History of Medicine: Digital Collections and Online Resources

Trade cards from the Edward C. Atwater Collection of American Popular Medicine.

The Yellow Fever Collection hosted on the New York Heritage Digital Collections portal.

19th Century Hospital Images - Images representing hospital design, hospital equipment, patient care, operating room procedure, and life on and off medical wards over the last four decades of the 19th century.

Atwater Patent Medicine Trade Cards - The digitized patent medicine trade cards of the Atwater Collection of American Popular Medicine.

New York State Hospital Postcards - A collection of postcards depicting various hospitals across the state of New York.

URMC Historical Photographs - A selection of photographs of the University of Rochester Medical Center from the Edward G. Miner Library's History of Medicine collection.

URMC Oral Histories - Audio (and sometimes video) recordings of the reminiscences of University of Rochester School of Medicine & Dentistry leaders.

The Many Faces of Nursing Photographic Images from the Edward G. Miner Library, 1890-1965 - An online exhibit of nurses photographed over a period of seventy-five years.

The Yellow Fever Collection - The Yellow Fever Collection consists of more than 500 titles published between 1741 and 1915 that fully represent the development of medical thought on the disease.

African American Intellectual History Society Syllabus: A History of Anti-Black Racism in Medicine - A curated selection of readings on the history of anti-Blackness in American medicine.

Burns Archive Medical Collection - A collection of historic photographs with a large selection of early medical photographs.

The College of Physicians of Philadelphia - Digitized content from the Historical Medical Library of the College of Physicians of Philadelphia.

Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics - A collection of historical resources at Harvard Library that offer perspectives on the science and public policy of epidemiology.

Digital Transgender Archive - An online hub that brings together digitized materials on trans history from various repositories around the world.

Documents on the Origin and Development of the Tuskegee Syphilis Study - An online collection of documents reproduced from the 1932 study by the U.S. Public Health Service (USPHS) on the effects of untreated syphilis in Black men at Tuskegee Institute.

Harvard's Center for the History of Medicine at Countway Library Onview: Digital Collections & Exhibits - Digitized materials from Harvard's medical library.

Influenza Encyclopedia Produced by the University of Michigan Center for the History of Medicine and Michigan Publishing, University of Michigan Library - Thousands of historical documents and materials relating to the 1918-1919 influenza epidemic.

Jeremy Norman's History of Medicine and the Life Sciences - An online, continuously updated, interactive website known as the Annotated World Bibliography of Printed and Digital Works in the History of Medicine and the Life Sciences from Circa 2000 BCE to Circa 2020 by Fielding H. Garrison (1870-1935), Leslie T. Morton (1907-2004), and Jeremy M. Norman (1945- ). The print bibliography is known and cited as “Garrison-Morton.”

The Medical Heritage Library - An open access collaborative digitization and discovery project that pulls together history of medicine and health resources from multiple institutions.

National Library of Medicine Historical Anatomies on the Web - High quality images from important anatomical atlases in the Library's collection. The project offers selected images from NLM's atlas collection, not the entire books, with an emphasis on images and not texts.

The New York Academy of Medicine's Recipes and Remedies: Manuscript Cookbooks - A small digital collection of manuscript receipt books containing culinary recipes and medical formularies for the compounding of various remedies for use at home.

Office of Minority Health Resource Center -  a collection of public health and consumer health information related to ethnic and minority populations in the United States.

University of Rochester AIDS Education Posters Collection - Dr. Edward C. Atwater's collection of AIDS education posters, held and digitized by the University of Rochester's River Campus Libraries.

U.S. National Library of Medicine Digital Collections - The National Library of Medicine's free online repository of biomedical resources including books, manuscripts, still images, videos, and maps.

Wellcome Library Digital Collections (UK) - The digitized collections of the Wellcome Library, one of the world's most expansive collections in the history of medicine.

Yale's Harvey Cushing/John Hay Whitney Medical Library Digitized Collections - The digitized collections of Yale's Harvey Cushing/John Hay Whitney Medical Library, encompassing a variety of materials including photographs, instruments and artifacts, historical posters, manuscripts, incunabula, slides, and more.

Monday-Friday: 9 a.m. - 4 p.m.