History of Medicine: Online Journals, Databases, and Reference Materials

Bulletin of the History of Medicine

Early Science and Medicine

History of the Human Sciences

History of Psychiatry

Journal of the History of Dentistry

Journal of the History of Medicine and Allied Sciences

The Lancet

Nursing History Review

Social History of Medicine (2009-2016)

Search or browse lists of the libraries' databases:

Edward G. Miner Library Databases

River Campus Libraries A-Z Databases

Databases on other topics that may intersect with research in the history of health sciences:

Anthropological Fieldwork Online

Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940

Black Studies Center

Gale Primary Sources

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine

Indigenous Peoples of North America

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive

Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease

Encyclopedia of Civil War Medicine

Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology: Health and Illness in the World's Cultures

Encyclopedia of Nobel Laureates, 1901- 2017

Encyclopedia of Public Health: Principles, People, and Programs 

Encyclopedia of the History of Arabic Science

Encyclopedia of the History of Psychological Theories

Encyclopedia of Women in American History

Historical Dictionary of Psychiatry

History of Medicine: A Very Short Introduction

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the History of American Science, Medicine, and Technology

Monday-Friday: 10 a.m.-4 p.m.

Reading Room hours: Tuesday-Friday,

10 a.m.-4 p.m. by appointment only