Skip to Main Content
Databases
- PubMed@UR
- Embase provides access to over more than 29 million citations for biomedical articles and conference proceedings.
- PubChem Repository of chemical data focusing on biological activities of small molecules.
- Lexidrug Toxicology for assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of poisonings and drug overdoses.
- Reprotox summaries on the effects of medications, chemicals, infections, and physical agents on pregnancy, reproduction, and development.
- NatMed Pro Evidence-based monographs and clinical summaries for alternative and complementary therapies.
Toxicology
Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies, Eleventh Edition by Lewis S. Nelson; Robert S. Hoffman;
The best edition yet of the landmark text in medical toxicology. Covering every aspect of poison management, this indispensable case-based resource has been thoroughly refreshed to deliver evidence-based principles viewed through the lens of an active bedside clinical practice. In no other reference will you find such a diverse roster of esteemed editors and authors who deliver expert insights into every type of toxicologic emergency, whether due to substance abuse or exposure to toxins.
ISBN: 9781259859618
Publication Date: 2019
Poisoning and Drug Overdose, 8th edition by Ilene Anderson (Author), Neal Benowitz (Author)
When every moment counts, count on Poisoning & Drug Overdose A Doody's Core Title for 2021! "Poisoning & Drug Overdose belongs in every emergency physician's workroom." --Academic Emergency Medicine (reviewing earlier edition) "...a great addition to any emergency department library when rapid reference is needed to treat and diagnose the poisoned patient." -- Annals of Emergency Medicine (reviewing earlier edition) Designed for speed of use during toxicologic emergencies, this instant-answer guide delivers critical information on the effective diagnosis and treatment of drug-related emergencies and chemical exposures. Enhanced by detailed tables and charts, extensive cross-referencing, and a comprehensive index, the Seventh Edition has been thoroughly updated to reflect newly released drugs and the latest information on existing drugs. Poisoning & Drug Overdose is divided into four sections: Section 1 leads you through initial emergency management, including treatment of coma, hypotension, and other common complications; physical and laboratory diagnosis; and methods of decontamination and enhanced eliminations of poisons Section II provides detailed information on hundreds of common drugs and poisons Section III describes the use and side effects of more than 80 antidotes and therapeutic drugs Section IV covers the medical management of chemical spills and occupational chemical exposures, and includes a table of more than 500 industrial chemicals Poisoning & Drug Overdose, Seventh Edition should be within reach of every medical toxicologist, emergency physician, and poison control staff member.
ISBN: 9780071839792
Publication Date: 2022
Casarett & Doull's Essentials of Toxicology by Curtis D. Klaassen; John B. Watkins
The definitive toxicology text for students and early-career professionals--updated and revised to address new research and methods The standard for providing thorough, academic, and authoritative information in clear and engaging ways. Focusing only on what you need to know and written on a level you can easily understand, it provides a concise yet comprehensive look at the science and clinical field of medical toxicology. This new edition builds on the wide success of previous editions, with extensive updates that make the book more clinically relevant to students and beginners in toxicology, pharmacology, pharmacy, and environmental sciences. Chapter-ending self-assessment Q&As and other features make the learning process more effective and efficient.
ISBN: 9781260452297
Publication Date: 2022
Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs by Jeffrey K. Aronson (Editor)
Providing an extensively reorganized and expanded resource that now comprises more than 1,500 individual drug articles with the most complete coverage of adverse reactions and interactions found anywhere.
ISBN: 9780444537171
Publication Date: 2016
Basic and Clinical Toxicology of Organophosphorus Compounds by Mahdi Balali-Mood ; Mohammad Abdollahi
This book explains the chemistry of Organophosphorus compounds (OPs), their mechanism of toxicity and the history of OPs from their initial discovery to the development of new compounds such as Novichoks. It details the harmful effects to human health both as a result of acute and chronic OP exposure and the necessary clinical management of affected patients to reduce their toxic side effects. The book also explains the detrimental effect that OPs have had on the environment and the efforts being made to prevent this in the future. Finally, the book looks at the incidents where OPs have been used as chemical warfare agents. Basic and Clinical Toxicology of Organophosphorus Compounds aims to act as a comprehensive guide to all aspects of OPs and is a key resource for clinical toxicologists and related health professionals involved in the prevention, diagnosis and clinical management of OP patients, toxicologists and other scientists involved in research on OPs including regulatory issues and postgraduate students in Toxicology and related fields.
ISBN: 9781447156246
Publication Date: 2015
Toxic Trauma by David J. Baker
This book provides practical guidance to emergency personnel and others in the event of having to manage individual or mass chemical casualties as part of their work in a civilian ambulance service or hospital. The text considers the nature and basic science of the hazards faced as well as the practical management of persons exposed to chemicals and toxins (which although of biological origin behave as chemicals in terms of their effects and transmission). Individual chapters cover the development and classification of chemical toxic agents, how exposure can occur and how medical personnel should be involved in its management . There is also consideration of the nature of toxic trauma and the pathophysiological processes involved, together with a systematic approach to early and continuing management supported by specific examples of incidents. This guide is a useful practical resource for emergency medical and paramedical personnel involved in the management of mass chemical casualties and with ensuring safe operating procedures within potentially contaminated areas to prevent secondary casualties from a chemical release.
ISBN: 9781447155973
Publication Date: 2015
Haschek and Rousseaux's Handbook of Toxicologic Pathology, Volume 1: Principles and Practice of Toxicologic Pathology by Wanda M. Haschek ; Colin G. Rousseaux
Haschek and Rousseaux's Handbook of Toxicologic Pathology, recognized by many as the most authoritative single source of information in the field of toxicologic pathology, has been extensively updated to continue its comprehensive and timely coverage. The fourth edition has been expanded to four separate volumes due to an explosion of information in this field requiring new and updated chapters. Completely revised with a number of new chapters, Volume 1, "Principles and the Practice of Toxicologic Pathology," covers the practice of toxicologic pathology in three parts: Principles of Toxicologic Pathology, Methods in Toxicologic Pathology, and the Practice of Toxicologic Pathology. Other volumes in this work round out the depth and breadth of coverage.Volume 2 encompasses "Toxicologic Pathology in Safety Assessment" and "Environmental Toxicologic Pathology". These two sections cover the application of toxicologic pathology in developing specific product classes, principles of data interpretation for safety assessment, and toxicologic pathology of major classes of environmental toxicants. Volumes 3 and 4 provide deep and broad treatment of "Target Organ Toxicity", emphasizing the comparative and correlative aspects of normal biology and toxicant-induced dysfunction, principal methods for toxicologic pathology evaluation, and major mechanisms of toxicity. These volumes comprise the most authoritative reference on toxicologic pathology for pathologists, toxicologists, research scientists, and regulators studying and making decisions on drugs, biologics, medical devices, and other chemicals, including agrochemicals and environmental contaminants. Each volume is being published separately.
ISBN: 9780128210444
Publication Date: 2022
Open Access - most recent year unavailable
AccessMedicine Pharmacology eBooks
Casarett and Doull's Toxicology: the Basic Science of Poisons, Seventh Edition by
Equips the reaser with an unsurpassed understanding of modern toxicology, including the principles, concepts, mechanisms, and modes of thought that are the foundation of the discipline.
ISBN: 9780071470513Publication Date: 2008
