Questions?
Databases
There are number of information resources available at Miner library for your use, however below are what we might consider our Core Databases to search for information.
- CINAHLComprehensive database of journal articles, books, dissertations and research instruments in nursing and allied health fields
- PubMedCustomized version of MEDLINE, the world's leading index for bio-medical journal articles; includes links to UR libraries' e-journals.
- PsycInfoLeading database of journal articles, books and dissertations in psychiatry and psychology
- Cochrane LibraryA collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL).
Nursing Research & EBP Books - Print & Electronic
Clinical Context for Evidence-Based Nursing Practice by ISBN: 9781118275887Publication Date: 2011-11-22
Implementing evidence-based practice: real-life success stories by ISBN: 9781935476696Publication Date: 2011
Research for Evidence-Based Practice in Healthcare by ISBN: 9781118276334Publication Date: 2011-11-22
ClinicalKey Nursing
ClinicalKey for Nursing provides access to nursing content including full-text books and journals, point-of-care monographs, customizable patient education handouts, drug monographs, videos, images, practice guidelines and clinical trials.
Nursing Research E-Journals
Surgical Nursing E-Books
Alexander's Care of the Patient in Surgery by
Alexander's Care of the Patient in Surgery, 16th Edition is the definitive text for nurses and surgical technologists training for a career in the operating room. Illustrated, step-by-step instructions cover patient care in more than 400 surgical interventions, including positioning, instrumentation, and postoperative care.
ISBN: 9780323479141Publication Date: 2019
Cardiothoracic Surgical Nursing by
Cardiothoracic nursing has undergone great change over the last decade. With the continuing improvement of surgical techniques, pharmacology and pre- and post-operative care, there have been many new initiatives and innovations in the nature and practice of this specialised sector of nursing. Rehabilitation and patient education are to name but a few of the areas where exciting new challenges and opportunities for cardiothoracic nurses have opened up. This book is a definitive and accessible text for cardiothoracic nurses. Written for nurses from a nursing perspective, it offers practical advice and information on all aspects of cardiothoracic surgical nursing and pays particular attention to the continuing developments cardiothoracic nurses must face.
ISBN: 9780632059041Publication Date: 2003-10-10
Day Surgery by
The evolution of day surgery has heralded a new era of medical, anaesthetic and nursing knowledge, skills and practice. Day Surgery: Contemporary Approaches to Nursing Care explores the familiar concepts within nursing, such as evidence-based practice, patient-centred communication, management, practice development and models of care, and uses these theoretical constructs to provide a comprehensive overview of contemporary services and nursing approaches within day surgery. This book is written with the intention of providing nurses working in day surgery with a comprehensive applied text that can be used as a reference when caring for patients. Day Surgery: Contemporary Approaches to Nursing Care: Provides a comprehensive overview of nursing approaches in day surgery Utilises models of care Includes evidence based practice Provides practical advice on management of day surgery services including setting up and implementing nurse led services in the area.
ISBN: 9780470319840Publication Date: 2009
Fast Facts for the Cardiac Surgery Nurse, Second Edition by
This handy clinical guide provides speedy access to information and guidelines cardiac surgery nurses use daily. It covers all aspects of care from preoperative to recovery, with an emphasis on prevention and management of postoperative complications√>=an area where nurses can really make a difference and improve care. The second edition is completely revised and updated, with new coverage of risk factors for stroke, thoracic aortic aneurysms, and congenital heart disease, and updates on new surgical techniques and devices. New illustrations clarify crucial information and tables are reorganized to emphasize commonly used medications. The second edition retains all of the expedient features of the Fast Facts guides, including Fast Facts in a Nutshell boxes highlighting especially important content, chapter introductions and objectives, short, easy-to-read chapters, and a convenient pocket size. The heart of the book focuses on post-op complications and nursing interventions to prevent and treat them. The book's five sections are comprised of the Preoperative Period, the Intraoperative Period, the Immediate Postoperative Period, the Extended Postoperative Period, and the Recovery Period, including discharge and long-term rehabilitation. Each section includes nursing considerations and patient education topics. Nurse-sensitive indicators and strategies for improving nursing care are featured throughout. The resource will be highly valuable to new graduates and nurses who are considering a switch to cardiac care, and will reinforce the knowledge of seasoned practitioners. New to the Second Edition: Updates including new surgical techniques and devices Additional graphics to increase reader comprehension New sections on thoracic aortic aneurysms and congenital heart disease New chapter on stroke with a focus on postoperative treatment options Key Features: Delivers a handy pocket reference for new and experienced cardiac care nurses Organized for easy access to equipment, procedures, and pre- and post-op specialty care Includes Fast Facts in a Nutshell delivery of timely content
ISBN: 9780826127853Publication Date: 2016
Fast Facts for the Operating Room Nurse by
"The concise, easy-to-access resource is aimed at nurses who are new to the operating room and the experienced nurses who guide them... The $30 book contains a wealth of current, evidence-based clinical practice information that perioperative nurses need daily." --Dan O'Connor, Outpatient Surgery Magazine This pocket-size book offers concise information for rapid reference, step-by-step instructions for perioperative practices, and evidence-based content based on current perioperative standards and recommended practices. √nNovice nurses, students, and seasoned preceptors will be delighted to learn how easily this go-to guide will provide immediate reference to perioperative practices and information, all while fitting into a pocket for easy retrieval. √>=Kay Ball, PhD, RN, CNOR, FAAN Associate Professor, Nursing, Otterbein University, Westerville, Ohio Past President, Association of periOperative Registered Nurses From the Foreword This is a concise, easy-to-access resource for nurses who are new to the operating room (OR) and the experienced nurses who guide them. Condensing volumes of OR content into one pithy, pocket-size book, it contains a wealth of current, evidence-based clinical practice information perioperative nurses need daily. Based on current standards and recommended practices, it is organized to provide speedy access to critical information. Its lucid, step-by-step format helps new nurses to better understand the complex skills and techniques required in the OR. Focusing on safety and specific patient interventions, orientation information including supplies needed and important protocols is covered. It addresses personal and patient preparation, environmental concerns, and documentation requirements, and describes the wide range of specific technical skills needed by both circulating and scrub nurses. Each chapter introduces concepts and sets clear learning objectives. Also included is an overview of the most common surgical procedures. New perioperative nurses in orientation and their preceptors will find this book to be a welcome addition to the learning process. Key Features: Provides must-have OR orientation information for new nurses and their preceptors Contains key information on patient preparation, aseptic technique, surgical procedures, anesthesia considerations, and documentation Based on the most up-to-date evidence in the literature Includes Fast Facts in a Nutshell feature to reinforce important information
ISBN: 9780826123688Publication Date: 2014-10-01
