Questions?
Evidence Pyramid
Click the image to enlarge it.
Filtered Resources
- ACP Journal ClubACP Journal Club's general purpose is to select published articles according to explicit criteria and abstract those studies and reviews that warrant immediate attention by physicians. These articles are summarized in "value-added" abstracts and commented on by clinical experts.
- Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, which provide high quality information to people providing and receiving care and those responsible for research, teaching, funding and administration at all levels. [Access to abstracts is free.]
- Essential Evidence PlusOffers filtered, synopsized, evidence-based information with an integrated search engine that allows keyword searching of multiple databases simultaneously. Includes Topic Reviews, calculators, abstracts from Cochrane, guidelines and InfoPOEMS with daily e-mail alerts.
- Daily POEMs E-Mail AlertsPatient-Oriented Evidence that Matters from Essential Evidence Plus -
Receive a daily email containing a synopsis of an important clinical research study. The studies selected by InfoPOEMs editors have the potential to change the way you practice - National Guideline ClearinghouseA public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines from more than 100 institutions and organizations. It is sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans.
Professional Organizations such as the American Heart Association, the National Cancer Institute, the American Psychiatric Association or the American Academy of Pediatrics may post relevant evidence based medicine reviews or practice guidelines based on ebm reviews on their Web sites. - UpToDateUp to Date is an evidence-based, peer-reviewed clinical information resource that provides the information in an encyclopedic format with references to clinical trials.
Pyramid Divisions
Divisions Defined:
STUDIES: Original journal articles reporting information about clinical trials, etc.
SYNTHESES: Draw upon studies and combine them - the most familiar format being the systematic review.
SYNOPSES: Evidenced-based abstracts of journal articles.
SUMMARIES: Integrate the information from the lower levels of the pyramid and in so doing, the summaries address several aspects of a given condition.
SYSTEMS: Highly advanced medical record systems "in which a patient's characteristics are automatically linked to the current best evidence that matches the patient's specific circumstances" and provides caregivers notification of key aspects of management - decision support systems. These systems are not available today.
Meta-Search Tool
Trip: Turning Research into Practice - a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. This one-stop resource searches across multiple internet sites for evidence-based content including medical journals, Cochrane Systematic reviews, clinical guidelines, etc.
Article Databases
- PubMed@URPubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Access to titles / abstracts is free. Citations may include links to full-text articles from PubMed Central or publisher web sites. Use FindText@UR to link to full-text articles subscribed to by Miner Library.
Use Clinical Queries to limit searches to specific clinical research areas including therapy, diagnosis, etiology, and prognosis.
