AccessAnesthesiology
Miller's Anesthesia
Miller's Anesthesia
Covering everything from historical and international perspectives to basic science and current clinical practice, Miller's Anesthesia, 9th Edition, remains the preeminent reference in the field. Dr. Michael Gropper leads a team of global experts who bring you the most up-to-date information available on the technical, scientific, and clinical issues you face each day - whether you're preparing for the boards, studying for recertification, or managing a challenging patient care situation in your practice. Contains fully revised and updated content throughout, including numerous new videos online. Includes four new chapters: Clinical Care in Extreme Environments: High Pressure, Immersion, and Hypo- and Hyperthermia; Immediate and Long-Term Complications; Clinical Research; and Interpreting the Medical Literature. Addresses timely topics such as neurotoxicity, palliation, and sleep/wake disorders. Streamlines several topics into single chapters with fresh perspectives from new authors, making the material more readable and actionable. Features the knowledge and expertise of former lead editor Dr. Ronald Miller, as well as new editor Dr. Kate Leslie of the University of Melbourne and Royal Melbourne Hospital. Provides state-of-the-art coverage of anesthetic drugs, guidelines for anesthetic practice and patient safety, new techniques, step-by-step instructions for patient management, the unique needs of pediatric patients, and much more - all highlighted by more than 1,500 full-color illustrations for enhanced visual clarity. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices, in addition to accessing regular updates, related websites, and an expanded collection of procedural videos.
ISBN: 9780323596046Publication Date: 2020
Anesthesiology Books by Topic
Airway Management
The Difficult Airway by
The Difficult Airway provides a comprehensive textual and visual coverage of how to deal with patients who have expected or unexpected difficult airways. The text begins with a description of the incidence and importance of the difficult airway and then describes the ASA Difficult Airway Algorithm created to facilitate the management of "difficult airways." The majority of the book features a comprehensive step-by-step approach to the rescue techniques listed as part of the ASA Algorithm. Noted experts in each of the techniques have been recruited by the book editors to present the information. Figures throughout the book illustrate important points and procedures. This is a wonderful resource for professionals in the health care field including anesthesiologists, intensive care physicians, emergency room physicians, nurses, and out-of-hospital first responders.
ISBN: 9780387928487Publication Date: 2012-12-05
Difficult Airway Management by
Management of a patient with a difficult airway has undergone significant changes in recent years, with the introduction of both new guidelines and equipment. Chapters cover basic topics such as recognition of a difficult airway and general principles of management and then move onto morecomplicated topics such as the 'anticipated' and 'unanticipated' difficult airway scenarios. New equipment is outlined and reviewed, and a chapter focuses on extubation and its importance. The book also includes a chapter on management in common clinical settings and a separate chapter coverspaediatric airway management. This book summarises the most up-to-date literature in a style that has direct clinical application to busy healthcare professionals. Designed to give readers a greater insight into the management of difficult airway as a clinical entity, this pocketbook is the ideal easy reference guide.
ISBN: 9780199554515Publication Date: 2009-06-15
Hagberg and Benumof's Airway Management by
Considered the go-to reference in airway management not only in anesthesia practice but also in emergency medicine and intensive care settings, Hagberg and Benumof's Airway Management ensures that practitioners worldwide are familiar and proficient with the most recent developments in equipment and scientific knowledge in this fast-changing area. Covering all aspects of this fundamental practice, the new 5th Edition facilitates the safe performance of airway management for all airway practitioners, regardless of specialty, using a concise, how-to approach, carefully chosen illustrations, and case examples and analysis throughout. The only volume of its kind completely dedicated to airway management, this edition features: Well-illustrated and tightly focused coverage, with anatomical drawings, charts, algorithms, photos, and imaging studies for quick reference-many new to this edition. Key Points in every chapter, as well as up-to-date information on the latest ASA guidelines. Two new chapters covering Combination Techniques and Human Factors in Airway Management; all other chapters have been thoroughly revised to reflect current thinking and practice. A significantly expanded video library, including intubating the COVID-19 patient and new videos on ultrasonography of the airway. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323795388Publication Date: 2023
Hung's Management of the Difficult and Failed Airway, Third Edition by
A full-color, case-based guide to effectively managing airway emergencies - updated to reflect the latest devices and techniques Written by the creators of the Difficult Airway Course: Anesthesia(tm) ,this beautifully illustrated and extensively referenced text delivers a comprehensive review of the latest options available for airway management and offers expert coverage of the full spectrum of airway management techniques. Within its pages you will find the most up-to-date review available of the many innovations that been introduced since publication of the previous edition. This is accompanied by a thorough review of the pharmacology of airway management designed to help you understand how to achieve the desired effects on ventilation and muscle strength. You will also find numerous algorithms, many of which have been revised for this edition. Presented in full color, the book is enhanced by dozens of airway management vignettes, divided into: * Pre-Hospital Airway Management * Airway Management in the Intensive Care Unit * Airway Management in the Operating Room * Airway Management in the Pediatric Population * Airway Management in Unique Environment These cases teach trainees the fundamental approaches to airway management, and include self-evaluation questions to reinforce the lesson. For experienced anesthesiologists, the cases present an opportunity to learn about recently introduced devices and techniques they may wish to incorporate into their clinical practice. If you are in need of an expertly written text that describes all of the leading-edge principles, tools, and procedures of airway assessment and management, your search ends here.
ISBN: 9781259640544Publication Date: 2024
Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Manage airway emergencies with confidence!" The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management is the world's most trusted reference on emergency airway management, and is the foundation text in the nationally recognized The Difficult Airway Course: Emergency(tm), The Difficult Airway Course: Critical Care(tm), and The Difficult Airway Course: EMS(tm). Its practical, hands-on approach provides all the concrete guidance you need to effectively respond to any airway emergency, whether in the emergency department, ICU, urgent care setting, pre-hospital environment, or anywhere else airway emergencies may occur. Apply the latest evidence-based approaches to all aspects of airway management.New chapters include Managing Retroglottic Devices, Controversies in EMS Airway Management, The Unstable Patient: Optimization for Emergency Airway Management, and Safe Extubation of the At-Risk Emergency Patient. Discover expanded coverage of preoxygenation techniques and comprehensive updates throughout. Efficiently overcome any challenge in airway management with the aid of step-by-step instructions, mnemonics, easy-to-follow algorithms, and rich illustrations. Glean expert insights from a brand-new editorial team led by Calvin Brown III, MD, who is Dr. Walls' colleague and protégé, and many of the same airway experts who teach The Difficult Airway Course(tm) - additionally, Dr. Ron Walls continues to actively author content within this edition! Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click See the inside front cover to find out how to access your eBook!
