals with disabilities in the Utica area.
Cerebral Palsy Foundation
Offers information to families with a focus on current research into such topics like hyperbaric oxygen, Adeli suits, dolphin assisted therapy and cell-based research.
Parent to Parent of New York State
Parent to Parent of NYS connects and supports the families of individuals with special needs by:
- connecting them, one-on-one, with trained Support Parents who have "been there before" as caregiver to a child with similar needs
- providing information & referrals
- providing trainings on a variety of topics in person, online, or by webinar
United Cerebral Palsy
Provides information on cerebral palsy and issues related to living with cerebral palsy, including health and wellness, education, employment, parenting, families and leisure.
A nonprofit organization that enhances the lives of people with disabilities by providing trained assistance dogs.
Cerebral Palsy Guidance
Provides answers and assistance to parents of a child with cerebral palsy (CP). Users will find condition information, articles about living with CP, information on financial assistance, and more.
CP Daily Living
Journal and resources for parents and caregivers of children with Cerebral Palsy.
Children's Hemiplegia and Stroke Association
Provides information about a wide range of topics for families from new diagnosis to teen and adult issues. They also provide suggestions about daily living skill modifications for people with hemiplegia.
Books for Kids
Taking Cerebral Palsy to School by
Even though Chad has cerebral palsy, he can still attend school and do many of the same things as his classmates. Written from Chad's perspective, this book answers many of the questions his classmates have but may be too scared or uncomfortable to ask. Children, teachers, school nurses, parents, and caregivers will learn about what cerebral palsy is, the different kinds of cerebral palsy, and special equipment that is available to help kids with cerebral palsy. This book also includes an experiment that allows children without cerebral palsy to experience what the condition may feel like.
Publication Date: 2000-09-01
Can I Tell You about Cerebral Palsy? by
Meet Sophie - a girl with cerebral palsy (CP). Sophie invites readers to learn about CP from her perspective, helping them to understand what it is like to use a wheelchair to move around and assistive technology to communicate. She also introduces readers to some of her friends who have different forms of CP and explains that living with CP can sometimes be difficult, but there are many ways she is supported so that she can lead a full and happy life. This illustrated book is ideal for young people aged 7 upwards, as well as parents, friends, teachers and professionals working with children with CP. It is also an excellent starting point for family and classroom discussions.
Publication Date: 2014-02-21
Out of My Mind by
From award-winning author Sharon Draper comes Out of My Mind, the story of a brilliant girl who cannot speak or write. “If there is one book teens and parents (and everyone else) should read this year, Out of My Mind should be it” (Denver Post). Melody is not like most people. She cannot walk or talk, but she has a photographic memory; she can remember every detail of everything she has ever experienced. She is smarter than most of the adults who try to diagnose her and smarter than her classmates in her integrated classroom—the very same classmates who dismiss her as mentally challenged, because she cannot tell them otherwise. But Melody refuses to be defined by cerebral palsy. And she’s determined to let everyone know it…somehow. In this breakthrough story—reminiscent of The Diving Bell and the Butterfly—from multiple Coretta Scott King Award-winner Sharon Draper, readers will come to know a brilliant mind and a brave spirit who will change forever how they look at anyone with a disability.
Publication Date: 2012-05-01
UR Medicine | Golisano Children's Hospital
Family Resource Library
1st Floor, Room 1.1177
Phone: (585) 275-7710