Bioinformatics, Biostatistics and Molecular Biology: Variation in the Normal Genome

The European Bioinformatics Institute is the European node for collecting and disseminating biological data. Some of its tools are: BLAST or FASTA programs for sequence similarity- homology analysis; InterProScan for motifs analysis; ClustalW2 for sequence alignment; MSDfold for protein structure query and comparison.

BioGPS -- A free extensible and customizable gene annotation portal, a complete resource for learning about gene and protein function.

GeneCards®: GeneCards is a searchable, integrated, database of human genes that provides concise genomic related information, on all known and predicted human genes.

The National Center for Biotechnology Information provides analysis and retrieval resources that include GeneBank, Entrez, MyNCBI, PubMed, and BLAST, among many others.

Visit NBCI's YouTube channel for a variety of quick tutorials on NCBI resources.

The Training & Tutorials page at NCBI is a great resource from NCBI. It provides information for using NBCI tools, such as databases, downloads, and tools.

The ENCODE Portal hosts data and information on Encyclopedia of DNA Elements projects in human, mouse, worm and fly genomes.

The UCSC Genome Bioinformatics Site contains the reference sequence and working draft assemblies for a large collection of genomes. It also provides portals to the ENCODE and Neandertal projects.

Factorbook organizes results of ENCODE transcription factor ChIP-seq data, integrated with other ENCODE data such as ChIP-seq of histone marks and nucleosome occupancy.

The NIH Roadmap Epigenomics Mapping Consortium is producing a public resource of human epigenomic data, specifically to map DNA methylation, histone modifications, chromatin accessibility and small RNA transcripts in stem cells and primary ex vivo tissues selected to represent the normal counterparts of tissues and organ systems frequently involved in human disease.