ISBN: 9781496351968Publication Date: 2017
Anesthesia Equipment
Anesthesia Equipment by
Offering highly visual, easy-to-read coverage of the full range of anesthesia equipment in use today, this authoritative reference is your go-to text for objective, informed answers to ensure optimal patient safety. Anesthesia Equipment, 3rd Edition, provides detailed information on the intricate workings of each device or workstation, keeping you fully up to date and helping you meet both equipment and patient care challenges. Remains unequalled in both depth and breadth of coverage, offering readable, concise guidance on all aspects of today's anesthesia machines and equipment. Details the latest machines, vaporizers, ventilators, breathing systems, vigilance, ergonomics, and simulation. Improves your understanding of the physical principles of equipment, the rationale for its use, delivery systems for inhalational anesthesia, systems monitoring, hazards and safety features, maintenance and quality assurance, special situations/equipment for non-routine adult anesthesia, and future directions for the field. Includes ASA Practice Parameters for care, and helps you ensure patient safety with detailed advice on risk management and medicolegal implications of equipment use. Highlights the text with hundreds of full-color line drawings and photographs, graphs, and charts. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323672795Publication Date: 2021
Essentials of Equipment in Anaesthesia, Critical Care, and Peri-Operative Medicine by
Essentials of Equipment in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Peri-Operative Medicine is a highly practical textbook for trainees in anaesthesia and an invaluable guide for all those who work with anaesthetic equipment, including anaesthetic and intensive care nurses and operating department practitioners. The superbly organized and easy-to read format of the book has been retained from previous editions. The text has been comprehensively updated and more focused on the FRCA with the addition of exam tips and new questions. A new chapter addresses the topical and ever expanding field of 'Point of Care Testing' in anaesthesia and intensive care. Clear colour photographs and illustrations as well as over 100 interactive self-assessment OSCE questions complete this concise account of anaesthetic equipment and its use in clinical settings.
ISBN: 9780323848459Publication Date: 2024
Anesthesia Equipment Simplified by
The goal of Anesthesia Equipment Simplified is to provide the technical background necessary to ensure the safe and effective use of the basic equipment used by the anesthetist. Written in an enjoyable, conversational style, this unique text makes technical details easy to understand and remember. Emphasizing clinical utility rather than academic discussion, Anesthesia Equipment Simplified clarifies every important aspect of anesthesia machines, monitoring equipment, and other key technologies in anesthesia practice and also includes detailed advice on how to troubleshoot and prevent malfunctions. You will find valuable chapters on: All components of the anesthesia machine Breathing systems Hemodynamic monitoring equipment Noncardiovascular monitoring equipment Anesthesia equipment for magnetic resonance imaging Electricity and electrical safety in the operating room New developments No other text so interestingly, clearly, and expertly demystifies the basic equipment used by the anesthesiologist like Anesthesiology Equipment Simplified. It will also serve as a valuable review for the anesthesia board and in-training examinationsas it offers comprehensive coverage of all the basic equipment topics that appear on those exams.
ISBN: 9780071805186Publication Date: 2014
Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology
Cardiac Anesthesia and Transesophageal Echocardiography by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The acclaimed "must read" for anesthesiologists new to the cardiac operating room Cardiac Anesthesia & Transesophageal Echocardiography, Second Edition is a fast, proven effective way for anesthesiology trainees to acquire the essential skills and knowledge necessary to successfully navigate the cardiac operating room. Enhanced by more than 100 photographs, nearly 200 carefully rendered line drawings, and illustrative case scenarios, this unique guide imparts the basic principles of both cardiac anesthesia and echocardiography in a way that reflects the realities of clinical anesthesia practice. Included with the book is online access to nearly 100 narrated, labeled TEE clips that introduce you to both normal and abnormal echocardiographic views. Each clip is keyed to a specific passage in the text, which provides you with a true multimedia learning experience. Whether you are looking for a concise, easy-to-read introduction to cardiac anesthesiology, or a primer on incorporating the basic principles of cardiac anesthesiology and perioperative echocardiography into real-world practice, Cardiac Anesthesia & Transesophageal Echocardiography, Second Edition should be your first place to turn.
ISBN: 9780071847339Publication Date: 2019
Cohen's Comprehensive Thoracic Anesthesia by
Ideal for clinicians at all levels of experience-from the resident to the subspecialist-Cohen's Comprehensive Thoracic Anesthesia compiles the many recent advances in thoracic anesthesiology into one convenient, easy-to-use reference. Concise, clinically focused chapters written by international authorities in the field cover all facets of anesthesia practice for thoracic procedures, logically organized by preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative considerations. Discusses new devices for lung isolation, new lung protection protocols, new information on post-operative complications, and new drugs for modulating pulmonary circulation. Covers 20 key procedures including tracheal resection, esophagectomy, mediastinoscopy, mediastinal mass, SVC syndrome, and more. Describes complex surgeries related to the lungs, pleura, diaphragm, and esophagus. Provides case studies and clinical vignettes to illustrate and support case management decisions. Offers highly practical guidance for quick reference from editor Dr. Edmond Cohen and a team of expert contributing authors from around the world. Features extensive illustrations throughout, including clinical photos and drawings, radiographic images, device images, charts, and graphs. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323713016Publication Date: 2022
Kaplan's Cardiac Anesthesia by
Now in a revised and expanded 7th Edition, Kaplan's Cardiac Anesthesia helps you optimize perioperative outcomes for patients undergoing both cardiac and noncardiac surgery. Dr. Joel L. Kaplan, along with associate editors, Drs. John G. T. Augoustides, David L. Reich, and Gerard R. Manecke, guide you through today's clinical challenges, including the newest approaches to perioperative assessment and management, state-of-the art diagnostic techniques, and cardiovascular and coronary physiology. Complete coverage of echocardiography and current monitoring techniques. Guidance from today's leaders in cardiac anesthesia, helping you avoid complications and ensure maximum patient safety. More than 800 full-color illustrations. A new section on anesthetic management of the cardiac patient undergoing noncardiac surgery. New availability as an eBook download for use the in OR. Online-only features, including quarterly updates, an ECG atlas...an increased number of videos, including 2-D and 3-D TEE techniques in real time...and an Annual Year End Highlight from the Journal of Cardiovascular Anesthesia that's posted each February. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323829243Publication Date: 2024
Kaplan's Essentials of Cardiac Anesthesia by
Kaplan's Essentials of Cardiac Anesthesia, 2nd edition focuses on the most common topics and clinically applicable information in cardiac anesthesia today. Designed for residents, nurses, and clinicians seeking quick, high-yield answers rather than the encyclopedic information commonly found in larger references-in fact, its concise format makes it easy to complete a section in a single sitting.
ISBN: 9780323497985Publication Date: 2018
Cardiopulmonary Bypass by
The third edition of Cardiopulmonary Bypass offers a comprehensive, and up-to-date reference text to extracorporeal cardiopulmonary support. This book provides a clinically-focused tutorial with chapters spanning the technical aspects, patient related considerations, and human factors essential to contemporary practice of cardiopulmonary bypass. Written concisely to allow the reader to gain and apply critical knowledge to the clinical setting and featuring artwork that has been extensively updated to include numerous figures and color plates imbedded into each chapter. A remarkable collection of international experts in the fields of perfusion, anesthesiology, and cardiac surgery were recruited to co-author chapters, providing a multidisciplinary approach to case management. This completely updated edition includes expanded content on developments in minimally invasive extracorporeal circulation, anticoagulation, organ injury, and human factors. The comprehensive coverage of perfusion practice in a concise, highly illustrated format makes it the go-to, portable reference manual for perfusionists, cardiac surgeons, and anesthesiologists.
ISBN: 9781009009621Publication Date: 2022
Critical Care
Capnography by
In recent years capnography has gained a foothold in the medical field and is fast becoming a standard of care in anaesthesiology and critical care medicine. In addition, newer applications have emerged which have expanded the utility of capnographs in a number of medical disciplines. This new edition of the definitive text on capnography reviews every aspect of this valuable diagnostic technique. An introductory section summarises the basic physiology of carbon dioxide generation and transport in the body. A technical section describes how the instruments work, and a comprehensive clinical section reviews the use of capnography to diagnose a wide range of clinical disorders. Edited by the world experts in the technique, and with over 40 specialist contributors, Capnography, second edition, is the most comprehensive review available on the application of capnography in health care.
