Graduate Student Guide: MSI

General Information

• Background questions

• What is….?

• Access Medicine – Basic Science textbooks on Biochemistry, Biostatistics, Microbiology, Pathology, Pharmacology and Anatomy
• Clinical Key – Advanced Basic Science textbooks on Biochemistry, Neuroscience, Signaling, Molecular Biology, Signal Transduction and Cancer
• E-books – Search by title or subject

Answers to specific scientific questions

• Foreground questions

• Primary Literature (journal articles)

• PubMed@UR – Includes Medline, the premier database for biomedical journal articles; accessing PubMed via Miner Library’s webpage will give you access to the most free full-text articles

• Web of Science – Science and social science coverage; includes some PubMed citations; has better coverage of engineering, math and statistics than PubMed.  Good for article citation tracking and journal rankings.
• EMBASE –biomedical database that focuses on drugs and pharmacology, medical devices, clinical medicine, and basic science relevant to clinical medicine; includes six million+ records and 2,700+ journals that are not covered by MEDLINE.
• PsycINFO – Primary database for psychiatry, tests and psychology literature and includes some PubMed citations.

Methods & Protocols

• Journal of Visual Experimentation (JOVE) – Peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in a video format
• Nature Methods – Special collections of articles focused on topics of particular methodological interest
• Nature Protocols – Online  journal of laboratory protocols for bench researchers
• More Protocols, including the Current Protocols series – Comprehensive source for protocols in a number of fields, including cell biology, immunology, molecular biology and neuroscience