U.S. State and County Statistics
County Health Rankings -- County level health data, including: morbidity, mortality, health behaviors, access to care, social and economic factors, and physical environment.
Kaiser Family Foundation -- Provides state level statiatics for a variety of health indicators.
New York State Department of Health -- data and reports for New York State.
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce -- a portal site that provides access to county and state level data.
Rochester, Monroe County, and Surrounding Areas
ACT Rochester -- Community and health indicators for the greater Rochester, NY area.
Monroe County Health Department
Greater Rochester Area Health Departments
Finding and Using Health Statistics
National Library of Medicine (free online course) -- Health Statistics provide information for understanding, monitoring, improving and planning the use of resources to improve the lives of people, provide services and promote their well being.
This course describes the range of available health statistics, identifies their sources and helps you understand how to use information about their structure as you search.
This course links to numerous examples. Each example opens in a separate page of your browser. To return to the course close the new window -- the course window remains open and you can proceed.
 |
U.S. National Statistics
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality -- Largest collection of longitudinal hospital care data in the United States. National and State databases on inpatient, emergency department and ambulatory surgery visits as well as information from reports and tools facilitate research on a broad range of health policy issues.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality: Compendium of US Health Systems- This report is composed of 626 U.S. health systems, defined in this analysis to include at least one hospital and at least one group of physicians providing comprehensive care, and who are connected with each other and with the hospital through common ownership or joint management.
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System -- Collects state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors and events, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services. BRFSS also collects data on important emerging health issues such as vaccine shortage and influenza-like illness.
Bureau of Labor Statistics -- Injuries, illnesses and fatalities in the workplace.
CensusScope -- U.S. demographic trends and data.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Data and Statistics -- Access to CDC data and statistics by topic and links to other tools and resources.
CDC Wonder -- Access to over twenty data sets, including MMWR, Cancer Surveillance Epidemiology and End Results, Fatal Accident Reporting, and National Occupational Mortality Surveillance.
Community Commons -- Use this database to customize statistical maps across a wide-variety of social determinants of health. This site is free, but does require an account.
FedStats -- Data from over 100 federal agencies in one place, this site provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the federal government.
Forum on Child and Family Statistics -- Aggregated federal data on conditions and trends related to child and family well-being (childstats.org).
Health Services Research Information Center -- Statistics portal from the National Library of Medicine.
Health, United States -- CDC's annual report on trends in health statistics.
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) -- Statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization.
Hospital Profiles and Statistics -- Database of hospital information, including statistics summarized by hospital, state, and the nation. Statistics also included: bed size, discharges, patient days, and gross patient revenue.
MMWR -- Provides data on reportable diseases such as AIDS, hepatitis, and along with articles on specific epidemiological topics.
National Center for Health Statistics -- The Nation's principal health statistics agency provides data and reports on a wide range of health topics. Faststats gives quick access to summary data.
Statistical Abstract of the United States -- Published from 1878 to 2012, the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (Data, Outcomes and Quality) -- statistics and data sets related to substance abuse and mental health.
Surveillance, Epidemiology and End Results Program (SEER) -- A service of the National Cancer Institute that works to provide information on cancer statistics.
U.S. Census Bureau -- Broad access to U.S. census data.
U.S. Census Data, QuickFacts -- Concise data facts in one place.
US Dept. of Health & Human Services -- Guide to HHS Surveys and Data Resources is a compilation of information about all major data collection systems sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).
VitalStats -- Collection of vital statistics products including tables, data files, and reports that allow users to access and examine recent vital statistics and population data interactively.
Youth Risk Behavioral Surveillance System -- Tracks health issues such as injuries and violence, tobacco use, alcohol & drugs, sexual behaviors, dietary behaviors, physical activity, general health, asthma, and more.
Global Health Statistics
CIA World FactBook -- provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
European Union Public Health -- Statistics and data on the public health from the European Union.
Global Health Observatory (GHO) Data -- WHO's Millennium Goals to Sustainable Goals
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research -- An international consortium of universities providing data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.
Pan American Health Organization -- Data on health and risk factors for the Americas.
Population Reference Bureau -- Data on population, health, and environment indicators for the world, major regions, and more than 200 countries.
United Nations. Demographic Yearbook...Natality Statistics -- UN data on live births
UNAIDS -- HIV/AIDS data from around the world.
World Bank -- Statistics on various health indicators from around the world.
World Health Organization -- Global data, statistics and reports from the WHO.
World Health Organization Weekly Epidemiological Record (WER) -- an instrument for the rapid and accurate dissemination of epidemiological information on cases and outbreaks of diseases under the International Health Regulations and on other communicable diseases of public health importance, including emerging or re-emerging infections.
World Health Report -- WHO's research for universal health coverage.
Independent and University Research Centers
Data Methods
Statistical Methods for Dynamic Treatment Regimes (Springer) -- Covers newest statistical and computational approaches to the development of dynamic treatment regime models and analysis of data. Also, provides a synthesis of methods from the spheres of causal inference and clinical trial design