ISBN: 9780521514781Publication Date: 2012
Critical Care Medicine by
Includes new chapters on current applications of bedside ultrasound in the ICU, both diagnostic and procedural; mechanical assist devices; and extra-corporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO). Contains new administrative chapters that provide important information on performance improvement and quality, length of stay, operations, working with the Joint Commission, and more. Features new videos and images that provide visual guidance and clarify complex topics.
ISBN: 9780323446761Publication Date: 2019
The ICU Book by
A fundamental and respected resource book in critical care, The ICU Book, Fourth Edition, continues to provide the current and practical guidance that have made it the best-selling text in critical care. The text addresses both the medical and surgical aspects of critical care, delivering the guidance needed to ensure sound, safe, and effective treatment for patients in intensive care%regardless of the specialty focus of the unit. Traditionally available as a printed textbook, the print version now comes with a completely revamped digital experience, powered by Inkling. Viewable through a browser on PC and Mac or as a download to your iOS tablet or smartphone, the digital version includes: The complete text with optimized navigation A powerful, index-based search function All referenced content is linked throughout for instant access Regular literature and commentary updates integrated into the text The ability to share notes with friends and colleagues
ISBN: 9781451121186Publication Date: 2014
Oh's Intensive Care Manual by
For nearly 40 years, Oh's Intensive Care Manual has been the quick reference of choice for ICU physicians at all levels of experience. The revised 8th edition maintains this tradition of excellence, providing fast access to practical information needed every day in today's intensive care unit. This bestselling manual covers all aspects of intensive care in sufficient detail for daily practice while keeping you up to date with the latest innovations in the field. New coverage of the latest developments in ICU imaging techniques, including ultrasound. New information on the latest advances in ECMO (Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation) for cardiac and respiratory failure, ARDS, septic shock, neurologic disorders, muscle function, and hemodynamic therapy. New co-editor Dr. Jonathan Handy shares his knowledge and expertise on acid-base disturbances during critical illness, critical care transfers, intravenous fluid therapy, cardiovascular physiology, burn management, sepsis, and the immunological impact of surgery and burn injury. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780702072215Publication Date: 2019
Hall, Schmidt, and Wood's Principles of Critical Care, Fifth Edition by
The field's definitive text―updated with the latest advances in critical care and 1,000+ color images Comprehensive and current, Hall, Schmidt, and Wood's Principles of Critical Care is the authoritative guide to diagnosing and treating the most common problems encountered in the practice of critical care. Written by expert critical care physicians who are also experienced teachers, it features an organization, thoroughness, and clarity unavailable in other critical care resources. This peerless guide provides consensus on the complex and often-conflicting data in the practice of critical care, along with copious diagnostic and treatment algorithms. The text covers every aspect of critical care medicine essential to successful clinical practice, ranging from basic principles to the latest technologies. This updated fifth edition is highlighted by: In-depth, up-to-date descriptions of the unique presentation, differential diagnosis, and management of specific critical illnesses A logical organ system approach that simplifies the search for thorough and practical information necessary to manage a patient's specific condition New chapters on Oxygen Delivery Systems; Ultrasound in Critical Care; Fungal and Viral Infections; Pulmonary Hypertension; Alcohol Withdrawal; and COVID-19 and Hemophagocytic Lymphohistiocytosis (HLH) New material regarding critical care pandemic preparedness and response Enhanced cross-disciplinary chapters addressing the structures and systems of critical care, including staffing, safety, and informatics New contributions on caregiver and family issues and the implications of disordered sleep for the critically ill A full-color presentation
ISBN: 9781264264353Publication Date: 2024
General Anesthesiology
Core Clinical Competencies in Anesthesiology by
The core clinical competencies in anesthesiology can be pretty blurry - just how do they apply to real life? This book answers this question, incorporating the core clinical competencies into an engaging format that anesthesiologists like - case studies. So, far from being a 'dry and dusty volume of forgotten lore', this book actually makes learning the competencies fun! Written in the same engaging style as a number of other anesthesia books (specifically, the Board Stiff opus) by leading anesthesiologists from leading medical centers across the United States, this book will bring the core clinical competencies to life for medical students.
ISBN: 9780521144131Publication Date: 2010-04-12
Evidence-Based Practice of Anesthesiology by
Addressing both routine and complex situations with practical decision-making tools, Evidence-Based Practice of Anesthesiology, 4th Edition, helps anesthesiologists make sound decisions in everyday practice. World-renowned authority, Dr. Lee A. Fleisher, takes an evidence-based approach to a variety of high-impact topics related to effective perioperative patient management: preoperative assessment; monitoring and administration of anesthesia during surgery; postoperative intensive care management; and postoperative pain management. The 4th Edition has been updated from cover to cover, helping you make informed clinical decisions based on reliable, up-to-date guidance in every aspect of patient care. Explores important issues in perioperative management, discussing the available options, examining the relevant research, and presenting practical recommendations. Features concise, to-the-point chapters with numerous quick-reference tables for fast and effective decision making. Includes decision trees throughout to provide visual guidance and a logical flow of key decision points. Contains nine new chapters on how to identify patients at risk for postoperative neurocognitive disorder; the best strategy for perioperative ACE and ARB agents; emergency laparotomy; optimal postoperative analgesia and the opiate naïve patient; the best method for perioperative handoffs; myocardial injury after non-cardiac surgery (MINS); and more. Helps you master the current best practices you need to know for successful day-to-day practice and oral board review. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323778466Publication Date: 2023
Handbook of Clinical Anesthesia by
The Handbook of Clinical Anesthesia, Seventh Edition, closely parallels Clinical Anesthesia, Seventh Edition, and presents the essential information found in the larger text in a concise, portable format. Extensive changes made to the parent textbook are reflected in the Handbook; chapters have been completely updated and a new chapter covering anesthesia for laparoscopic and robotic surgeries has been added. The Handbook makes liberal use of tables and graphics to enhance rapid access to information. This comprehensive, pocket-sized reference guides you through virtually every aspect of perioperative, intraoperative, and postoperative patient care.
ISBN: 9781451176155Publication Date: 2013- Miller's Anesthesia by
Covering everything from historical and international perspectives to basic science and current clinical practice, Miller's Anesthesia, 9th Edition, remains the preeminent reference in the field. Dr. Michael Gropper leads a team of global experts who bring you the most up-to-date information available on the technical, scientific, and clinical issues you face each day - whether you're preparing for the boards, studying for recertification, or managing a challenging patient care situation in your practice. Contains fully revised and updated content throughout, including numerous new videos online. Includes four new chapters: Clinical Care in Extreme Environments: High Pressure, Immersion, and Hypo- and Hyperthermia; Immediate and Long-Term Complications; Clinical Research; and Interpreting the Medical Literature. Addresses timely topics such as neurotoxicity, palliation, and sleep/wake disorders. Streamlines several topics into single chapters with fresh perspectives from new authors, making the material more readable and actionable. Features the knowledge and expertise of former lead editor Dr. Ronald Miller, as well as new editor Dr. Kate Leslie of the University of Melbourne and Royal Melbourne Hospital. Provides state-of-the-art coverage of anesthetic drugs, guidelines for anesthetic practice and patient safety, new techniques, step-by-step instructions for patient management, the unique needs of pediatric patients, and much more - all highlighted by more than 1,500 full-color illustrations for enhanced visual clarity. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices, in addition to accessing regular updates, related websites, and an expanded collection of procedural videos.
