Subject Guides: Emergency Medicine: Critical Care, Surgery, &amp; Trauma

Journals

Critical Care

Atlas of Clinical Emergency Medicine by Scott Sherman; Stephen Cico (Editor); A physician's time is limited in the ED, and lengthy paragraphs that take several sentences to make a management recommendation are no longer useful to the emergency physician at the point of care. This customer-focused Atlas allows emergency physician to quickly look up a diagnosis and make the appropriate management decisions in 3 minutes or less. Features: Visual presentation of the most common disorders that present in the emergency room New editorial board, including young and up-and-coming emergency physicians New table of contents focused on key disorders emergency medicine physicians see in practice New chapter template emphasizes bulleted text organized by Clinical Presentation, Diagnosis, and Management Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition , which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search tool that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation A highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick-reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
ISBN: 9781451188820
Publication Date: 2015
Ciottone's Disaster Medicine by Gregory R. Ciottone (Editor) While medical specialists in disaster mitigation, preparedness, and response are needed worldwide, the initial phase of disaster response is almost entirely dependent upon local resources-making it essential that all healthcare personnel have a working knowledge of the field and stand ready to integrate into the response system. Ciottone's Disaster Medicine, 3rd Edition, is the most comprehensive reference available to help accomplish these goals in every community. It thoroughly covers isolated domestic events as well as global disasters and humanitarian crises. Dr. Gregory Ciottone and more than 200 worldwide authorities share their knowledge and expertise on the preparation, assessment, and management of both natural and man-made disasters, including lessons learned by the responders to contemporary disasters such as the COVID-19 pandemic, Australian and western U.S. wildfires, European heatwaves, the Beirut explosion, recent hurricanes and typhoons, and the global refugee crisis. Part 1 offers an A-to-Z resource for every aspect of disaster medicine and management, while Part 2 features an exhaustive compilation of every conceivable disaster event, organized to facilitate quick reference in a real-time setting.  Covers basic concepts such as identification of risks, organizational preparedness, equipment planning, disaster education and training, and more advanced concepts such as disaster risk reduction, health in complex emergencies, building local disaster resiliency, psychological impact of disasters on children, and more.   Contains new decision trees throughout that help guide you through the decision-making process in difficult situations.   Uses an easy-to-follow, templated approach to historical perspectives, overviews of current practice including pre-incident and post-incident actions, medical treatment of casualties, and potential pitfalls.   Includes updated sections on man-made disasters, including mass casualties, active shooter situations, integrated response to terrorist attacks, and chemical/biological/radiological/nuclear/high-yield explosives disasters.    Discusses the latest technologies, such as the use of mobile disaster applications, drone response systems, and virtual reality simulation training.  Features thoroughly updated information on crisis leadership, practical applications of disaster epidemiology, disaster and climate change, and the integration of non-government agencies (NGOs) in disaster response-a critical topic for those responding to humanitarian needs overseas.   Includes new chapters on Pandemic Preparedness and Response, Disaster Medicine in a Changing Climate, Disaster Response in Asia, Building Local Capacity and Disaster Resiliency, Civilian-Military Coordination in Disaster Response, Medical Simulation in Disaster Preparedness, Disaster Nursing, Crisis Meta-Leadership, Palliative Care in Disasters, Counter-Terrorism Medicine, SARS CoV (COVID-19 and SARS), and Disasters in Space Travel.  An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. 
ISBN: 9780323809320
Publication Date: 2024
Hall, Schmidt, and Wood's Principles of Critical Care, Fifth Edition by Gregory A. Schmidt; John Kress; Ivor S. Douglas The field's definitive text updated with the latest advances in critical care and 1,000+ color images Comprehensive and current, Hall, Schmidt, and Wood's Principles of Critical Care is the authoritative guide to diagnosing and treating the most common problems encountered in the practice of critical care. Written by expert critical care physicians who are also experienced teachers, it features an organization, thoroughness, and clarity unavailable in other critical care resources. This peerless guide provides consensus on the complex and often-conflicting data in the practice of critical care, along with copious diagnostic and treatment algorithms. The text covers every aspect of critical care medicine essential to successful clinical practice, ranging from basic principles to the latest technologies.
ISBN: 9781264264353
Publication Date: 2024
