Molecular Biology and Genomics Tools and Resources
- National Center for Biotechnology InformationVast databases of information on genes, proteins, interactions, genomes and more.
- Gene database for information on a gene-by-gene basis
- Genome database contains sequence and map data from the whole genomes of over 1000 organisms
- BLAST finds regions of local similarity between biological sequences
- Bioproject contains a collection of genomics, functional genomics, and genetics studies and links to their resulting datasets
- dbGaP holds the description and results of studies which investigate the interaction of genotype and phenotype
- Gene Expression Omnibus (GEO) hosts datasets from published high-throughput expression analysis projects over the last 10 years - Clustal"Multiple alignment of nucleic acid and protein sequences"
- DrugBank"...a unique bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource that combines detailed drug... data with comprehensive drug target... information".
- FlyBase"A Database of Drosophila Genes and Genomes"
- Mouse Genome Informatics"...the international database resource for the laboratory mouse, providing integrated genetic, genomic, and biological data to facilitate the study of human health and disease".
- Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man"An Online Catalog of Human Genes and Genetic Disorders"
- RNA Central"The non-coding sequence database"
- Sacchromyces Genome DatabaseGenomic data on yeast
- Structural Biology Knowledgebase"...provides the latest research data, resources, and highlights from structural biology and the Protein Structure Initiative".
- WormBase"Facilitating insights into nematode biology"
What is Bioinformatics?
Programming Languages/Environments
- GitHubNot a language or environment, GitHub is a development platform that allows version control, distribution and archiving of software packages
- BioconductorRunning under the R statistical programming language, Bioconductor "provides tools for the analysis and comprehension of high-throughput genomic data."
Self-Paced Coding Courses
- Codecademy"Learn to code interactively, for free."
- includes courses on Unix-based command line programming and learning to code in Python - Code School"Learn to code by doing".
- has learning paths on Python and databases (SQL), as well as an elective on R. - SWIRL"Learn R in R"
- only covers the R programming environment - Free LINUX Online TrainingFrom the LINUX Foundation
- Data Camp"Learn R, Python or Data Visualization".
A Little More About LINUX...
JMP Statistical Software
Now available for academic use in Miner Library's Computing Center or purchase a license for use on your own or your laboratory's desktop or laptop computer (see below for details).
From the JMP Website: "Built with scientists and engineers in mind, JMP Pro statistical analysis software from SAS provides all the superior visual data access and manipulation, interactivity, comprehensive analyses and extensibility that are the hallmarks of JMP, plus a multitude of additional techniques."
Please follow these links for more information about JMP licensing, including discounted pricing through a joint effort of Miner Library and the University IT Tech Store.
Statistics Tools and Resources
For discounted pricing on any of these products, please contact the University IT Tech Store. Many of these packages are available in Miner Library in the Medical Center and Carlson Library on River Campus, as well as on the high-performance computing cluster in the Center for Integrated Research Computing.