ISBN: 9780323596046Publication Date: 2020
Miller's Basics of Anesthesia (Baby Miller) by
Long regarded as the undisputed leading text of its kind, Miller's Basics of Anesthesia provides comprehensive yet concise coverage of both basic science and clinical topics in anesthesiology. Under the experienced editorial leadership of Dr. Manuel C. Pardo, Jr., the 8th Edition has been meticulously updated to reflect & the latest advances in practice & and important aspects of contemporary anesthesia care, including pathophysiology, pharmacology, regional anesthesia, anesthetic management, and special problems and patient groups. It remains the first learning resource of choice for anesthesia providers, including anesthesia residents and fellows, medical students, and student registered nurse anesthetists, and is also a valuable review tool for practitioners undergoing maintenance of certification or recertification
ISBN: 9780323796774Publication Date: 2023
Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology, 7th Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The most engagingly written, clinically relevant overview of the practice of anesthesiology IN FULL COLOR! A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Hailed as the best primer on the topic, Morgan & Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology has remained true to its stated goal: "to provide a concise, consistent presentation of the basic principles essential to the modern practice of anesthesia." This trusted classic delivers comprehensive coverage of the field's must-know basic science and clinical topics in a clear, easy-to-understand presentation. At the same time it has retained its value for coursework, review, or as a clinical refresher. This Sixth Edition has been extensively revised to reflect a greater emphasis on critical care medicine, enhanced recovery, and ultrasound in anesthesia practice. Key features that make it easier to understand complex topics: * Rich full-color art work combined with a modern, user-friendly design make information easy to find and remember * Case discussions promote application of concepts in real-world clinical practice * Boxed Key Concepts at the beginning of each chapter identify important issues and facts that underlie the specialty * Numerous tables and figures encapsulate important information and facilitate recall * Up-to-date discussion of all relevant areas of anesthesiology, including equipment and monitors, pharmacology, pathophysiology, regional anesthesia, pain management, and critical care * URLs for societies, guidelines, and practice advisories
ISBN: 9781259834424Publication Date: 2022
Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology Handbook by
A high-yield, abridged version of the bestselling guide to general anesthesia and perioperative medicine. Drawing from the trusted classic, Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology Handbook has been pared down to the most essential information needed by anesthesia practitioners. The Handbook provides condensed, practical content relevant to clinical anesthesiology practice, covering topics within preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative care. Many tables and figures have been retained from the larger textbook. Ideal resource for residents and trainees preparing for daily activity * High-yield review with variety of review techniques, including Q&A
ISBN: 9781264551545Publication Date: 2024
Physical Examination of the Spine by
Thieme congratulates Todd Albert on being chosen by New York magazine for its prestigious 'Best Doctors 2017' list. Master spine surgeons Todd Albert and Alexander Vaccaro update essential spine textbook with expanded sections and full-color illustrations Written by world-renowned spine surgery experts, this definitive text elucidates the importance of obtaining a thorough medical history and performing a physical exam for a full spectrum of spine conditions. There have been significant advancements in minimally invasive spinal surgery techniques since publication of the last edition. However, spine evaluations will always be imperative to clinical practice. These exams reveal a myriad of clues that help spine specialists make a differential diagnosis for a wide array of pathologies. This book is a clear, concise "how to" guide on conducting physical examinations of the spine. The text begins with a methodical review of fundamentals including basic anatomy and neurology; sensation, muscle, and reflex tests; and classification systems. Subsequent chapters succinctly delineate why the spinal exam is an integral component of neurosurgical, neurological, orthopaedic, and chiropractic exams. Key Highlights: The updated edition features a wealth of beautiful, full-color line drawings A systematic, step-by-step guide on spine examination techniques organized by anatomy - from the cervical spine to the lumbar spine Thorough discussion of motor, sensory, reflex techniques, and special tests provides a greater understanding of how to examine the spine Expanded sections on thoracic spine pathologies and deformities Up-to-date and comprehensive, this book is essential reading for trainee and practicing orthopaedic surgeons and neurosurgeons who perform spine tests in daily practice. It is also a terrific resource for neurologists, physical therapists, and allied health professionals who frequently treat patients for back and neck pain.
ISBN: 9781626233201Publication Date: 2016
Stoelting's Anesthesia and Co-Existing Disease by
A valuable resource for anesthesia providers at all levels of training and practice, Stoelting's Anesthesia and Co-Existing Disease, 8th Edition, provides concise, thorough coverage of pathophysiology of the most common diseases and their medical management relevant to anesthesia. Noted authority Dr. Roberta L. Hines and new editor Dr. Stephanie Jones lead a stellar team of contributing authors who provide clear, detailed guidance on successfully managing or avoiding complications stemming from pre-existing conditions. Presents detailed discussions of common diseases, as well as highlights of more rare diseases and their unique features that could be of importance in the perioperative period. Includes the latest practice guidelines, easy-to-follow treatment algorithms, bulleted key points, and more. Contains two new chapters on Nutritional Diseases: Obesity and Malnutrition and Chronic Pain, and significantly revised content on valvular heart disease, heart failure and cardiomyopathies, pericardial disease and cardiac trauma, endocrine disease, diseases of aging, pregnancy-associated diseases, and more. Features abundant figures, tables, diagrams, and photos that provide fast access to the most pertinent aspects of every condition and clarify critical points regarding management. Examines specific anesthesia considerations for special patient populations, including pediatric, obstetric, and elderly patients. Ideal for anesthesiologists in practice and for anesthesia residents in training and preparing for boards. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323718608Publication Date: 2022
Geriatric Anesthesia
Manual of Geriatric Anesthesia by
The Manual of Geriatric Anesthesia is a practical guide for physicians, residents, and students interested in the care of the elderly patient undergoing surgery. Although primarily written for anesthesiologists, other perioperative physicians and nurses will also find the information highly valuable. Highlights of the text include concise and clear discussions of preoperative assessment, anesthetic administration, the immediate postoperative care, as well as the more classic 'geriatric' topics such as the hip fracture patient, cataract surgery, postoperative delirium, dementia, ethics and end of life care. Clinical geriatric principles are woven into the text so that the reader can develop skills in geriatrics and develop a broader understanding of terminology and principles used in geriatric medicine.
ISBN: 9781461438878Publication Date: 2012-08-11
Neuroanesthesiology
Case Studies in Neuroanesthesia and Neurocritical Care by
The anesthetic considerations and procedures involved in the perioperative care of the neurosurgical patient are among the most complex in anesthesiology. The practice of neurosurgery and neuroanesthesiology encompasses a wide range of cases, from major spine surgery, to aneurysm clipping and awake craniotomy. Case Studies in Neuroanesthesia and Neurocritical Care provides a comprehensive view of real-world clinical practice. It contains over 90 case presentations with accompanying focussed discussions, covering the broad range of procedures and monitoring protocols involved in the care of the neurosurgical patient, including preoperative and postoperative care. The book is illustrated throughout with practical algorithms, useful tables and examples of neuroimaging. Written by leading neuroanesthesiologists, neurologists, neuroradiologists and neurosurgeons from the University of Michigan Medical School and the Cleveland Clinic, these clear, concise cases are an excellent way to prepare for specific surgical cases or to aid study for both written and oral board examinations.
