Finding Legislation
- GovInfoGovInfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
- FindLawFindLaw.com contains a wealth of free, up-to-date, and easily understandable legal information and tools.
- US CongressSearchable database for US Congress
- Scope of Practice Legislation Database (NCSL)This searchable legislative database brings you up-to-date, real-time information about scope of practice legislation that has been introduced in the 50 states, territories and Washington, D.C. It includes all introduced legislation from 2015 to the present and is updated biweekly as legislation is identified by NCSL staff.
- State Public Health Legislation Database (NCSL)This database covers topics related to public health including infectious disease prevention and treatment, public health reporting and workforce and vaccines. It includes all introduced legislation from 2021 to the present and is updated at least twice per month as legislation is identified by NCSL staff.
- National Conference of State Legislators- Health (NCSL)Health costs account for about one-third of state budgets, ranging from financing Medicaid, to paying for state employees and other populations, such as prisoners. State legislatures make thousands of health policy decisions each year, including improving access to appropriate care, determining who should be immunized, licensing health professionals and facilities, and supporting or rejecting initiatives to keep people healthy. NCSL provides health reports and updates covering 40-plus topics.
- Hein Online: National Survey of State LawsNational Survey of State Laws (NSSL) is a print and online resource that provides an overall view of some of the most-asked about and controversial legal topics in the United States. This database is derived from Richard Leiter’s National Survey of State Laws print editions.
- 50 State Searchable Bill Tracking Databases (NCSL)Find the most comprehensive and complete information in NCSL's searchable legislation databases. Select a database listed below to access legislation on a particular topic identified and tracked by NCSL staff
- NY State Bills & LawsBrowse the current laws of New York organized by subject matter. You can also search for changes to the laws (known as "bills") which have been proposed by members of the Senate, members of the Assembly, and the Governor.
- NY State Municipal and County CodesThe New York Department of State maintains an electronic database of local laws and county codes (“Local Laws Database”). The database contains local laws filed with the Department of State on or after January 1, 1998. It also includes county codes filed on or after April 1, 2015. Local laws and county codes filed with the Department of State are usually included in the Local Laws Database within two business days.
- eCode 360Search for a specific municipality using the search bar or click on the map to see a listing of all municipalities by state.
Basic Search
Starting your search on the Miner Library homepage begins with DiscoverUR. Each tab will search for something different. See below for additional information about what you can search.
Search for books, e-books, articles, and other items available through the University of Rochester Libraries. When viewing search results, change options on the left to improve relevance or to expand your search. For the best user experience, sign into My Account on the search results page.
Learn how to build your search using Boolean Operators, quotes, and phrases.
Use the following options from the dropdown menu to narrow your search:
- Keyword(s)
- Author
- Title
- Subject Terms
Databases
- Healthcare AdministrationProQuest Health Management is designed to meet the needs of researchers studying the field of health administration. This high-demand healthcare management content provides the most reliable and relevant information on a wide range of topics, including:
Hospitals, Insurance, Law, Statistics, Business management, and more. - PubMedPubMed® comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- CINAHLCINAHL indexes the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association.
- Video TutorialsLearn how to search PubMed and CINAHL.