Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Edward G. Miner Library

Pharmacy: Key Resources

Questions?

Drug Databases

Lexicomp is a URMC's primary drug resource. Lexicomp provides access to clinical drug resources including: calculators, identifiers, interaction & overdose assessments, and patient education resources. 

Micromedex is URMC's primary drug database. As a point-of-care resource, users can access evidence-based content quickly via desktop or mobile device.

Natural Medicines provides information about dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies. Including interactions, effectiveness, and adverse effects.

Drug Information Portal The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other key U.S. Government agencies. At the top of the page are links to individual resources with potential drug information, including summaries tailored to various audiences. Resources include the NLM search systems useful in searching for a drug, NLM research resources, resources organized by audience and class, and other NIH and government resources such as FDA and CDC.

Labels and Package Inserts

Daily Med List of current labeling of drugs (with packaging inserts).

Dietary Supplement Label Database
The Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD) includes full label derived information from dietary supplement products marketed in the U.S. with a Web-based user interface that provides ready access to label information. It was developed to serve the research community and as a resource for health care providers and the public. It can be an educational and research tool for students, academics, and other professionals.

Drug Coding and Billing

National Drug Code Directory The new edition of the NDC Directory includes electronically listed human prescription and OTC drugs that have been manufactured, prepared, propagated, compounded, or processed by registered establishments for commercial distribution.

Drug Identification

Lexicomp Drug I.D. The drug identification tool, powered by Medi-Span® data, allows identification of a variety of oral, topical and injectable dosage forms. To begin, enter known product characteristics, such as: imprint, dosage form, shape and color. You may also search using drug name, manufacturer/labeler, or identifier (NDC).

Micromedex DrugID The Drug Identification tool can assist in identifying pharmaceutical tablets, caplets, and capsules by any of their physical characteristics such as shape, color, pattern, or imprint code.

Orange Book Provides updated information on prescription, over-the-counter and discontinued FDA-approved drug products. It can be searched and consulted online, or the annual edition and monthly cumulative supplements can be downloaded in .pdf format. The Electronic Orange Book provides daily updates of new generic drug approvals. Search by active ingredient, proprietary name, patent, application number or application holder. If a newly-approved drug product is not turned up in the search, use the search box at top right of the page to find results from the Orange Book's monthly supplements and other FDA sources.

 

Contact Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Rachel Becker
Contact:
585-275-3247
Subjects: Dentistry, Pathology