ISBN: 9780521193801Publication Date: 2011-02-03
Cottrell and Patel's Neuroanesthesia by
Featuring new co-editor Piyush Patel, MD, the updated edition of Cottrell and Patel's Neuroanesthesia continues to serve as the definitive reference on this important field of medicine. Clinically oriented chapters are clearly organized and cover key clinical points, case presentations, and discussions, delivering the complete and authoritative guidance you need to ensure optimal perioperative safety for neurosurgical patients. Integrates current scientific principles with the newest clinical applications. Explains what to do under any set of circumstances, the logic behind why it should be done, and how to avoid complications. Clear conceptual illustrations make complex concepts easier to understand at a glance. Comprehensive and broad coverage of all important aspects of neuroanesthesia enables you to find reliable answers to any clinical question. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Access brand-new information to keep you current! All chapters have been thoroughly updated to reflect the latest developments in neurosurgical anesthesia. A completely reorganized TOC offers easier access to information. Covers the latest advances in neuromodality monitoring - brain tissue oxygenation oximetry; microdialysis; and depth of anesthesia. Includes a brand-new chapter on end-of-life care and the diagnosis and management of brain death, as well as a new chapter on minimally invasive techniques. New information on Parkinson's disease has been added to the chapter on Awake Craniotomy.
ISBN: 9780323932738Publication Date: 2025
Essentials of Neuroanesthesia by
Essentials of Neuroanesthesia offers useful insights on the anesthetic management of neurosurgical and neurologic patients. This book covers all topics related to neuroanesthesia, providing essential knowledge on the brain and spinal cord. Sections include chapters on anatomy, physiology, and pharmacology, along with specific chapters related to various neurosurgical and neurological problems and their anesthetic management. This book provides an understanding of related issues, such as palliative care, evidence based practice of neuroanesthesia, sterilization techniques, biostatistics, and ethical issues, and is useful for trainees, clinicians, and researchers in the fields of neurosurgery, neurocritical care, neuroanesthesia, and neurology.
ISBN: 9780128052990Publication Date: 2017
Obstetric Anesthesiology
Chesnut's Obstetric Anesthesia by
Comprehensive, user-friendly, and up to date, Chestnut's Obstetric Anesthesia: Principles and Practice, 6th Edition, provides the authoritative clinical information you need to provide optimal care to your patients. This substantially revised edition keeps you current on everything from basic science to anesthesia techniques to complications, including coverage of new research that is paving the way for improved patient outcomes. An expert editorial team ensures that this edition remains a must-have resource for obstetric anesthesiologists and obstetricians, nurse anesthetists and anesthesiology assistants, and anesthesiology and obstetric residents and students. Presents the latest information on anesthesia techniques for labor and delivery and medical disorders that occur during pregnancy, emphasizing the treatment of the fetus and the mother as separate patients with distinct needs. Contains new chapters on shared decision-making in obstetric anesthesia and chronic pain during and after pregnancy. Features extensive revisions from cover to cover, including consolidated information on maternal infection and postoperative analgesia. Covers key topics such as neonatal assessment and resuscitation, pharmacology during pregnancy and lactation, use of nitrous oxide for labor analgesia, programmed intermittent epidural bolus (PIEB) technique, epidural analgesia-associated fever, the role of gastric ultrasonography to assess the risk of aspiration, sugammadex in obstetric anesthesia, the role of video laryngoscopy and new supraglottic airway devices, spinal dysraphism, and cardiac arrest in obstetric patients. Incorporates the latest guidelines on congenital heart disease and the management of sepsis, as well as difficult airway guidelines that are specific to obstetric anesthesia practice. Offers abundant figures, tables, and boxes that illustrate the step-by-step management of a full range of clinical scenarios. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323566889Publication Date: 2020
Obstetric Anesthesia: Quick References & Practical Guides by
This succinct, evidence-based guide provides everything you need to provide safe, effective care to pregnant women in subacute and emergent situations A quick-reference guide designed for on-the-spot clinical guidance, Obstetric Anesthesia: Quick References & Practical Guides fills a gap in the current literature by distilling the information of a comprehensive textbook into a quick review and providing standard instructions that can be integrated into everyday practice. Chapters include a brief review of the topic, including scientific knowledge and references; clinical pearls based on the BIDMC Department of Anesthesia's long history of providing cutting edge care for pregnant women; bullet points and tables highlighting key information; references for the latest scientific information and primary literature, and guides, protocols, or standard operating procedures for immediate application. Primarily an on-hand emergency manual, Obstetric Anesthesia: Quick References & Practical Guides also serves as a clinical reference guide and teaching tool during team meetings and residency/fellowship didactics. Features Describes tools and methods for caring for pregnant women in labor Includes the best scientific evidence and BIDMC's Department of Anesthesia's Obstetrical Division's thoroughly tested institutional practices used for the care of pregnant women Incorporates clear, step-by-step instructions and up-to-date guidelines and standards Each chapter provides essential information followed by evidence-based best practices for the given topic Succinct presentations are paired with relevant and practical instructions for patient care to support emergency decision making, problem solving, and patient safety
ISBN: 9781264671465Publication Date: 2023
Pain Medicine
Essentials of Pain Medicine by
Accessible, concise, and clinically focused, Essentials of Pain Medicine, 4th Edition, by Drs. Honorio T. Benzon, Srinivasa N. Raja, Scott M. Fishman, Spencer S. Liu, and Steven P. Cohen, presents a complete, full-color overview of today's theory and practice of pain medicine and regional anesthesia. It provides practical guidance on the full range of today's pharmacologic, interventional, neuromodulative, physiotherapeutic, and psychological management options for the evaluation, treatment, and rehabilitation of persons in pain. Covers all you need to know to stay up to date in practice and excel at examinations - everything from basic considerations through local anesthetics, nerve block techniques, acupuncture, cancer pain, and much more. Uses a practical, quick-reference format with short, easy-to-read chapters. Presents the management of pain for every setting where it is practiced, including the emergency room, the critical care unit, and the pain clinic. Features hundreds of diagrams, illustrations, summary charts and tables that clarify key information and injection techniques - now in full color for the first time. Includes the latest best management techniques, including joint injections, ultrasound-guided therapies, and new pharmacologic agents (such as topical analgesics). Discusses recent global developments regarding opioid induced hyperalgesia, addiction and substance abuse, neuromodulation and pain management, and identification of specific targets for molecular pain. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323401968Publication Date: 2018
Hadzic's Peripheral Nerve Blocks and Anatomy for Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia, 3rd Edition by
The complete, authoritative, and practical guide to ultrasound-guided nerve blocks - updated to reflect the most current NYSORA initiatives INCLUDES THREE ATLASES Hadzic's is the most comprehensive color guide to the procedures and equipment used in ultrasound guided nerve blocking. Color drawings and photographs are bolstered by concise, step-by-step instruction from the world-renowned St. Luke's Hospital in New York. The Third Edition has been updated to include more international contributors, and better align the book's content with the New York School of Regional Anesthesia's (NYSORA) standards of practice. Featuring sections that progress from the foundations of regional anesthesia to the clinical applications of nerve blocks, Hadzic's includes tips and insider perspective from the leadership of NYSORA and its academic affiliates. The book also includes three separate atlases, including a new atlas of musculoskeletal ultrasound, as well as surface anatomy, and ultrasound-guided anatomy. *A real-world emphasis on clinical utility serves as the underpinning of chapter content and drives the book's in-depth explanations of techniques and procedures *Outstanding organization begins with the foundations of peripheral nerve blocks (e.g., regional anesthesia, equipment, and monitoring and documentation) and then reviews clinical applications for both traditional procedures and ultrasound-guided procedures *Three atlases: musculoskeletal ultrasound, surface anatomy, ultrasound-guided anatomy
ISBN: 9780071838931Publication Date: 2021
Practical Management of Pain by
For more than 30 years,Practical Management of Pain has offered expert guidance to both clinicians and trainees, covering every aspect of acute and chronic pain medicine for adult and pediatric patients. The fully revised 6th Edition brings you fully up to date with new developments in patient evaluation, diagnosis of pain syndromes, rationales for management, treatment modalities, and much more.
