Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Edward G. Miner Library

DiscoverUR: Basic Search Functions

Information about using the new library discovery tool

Basic Search

Starting your search on the Miner Library homepage begins with DiscoverUR.  Each tab will search for something different. See below for additional information about what you can search.

 

Articles and Books

Search for books, e-books, articles, and other items available through the University of Rochester Libraries. When viewing search results, change options on the left to improve relevance or to expand your search. For the best user experience, sign into My Account on the search results page. 

Learn how to build your search using Boolean Operators, quotes, and phrases. 

Use the following options from the dropdown menu to narrow your search:

  • Keyword(s)
  • Author
  • Title
  • Subject 

Journals

The journals search tab is a way to find journals that are available electronically at the University of Rochester Libraries.

Databases

If you know a database by name, type the name into the search box:

  • PsycINFO
  • Web of Science
  • CINAHL

Also use the search box to find databases in a subject or content area by entering keywords:

  • Cardiology
  • Psychiatry
  • Systematic Reviews

You can also use the Browse All Databases option to view a list of all databases Miner Library offers. 

UR Catalog

Use the Library Catalog to find books, journals, dissertations, and more. Both traditional and electronic format materials (many in full text) are included in the Library Catalog. 

  • Use the following options from the dropdown menu to narrow your search:
    • Keywords
    • Author
    • Title
    • Subject Terms
  • Advanced Search enables you to build a more complex search including optional limits and specific fields. 

Miner Website

This tab provides quick access to the content you are looking for on the Miner Library webpage.

You can search by name of journal, article title, help topic, database, LibGuide, class offerings, etc.:

  • JAMA
  • Search Tips
  • Harrison’s
  • Hours
  • PubMed
  • Classes

 

Questions?

Stay Connected