Lange Critical Care by John M. Oropello; Vlad Kvetan; Stephen M. Pastores Critical Care delivers concise, evidenced-based, and highly clinical coverage of the surgical and medical aspects of critical care. The book provides basic fundamentals, applications and insights that will be of lasting value to all ICU physicians, nurses, advanced care providers, and allied personnel who care for the critically ill and injured patients in all ICUs. Noteworthy features include a well-illustrated Clinical Care Procedures section, high-yield summaries of the full spectrum of essential critical care topics, and the inclusion of "Controversies" chapters throughout each section addressing some of the ambiguous aspects of critical care. This timely book also covers the growing scope of critical care provided outside the ICU and the increasing importance of critical care services within the hospital structure.  In keeping with the multi-professional nature of critical care delivery, several chapters are authored or coauthored by critical care fellows, ICU nurses, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, and pharmacists. FEATURES: * Includes both the surgical and medical aspects of critical care, making it valuable to the intensivist working in the medical, surgical, or neurological ICU * Utilizes numerous visual elements such as figures, tables, and algorithms * Appendix contains valuable reference material and formulas, including a chapter on bedside statistics
ISBN: 9780071820813
Publication Date: 2017
Oh's Intensive Care Manual by Andrew D. Bersten; Jonathan M. Handy Fast access to practical information needed every day in today's intensive care unit. This bestselling manual covers all aspects of intensive care in sufficient detail for daily practice while keeping you up to date with the latest innovations in the field. New coverage of the latest developments in ICU imaging techniques, including ultrasound. New information on the latest advances in ECMO (Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation) for cardiac and respiratory failure, ARDS, septic shock, neurologic disorders, muscle function, and hemodynamic therapy. New co-editor Dr. Jonathan Handy shares his knowledge and expertise on acid-base disturbances during critical illness, critical care transfers, intravenous fluid therapy, cardiovascular physiology, burn management, sepsis, and the immunological impact of surgery and burn injury.
ISBN: 9780702072215
Publication Date: 2019
Plastic Surgery Emergencies by Jamal M. Bullocks; Patrick W. Hsu An updated edition of a key clinical guide to handling emergency situations... The second edition of this detailed guide to the diagnosis and treatment of common plastic surgery emergencies includes updated clinical information on the most common emergency situations. This book gives plastic surgeons, as well as any physicians who may encounter emergency plastic surgery issues, the basic skills they need to effectively treat their patients and to ultimately be successful in their practice. Key Features of the Second Edition: New chapter covering sternal wounds Easy-to-follow color diagrams demonstrating key procedures and full-color photographs for rapid diagnosis Plastic Surgery Emergencies is an indispensable resource for clinicians, residents, and trainees in plastic surgery. It is also ideal for all emergency room personnel, including ER physicians, physicians' assistants, and nurse practitioners, as well as family practice physicians.
ISBN: 9781626231153
Publication Date: 2017
Surgical Critical Care and Emergency Surgery by Forrest O. Moore (Editor); Peter M. Rhee (Editor) This is a unique question-and-answer book for surgical residents and trainees, concentrating on the growing subspecialty of surgery in critical care and emergency surgery. This book covers all surgical aspects of critical care and acute or emergency surgery, making it an ideal learning and review  text for surgical trainees and those professionals specializing in these fields.
ISBN: 9780470654613
Publication Date: 2012
The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management by Calvin A. Brown (Editor-In-Chief); John C. Sakles (Associate Editor); Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Manage airway emergencies with confidence!" The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management is the world's most trusted reference on emergency airway management, and is the foundation text in the nationally recognized The Difficult Airway Course: Emergency(tm), The Difficult Airway Course: Critical Care(tm), and The Difficult Airway Course: EMS(tm). Its practical, hands-on approach provides all the concrete guidance you need to effectively respond to any airway emergency, whether in the emergency department, ICU, urgent care setting, pre-hospital environment, or anywhere else airway emergencies may occur. Apply the latest evidence-based approaches to all aspects of airway management.New chapters include Managing Retroglottic Devices, Controversies in EMS Airway Management, The Unstable Patient: Optimization for Emergency Airway Management, and Safe Extubation of the At-Risk Emergency Patient. Discover expanded coverage of preoxygenation techniques and comprehensive updates throughout. Efficiently overcome any challenge in airway management with the aid of step-by-step instructions, mnemonics, easy-to-follow algorithms, and rich illustrations. Glean expert insights from a brand-new editorial team led by Calvin Brown III, MD, who is Dr. Walls' colleague and protégé, and many of the same airway experts who teach The Difficult Airway Course(tm) - additionally, Dr. Ron Walls continues to actively author content within this edition! Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click See the inside front cover to find out how to access your eBook!
ISBN: 9781496351968
Publication Date: 2018