ISBN: 9780323711012Publication Date: 2023
Pediatric Anesthesiology
Children and Pain by
For many years it was believed that children and, in particular, babies did not feel pain. But over the last twenty years or so, this perspective has changed and we have seen many highly specialised pain clinics being set up around the world, who are dedicated to address the needs of the younger members of the population. It is vital to acknowledge that children in pain are not simply "smaller adults", but that they have particular experiences and requirements that can only be addressed by experts in the field, who are aware of the developmental factors that may influence their pain experience. The age of the child, past experiences with pain, family and cultural aspects influence the child's response to new, painful situations. The reaction of parents are important and can serve as role models, but also gender differences are important, when it comes to pain in children. This book deals with severe pain in children and pain associated with disease.
ISBN: 9781608760206Publication Date: 2009-10-01
Clinical Pediatric Anesthesiology (Lange) by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. An invaluable new textbook of pediatric anesthesiology--modeled after the bestselling Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology Filling a void in the anesthesiology literature, this new text delivers a streamlined yet comprehensive discussion of the unique aspects and considerations necessary to successfully manage pediatric patients. Forty concise chapters written by leading pediatric anesthesiologists cover pertinent issues practitioners face in and out of the operating room. For each procedure covered, there is a review of equipment, technique, alternatives, and ways to manage complications or troubleshoot errors. Helpful "Focus Points" summarize salient concepts in every chapter. Informative illustrations, tables, and graphs are featured throughout. Clinical Pediatric Anesthesiology provides the necessary tools to develop a solid understanding of understand pediatric anesthesia and effectively manage pediatric anesthesia cases. It's an essential resource for both trainees and practitioners. Clinical Pediatric Anesthesiology ¬covers: Pre-operative evaluation Physiological and anatomical considerations Monitoring, breathing systems, and machines Advanced airway techniques Pharmacology Intraoperative complications Critical care medicine Post anesthesia care Advances in pediatric anesthesia, and more
ISBN: 9781259585746Publication Date: 2021
Gregory's Pediatric Anesthesia by
As the field pediatric anesthesia advances and expands, so too does the gamut of challenges that are faced by today's anesthesiologists. Gregory's Pediatric Anesthesia aims to fully prepare trainees and experienced professionals for modern practice by equipping them with the knowledge and cutting-edge techniques necessary to safely and successfully anesthetize children for a range of different surgeries and other procedures. Supporting their work with current data and evidence, the authors explore topics including basic principles, potential complications, and best practice, and illustrate their findings with detailed case studies that cover all major subspecialties. This essential new edition includes access to illustrative videos and features new and expanded sections, such as: Anesthesia for Spinal Surgery complications including postoperative blindness Robotic surgery for Pediatric Urological Procedures Anesthesia for Non-Cardiac Surgery in Patients with Congenital Heart Disease (new chapter) Extensive additional ultrasound images for regional anesthesia Neonatal Resuscitation The Pediatric Surgical Home and Enhanced Recovery after Surgery (new chapter) Now in its sixth edition, Gregory's Pediatric Anesthesia continues to provide reliable and easy-to-follow guidance to all anesthesiologists caring for younger patients.
ISBN: 9781119371502Publication Date: 2021
Handbook of Pediatric Anesthesia by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Sharpen your clinical decision-making skills with this concise handbook of anesthesia care for children Written by the pediatric anesthesia faculty at Columbia University Medical Center, Handbook of Pediatric Anesthesia is a succinct guide to the practice of clinical anesthesia in neonates, infants, children, and adolescents. Each of the 89 chapters is devoted to a specific illness or disorder and is presented in a consistent, easy-access design. Every chapter includes a case description, perioperative considerations, anesthetic management, postoperative considerations, controversies, and surgical concerns for the illness discussed. Covering the entire breadth of the specialty, Handbook of Pediatric Anesthesia is an outstanding introductory text and an essential review for pediatric anesthesia board certification and recertification. It is especially valuable to residents and trainees as well as practicing anesthesiologists who do not manage pediatric cases on a regular basis. The book concludes with detailed appendices, including a Pediatric Critical Event Checklist and a Pediatric Drug Guide.
ISBN: 0071769358Publication Date: 2015
Litman's Basics of Pediatric Anesthesia by
Provides a solid foundation of essential knowledge;in this complex field. It covers everything from general pediatric physiology and pharmacology principles through important pediatric diseases; preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative care; anesthesia for a full range of specific surgical procedures; pain management; and critical care. An excellent resource for learners of pediatric anesthesia, this tightly focused, user-friendly handbook;is a well-regarded resource that has been used to train pediatric residents throughout the world.
