Subject Guides: Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation: Databases & Resources

AccessMedicine

Books, images, multimedia, procedure videos, patient education, review and cases.

ClinicalKey

ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine providing over 500 full text journals, over 1000 books, procedures videos, and more.

Gudelines

AAPM&R’s Clinical Practice Guidelines and Practice Guidance

American Physical Therapy Association | Guidelines & Clinical Summaries

ECRI Guidelines | Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Guideline Central Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Guidelines for Physical Therapy Practice in New York State

Key Databases

Bibliographic (Article) Databases

PubMed@UR Provided by the National Library of Medicine, the PubMed database searches over 37 million citations from the MEDLINE database and select life science journals.

Embase Indexes more than 8,500 peer-reviewed journals for users looking for drug, medical device, and disease-related information.

Web of Science This database indexes over 12,000 scientific journals, and international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences.

Scopus. This database of peer-reviewed literature features scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.

APA PsycINFO Extensive coverage of literature on psychology and related fields.

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) This database includes over 5 million citations from 1,315 journals in nursing and allied health disciplines.

Evidence-Based Practice Databases

Cochrane Library Access to high quality, evidence-based medical literature. The database searches Cochrane systematic reviews, clinical trials, and other resources.
Trip Pro Find high quality clinical research evidence

Point of Care

Lexidrug A collection of content sets and clinical tools that provides users with robust clinical drug information. Users can access evidence-based drug information quickly via desktop or mobile device.
UpToDate Evidence-based summaries on a variety of clinical topics, drug information powered by Lexidrug, and a collection of medical calculators.

Search help or research assistance from a Miner librarian, please contact the library or fill out the Literature Search Request form.

Free Rehabiliation Databases

Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information & Exchange (CIRRIE)
Period: 11/2010-10/2015
Abstract: The Database on International Research from the Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and Exchange (CIRRIE) contains citations, abstracts, and in many cases, links to the full text of articles that report research conducted in countries other than the U.S
Please note that these links direct you to an archived site where some links may no longer be active.
Diagnostic Test Accuracy database (DiTA)
DiTA is a free database of citations and abstracts of primary studies and systematic reviews of diagnostic test accuracy related to physiotherapy. DiTA is produced by Musculoskeletal Health Sydney, School of Public Health at the University of Sydney, and is hosted by Neuroscience Research Australia (NeuRA).
Evidence-Based Review of Moderate to Severe Acquired Brain Injury
From About ERABI: "Our mission is to improve outcomes and efficiencies of the rehabilitation system through research synthesis, guideline development, knowledge translation, education, and outreach to maximize the real-world applications of rehabilitation research evidence. ERABI is used internationally to educate and inform clinicians about the latest rehabilitation research evidence. ERABI is led by an internationally recognized team of clinicians, researchers, and staff all with the goal of improving patient outcomes through research evidence."
NARIC: National Rehabilitation Information Center
The National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC) is the library of the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR.). It collects, catalogs, and disseminates the articles, reports, curricula, guides, and other publications and products of the research projects funded by NIDRR. NIDRR funds more than 250 projects each year that conduct research on a wide range of issues including technology, health and function, independent living, and capacity building.

more... less...

Excellent online (chat or email) support from librarians who specialize in the rehabilitation literature
OT Seeker
From the website: "OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. Most trials have been critically appraised for their validity and interpretability. In one database, OTseeker provides fast and easy access to information from a wide range of sources to inform occupational therapy."
PEDro
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 23,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice. PEDro is produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at The George Institute for Global Health.
PM&R Knowledge NOW
"PM&R Knowledge NOW is an evolving, dynamic online resource that highlights the breadth and depth of clinical topics in the specialty of PM&R. Currently in the process of becoming the specialty's go-to resource, PM&R Knowledge NOW offers 100+ clinical topics for you to explore." [From the website]
PTNow
For APTA members only.
PTNow provides: clinical summaries on common PT diagnoses; clinical cases; tests and measures used for functional limitation reporting; clinical practice guidelines; and an Evidence Based Practice Library.
REHABDATA
REHABDATA, produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, is the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The database describes over 80,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The collection spans 1956 to the present.
Rehabilitation Measures Database
From the Shirley Ryan Ability Lab. Containing over 500 measures for benchmarks and outcomes in physical medicine and rehabilitation.
speechBITE
speechBITE is a database of intervention studies across the scope of speech pathology practice. speechBITE was launched in 2008 by a team of speech pathologists at the University of Sydney who wanted easier access and better appraisal of research evidence in the area of communication and swallowing disorders.