Graduate Student Guide: Data Management

Metadata provides the essential tools for discovery, such as a bibliographic citation, and reuse. It is important to add metadata tags to your data. Including keywords and phrases that describe your data and research ensure that other researchers can search and locate your data in a given repository.

• NIH Common Data Elements Repository Common data elements (CDEs) help researchers share and combine datasets, meet funding requirements, and save time.

• NCBI SRA Metadata and Submission Overview -- The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Sequence Read Archive (SRA) metadata schema: This schema is used for the submission of genomic data to the NCBI SRA database.

• Digital Imaging and Communications in Medicine (DICOM) -- This standard is commonly used for medical imaging data, as it ensures interoperability between various imaging devices, PACS (Picture Archiving and Communication Systems), and other medical software.

• Health Level 7 (HL7) standards -- Particularly the HL7 Fast Healthcare Interoperability Resources (FHIR): This standard is widely used for the exchange, integration, sharing, and retrieval of electronic health information.

• OME-XML -- Includes a metadata standard for biological microscopy data.

• The Human Cell Atlas Data Standards -- For single cell data, including information about cell type, tissue type, and experimental conditions.

• Cellxgene.cziscience -- Provides metadata standards for single-cell data and more.

• Darwin Core -- Biodiversity incuding properties, elements, fields, columns, attributes, or concepts

• ENCODE -- Human genomic data

• The Digital Curation Centre (DCC) -- General list of metadata standards

• Allen Brain Atlas-- Offers a detailed map of gene expression in the brain.

• Human Protein Atlas (HPA) --Provides a map of the proteins in human cells, tissues, and organs.

Biological Magnetic Resonance DataBank - MRI data

National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) - Numerous databases with a genomic/proteomic focus

Neuroscience Information Framework - A virtual community of data, materials, and web-based neuroscience resources with the goal of enabling discovery and access to public research data and tools worldwide through an open source, networked environment

The PhysioBank archives of PhysioNet -- Digital recordings of physiologic signals and related data for use by the biomedical research community

OpenNeuro is a free and open platform for sharing MRI, MEG, EEG, iEEG, and ECoG data. It could be suitable for sharing MRI data from your project.

National Institute of Mental Health Data Archive (NDA): The NDA is a cloud-based data repository that stores and shares data from all research funded by the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH). This repository could be suitable for demographic, clinical, neurocognitive, and MRI data.