ISBN: 9780323829021Publication Date: 2022
Smith's Anesthesia for Infants and Children by
Written and edited by renowned experts in pediatric anesthesia, Smith's Anesthesia for Infants and Children provides clear, concise guidance on effective perioperative care for any type of pediatric surgery. The 10th Edition contains significantly revised content throughout, bringing you fully up to date with recent advances in clinical and basic science that have led to changes in today's clinical practice. Offers comprehensive coverage of physiology, pharmacology, and clinical anesthetic management of infants and children of all ages. Contains new chapters on Airway Physiology and Development, Normal and Difficult Airway Management, Ultrasound, Acute Pain Management, Chronic Pain Management, Palliative Pain Management, Infectious Diseases, and Education; plus extensively revised content on cardiovascular physiology; induction, maintenance, and recovery; organ transplantation, and more. Features more than 100 video demonstrations, including regional anesthesia videos, echocardiograms of congenital heart lesions, anatomic dissections of various congenital heart specimens with audio explanations, various pediatric surgical operative procedures, airway management, and much more. Provides outstanding visual guidance throughout, including full-color photographs, drawings, graphs and charts, and radiographic images. Includes quick-reference appendices online: drug dosages, growth curves, normal values for pulmonary function tests, and a listing of common and uncommon syndromes. Provides an interactive question bank online for review and self-assessment. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323698252Publication Date: 2022
Pharmacology and Physiology
Clinical Pharmacology for Anesthesiology by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Apply the core principles of pharmacology for safe, effective anesthesia practice Clinical Pharmacology for Anesthesiology incorporates the latest research and effectively details what anesthesia care providers must know about the drugs they use in everyday practice. This comprehensive textbook uses a visual approach with an abundance of tables and illustrations to assist the practicing anesthesia care provider, resident, and student of anesthesia. The text begins with an overview of fundamental pharmacology concepts (pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics, and drug interactions) and then details all classes of drugs relevant to the anesthesiologist in a highly clinical manner. Features Applies clinical pharmacology principles to patient care, focusing on how anesthetic drugs interact with one another in regards to analgesia, sedation, and hypnosis. Delivers a concise overview of anesthetics and other drugs (diuretics, antiemetics, antiseizure medications, etc.) used in the perioperative environment Describes how patient covariates, such as body weight, blood loss, and age influence drug behavior Incorporates the use of computer simulations to visually present drug concentration and effects forselected anesthetic techniques in premedication, induction, maintenance, emergence, and sedation Includes simulations of sample anesthetic techniques for various challenging surgical procedures
ISBN: 9780071736169Publication Date: 2015
Clinical Physiology in Anesthetic Practice by
A clinically relevant, reader -friendly text covering everything the anesthesia provider must know about physiology This well-illustrated new resource is the most concise and high-yield presentation of physiology topics available to the anesthesia provider. The authors (who are both educators and clinicians) deliver a complete overview of physiology, but, since this book is written for the anesthesia provider, the bulk of the text is dedicated to cardiovascular and respiratory physiology. Clinical Physiology in Anesthetic Practice distinguishes itself from general medical physiology books by the inclusion of case studies and clinical correlation boxed inserts that emphasize key fact that relate to real-world practice. *Numerous case studies demonstrate the clinical relevance of basic science *The author are experienced educators and clinicians, and know how to present difficult concepts in the most interesting and reader-friendly manner possible *Key Points summarize must-know information, providing an excellent framework for board review
ISBN: 9781259641954Publication Date: 2021
Pharmacology and Physiology for Anesthesia by
Pharmacology and physiology are the foundation of every anesthesia provider's training and clinical competency. Pharmacology and Physiology for Anesthesia: Foundations and Clinical Application, 2nd Edition, delivers the information you need in pharmacology, physiology, and molecular-cellular biology, keeping you current with contemporary training and practice. This thoroughly updated edition is your one-stop, comprehensive overview of physiology, and rational anesthetic drug selection and administration, perfect for study, review, and successful practice. Contains new chapters on Special Populations (anesthetic pharmacology in obesity, geriatrics, and pediatrics), Oral and Non-IV Opioids, Thermoregulation, Physiology and Pharmacology of Obstetric Anesthesia, Chemotherapeutic and Immunosuppresive Drugs, and Surgical Infection and Antimicrobial Drugs. Incorporates entirely new sections on Physics, Anatomy, and Imaging. Includes new information on consciousness and cognition, pharmacodynamics, the immune system, and anti-inflammatory drugs. Features user-friendly tables, figures, and algorithms (including 100 new illustrations), all presented in full color and designed to help explain complex concepts. Helps you understand the molecular mechanism of drug actions and identify key drug interactions that may complicate anesthesia with dedicated sections on these areas. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
ISBN: 9780323481106Publication Date: 2019
Regional Anesthesiology
Brown's Atlas of Regional Anesthesia by
Trusted by anesthesiologists, nurse anesthetists, and pain management specialists through five outstanding editions, Brown's Atlas of Regional Anesthesia, 6th Edition, continues to keep you fully informed and up to date in this fast-changing field. This practical how-to guide demonstrates each technique in an easy-to-follow manner, providing unmatched guidance on administering a wide range of nerve block techniques in all areas of the body. New videos, new illustrations, and new chapters improve your knowledge and expertise, helping you provide optimal, safe regional anesthesia to every patient. Covers the full range of key regional anesthesia topics including anatomy, local anesthetic pharmacology, traditional landmark-based and ultrasound-guided blocks, pediatric regional anesthesia, and chronic pain procedures. Features step-by-step instruction highlighted by superb artwork, new anatomical drawings, and clinical photographs-now entirely in full color. Includes access to a video library that includes numerous new videos covering every block described in the atlas, a new introductory video on daily clinical practice procedures, and enhanced voiceover on all videos. Contains an all-new section on obstetric regional anesthesia, plus new coverage of pic block, serratus anterior block, erector spinae block, stellate ganglion block, rectus sheath catheter block, and pediatric pudendal nerve block, with significant updates to pharmacology sections. Presents a wide variety of images to help you develop a 3-dimensional concept of anatomy essential to successful regional anesthesia: cross-sectional anatomy, illustrations of gross and surface anatomy, and ultrasound, CT, and MRI scans. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323654357Publication Date: 2021
Hadzic's Textbook of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management, Second Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The ultimate text on the principles and practice of regional anesthesia and pain management - thoroughly updated A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Since its first edition, Hadzic's Textbook of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management has been the standard reference for students and practitioners of anesthesiology. Presented in full color, this classic covers the theory and practice of regional anesthesia in its entirety, providing readers with both the physiologic principles and specific, state-of-the-art patient-management protocols and techniques. This second edition has been completely updated to reflect the profound advances in the field. These developments include the use of ultrasonography for imaging of peripheral nerves and the central nervous system, advances in the up-to-date understanding of the role of regional anesthesia in preventing postoperative pain, and the use of point-of-care ultrasound for a vast number of other perioperative applications. The second edition features some of the most detailed and didactic anatomical artwork to date. Being a world-wide reference text, this edition also includes anatomical landmark-based and nerve stimulator guided peripheral nerve blocks. ● More than 200 expert contributors and collaborators ● Evidence-based information that spans the entire field of RAPM ● Full-color clinical images and functional anatomy illustrations - nearly all new to this edition ● Easy-to-follow clinical decision-making diagrams, flow charts, practical tables, and clinical pearls ● Up-to-date information on the etiology, prevention, and management of a wide range of complications ● Detailed chapters on pediatric regional anesthesia ● In-depth discussion of region-specific ultrasound te
ISBN: 9780071717595Publication Date: 2018- Hadzic's Peripheral Nerve Blocks and Anatomy for Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia, 3rd Edition by
The complete, authoritative, and practical guide to ultrasound-guided nerve blocks - updated to reflect the most current NYSORA initiatives INCLUDES THREE ATLASES Hadzic's is the most comprehensive color guide to the procedures and equipment used in ultrasound guided nerve blocking. Color drawings and photographs are bolstered by concise, step-by-step instruction from the world-renowned St. Luke's Hospital in New York. The Third Edition has been updated to include more international contributors, and better align the book's content with the New York School of Regional Anesthesia's (NYSORA) standards of practice. Featuring sections that progress from the foundations of regional anesthesia to the clinical applications of nerve blocks, Hadzic's includes tips and insider perspective from the leadership of NYSORA and its academic affiliates. The book also includes three separate atlases, including a new atlas of musculoskeletal ultrasound, as well as surface anatomy, and ultrasound-guided anatomy. *A real-world emphasis on clinical utility serves as the underpinning of chapter content and drives the book's in-depth explanations of techniques and procedures *Outstanding organization begins with the foundations of peripheral nerve blocks (e.g., regional anesthesia, equipment, and monitoring and documentation) and then reviews clinical applications for both traditional procedures and ultrasound-guided procedures *Three atlases: musculoskeletal ultrasound, surface anatomy, ultrasound-guided anatomy
ISBN: 9780071838931Publication Date: 2022
Review Books
Anesthesia Secrets by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Anesthesia Secrets, 6th Edition offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in the practice of anesthesiology. This bestselling resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Fully revised and updated throughout, including protocols and guidelines that are continuously evolving and that increasingly dictate best practices. New chapters on Electrocardiogram Interpretation, Cardiac Physiology, Vasoactive Agents, Volume Assessment, Blood Pressure Disturbances, Mechanical Ventilation Strategies, Perioperative Point-of-Care Ultrasound and Echocardiography, Neuraxial Techniques, Peripheral Nerve and Trunk Blocks, Patient Safety, and Medical Ethics.?? Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Features bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from leaders in the field - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323640152Publication Date: 2021
Anesthesiology : A Comprehensive Board Review for Primary and Maintenance of Certification by
Anesthesiology: A Comprehensive Review for the Written Boards and Recertification is a high-yield, streamlined study aid. It contains more than 1000 updated, realistic multiple-choice questions tailored to the question content of recent American Board of Anestesiology (ABA) exams. To maximizereading efficiency, key messages are repeated and highlighted in the bullets.While focusing on most-frequently tested keywords by the ABA, this book also covers new "emerging" topics such as patient safety, statistics, and ethics. Well-chosen illustrations and graphs are used to enhance the learning experience. Also novel is a high-yield summary of the 60 most frequentlytested topics and concepts to be reviewed just before taking the boards. With this book as guidance, readers will be able to efficiently prepare for the written primary certification or recertification anesthesiology board exam.
ISBN: 9780199733859Publication Date: 2013
Anesthesiology Core Review: Part One: BASIC Exam, Second Edition by
The essential, high-yield review for Part One of the ABA BASIC Exam--updated to align with the latest exam blueprint Anesthesiology residents must pass the BASIC exam in order to continue their training. This essential resource is the single best way to take the stress out of this make-or-break exam, focus your study on nearly 200 must-know topics found on the board exam outline, and identify your areas of strength and weakness. Written by program directors with many years of board examination advising experience, Anesthesiology Core Review: Part One: BASIC Exam succinctly summarizes key concepts in basic science and clinical anesthesia practice. Space is conveniently provided throughout the book to add notes from other study resources. This updated second edition reflects the latest literature and incorporates new topics such as COVID-19. Concise review of all essential anesthesia concepts Great for keyword review and to generate power points for presentations Content correlates with the two-part ABA content outline for board certification Revised simultaneously with the Anesthesiology Core Review: Part Two: ADVANCED Exam Aligns with the updated American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA) BASIC Exam blueprint and incorporates new content with American Society of Anesthesiology guidelines
ISBN: 9781264285518Publication Date: 2024
Anesthesiology Core Review: Part Two ADVANCED Exam, Second Edition by
The most thorough and insightful guide to acing the make-or-break ABA ADVANCED Exam Anesthesiology Core Review: Part Two ADVANCED Exam is an all-in-one test-prep resource for mastering nearly 200 must-know topics, identifying your areas of strength and weakness, and waking up on test day with the utmost confidence. Written by program directors with years of board examination advising experience, the book is designed in a way that facilitates quick, solid learning. It is divided into sections that match the American Board of Anesthesiology ADVANCED exam blueprint: Basic Sciences Clinical Sciences Organ-based Basic & Clinical Sciences Clinical Subspecialties Special Issues in Anesthesiology With its expert authorship and concise yet thorough coverage, Anesthesiology Core Review: Part Two ADVANCED Exam is one of the most important steps you can take to ensure effective preparation for the new ABA ADVANCED Examination.
ISBN: 9781264285730Publication Date: 2024
Basic Anesthesiology Examination Review by
Basic Anesthesiology Examination Review is a high-yield, streamlined study aid specifically designed for Anesthesiology residents preparing for the American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA) Basic Anesthesiology Exam. Chapters deliver succinct and efficiently communicated summaries of all contentlisted in the ABA exam outline, plus highlighted key facts, mneomnics, and relevant images and diagrams. Chapters conclude with board-style practice questions and annotated answers, followed by key references and further reading. With this book as a guide, readers will be able to efficiently preparefor the Basic Anesthesiology Examination and master the key facts and concepts that provide the scientific roundation for the practice of Anesthesiology.
ISBN: 9780199381623Publication Date: 2016-02-12
Pediatric Anesthesiology by
Pediatric Anesthesiology: A Comprehensive Board Review is a high-yield, streamlined study aid. It contains more than 800, realistic, multiple-choice questions tailored to the keywords in the outline of the Pediatric Anesthesiology Certification Examination published by the American Board ofAnesthesiology (ABA). To maximize reading efficiency, annotated answers are followed by bulleted key facts and key references. With this book as guide, readers will be able to efficiently prepare for the written primary certification pediatric anesthesiology board exam.
ISBN: 9780199398348Publication Date: 2015-10-06
Primary FRCA by
Are you frustrated by the lack of lack of quality, up-to-date revision material for the Primary FRCA OSCE examination? The answer is here. Primary FRCA: OSCEs in Anaesthesia provides candidates with over 80 practice OSCE stations presented in the style of the Royal College exam. Covering the main OCSE categories such as physical examination, resuscitation and simulation, anaesthetic hazards, and equipment, this book will help candidates prepare for the exam and test their knowledge. Each station is constructed in clear and logical fashion to make the revision of individual topics more accessible. The sample questions and answers allow self-testing and are complemented by discussions, numerous illustrations and up-to-date clinical guidelines which follow modern-day anaesthetic practice. With more candidates now failing the OSCE component of the exam, Primary FRCA: OSCEs in Anaesthesia is a must-have for trainees and tutors preparing for the primary FRCA.
ISBN: 9781107652231Publication Date: 2013-06-13
Surgical Procedures
Anesthesiologist's Manual of Surgical Procedures by
Covering both surgical and anesthetic considerations, Anesthesiologist's Manual of Surgical Procedures, Sixth Edition, is an essential resource for formulation of an anesthetic plan and perioperative management of patients. All chapters are written by both surgeons and anesthesiologists, giving you a detailed, real-world perspective on the many variables that accompany today's surgical procedures. Presents preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative anesthetic considerations in a clear, templated format, summarizing all courses of action in easy-to-read tables. Describes what the surgeon will likely be doing, variants of the procedure or approaches, patient population characteristics, and details of the procedure including positioning, length of procedure, postop care, and more. Features a full-color design to enhance readability of the tables and clarity of the illustrations. Updates to this edition include a new, heavily illustrated chapter overviewing regional blocks and new appendices covering individual components of enhanced recovery (ERAS) protocols and intraoperative use of transnasal humidified rapid-insufflation ventilatory exchange (THRIVE); as well as new, rapidly accessible tables and figures set on the inside back cover reviewing useful, but easily forgotten facts and dermatomes. An ideal reference for anesthesiologists, anesthesia residents, and CRNAs. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781496371256Publication Date: 2020
CURRENT Procedures Surgery by
Selected sections from each chapter of this book are presented here to share a surgical perspective that is relevant to the practice of anesthesiology when performing these procedures.
ISBN: 9780071453165Publication Date: 2010
Vascular Anesthesia Procedures by
As the practice of vascular anesthesia becomes increasingly recognized as a major subspecialty of anesthesia, there is a growing need among current practitioners to evolve their neuraxial, regional, and general anesthesia techniques and expand their understanding of the latest evidence.Vascular Anesthesia Procedures will review the essential topics of the field from vascular anatomy to common vascular procedures, anesthetic techniques in general and regional anesthesia, complications, perioperative patient monitoring, and post-operative management. Chapters are concise,up-to-date, evidence-based, and richly illustrated throughout.
ISBN: 9780197506073Publication Date: 2021
Liaison Librarian to Anesthesiology
Linda Hasman
She/Her/Hers
Contact:
Miner Library
601 Elmwood Avenue
Rochester, NY 14642
601 Elmwood Avenue
Rochester, NY 14642
585-275-3399