Nursing Research & EBP Books - Print & Electronic
Clinical Context for Evidence-Based Nursing Practice by
The Evidence-Based Nursing Series is co-published with Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI). The series focuses on implementing evidence-based practice in nursing and midwifery and mirrors the remit of Worldviews on Evidence-Based Nursing, encompassing clinical practice, administration, research and public policy. Clinical Context for Evidence-Based Practice provides insights into the key contextual issues to be considered in the implementation and assessment of evidence-based practice. Increasingly, implementation research is demonstrating that for evidence to be successfully implemented into practice, the context of practice needs to be considered. Clinical Context for Evidence-Based Practice addresses professional, educational, and organizational contextual issues that impact on the implementation of evidence into practice and the bringing about of practice change. Practical strategies that have been used effectively to overcome these contextual issues in a range of healthcare settings are identified. Specific contextual issues in different care settings are also addressed e.g. acute care, primary health care, peri-operative settings, paediatrics, aged care, mental health, midwifery. Each chapter is written by an internationally known and respected author, with experience of developing or reviewing contextual strategies that have an impact on the implementation and utilisation of research in practice. They explore how gaining a better understanding of context made a difference to the implementation process or outcome and address the potential to transfer different approaches to a range of healthcare settings. An informative, practical resource for nurses and other health care professionals Explores context-related models and approaches to implementation Informs implementation and enables effective decision making Critically appraises contextual factors across the spectrum of care Explores future directions and implications Includes case examples
ISBN: 9781118275887Publication Date: 2011-11-22
Critical Appraisal from Papers to Patient by
This book represents a brilliant primer and the tools and skills it equips the clinician with are designed to help them navigate the uncertainties of medical practice today. It is essential for those who wish to practice medicine in the best possible way for their patients.
ISBN: 9781138445758Publication Date: 2017-06-30
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research by
This award-winning nursing reference, meticulously researched by luminaries in the field, represents the state of the art in nursing science. Comprehensive and concise, entries provide the most relevant and current research perspectives and demonstrate the depth and breadth of nursing research today. This one-stop reference presents key terms and concepts and clarifies their application to practice. The fourth edition has been substantially updated to contain the latest research for nurse scientists, educators, and students in all clinical specialties. With new information from the National Institute of Nursing Research, this reference is an essential compendium of nursing research for nursing students at any level and researchers in all clinical specialities. New to the Fourth Edition: Extensively revised and updatedProvides new information emphasized by the National Institute of Nursing Research on wellness, end-of-life and palliative care, and health technologyNew entries, including Symptom Management Theory and Self-Management Key Features: Provides the most relevant and current research perspectivesWritten by over 200 experts in the fieldClarifies research applications in practice
ISBN: 0826133045Publication Date: 2017-07-01
Essentials of Nursing Research by
This eighth edition ofEssentials of Nursing Research, written by AJN award-winning authors, along with its accompanyingStudy Guide for Essentials of Nursing Research,student learning ancillaries, and instructor teaching materials present a unique learning-teaching package that is designed to teach students how to read and critique research reports, and to appreciate the application of research findings to nursing practice. New to this edition: - New text organization with separate sections on quantitative and qualitative research offer greater continuity of ideas to better meet the needs of students and faculty. - New online chapter supplements for every chapter expand student's knowledge of research topics. - New chapter on mixed methods research, which involves the blending of qualitative and quantitative data in a single inquiry, responds to the surge of interest in this type of research - Increased emphasis on evidence-based practice (EBP) especially in the areas of asking well-worded questions for EBP and searching for such evidence guides the reader from theory to application. - Enhanced assistance for instructors with numerous suggestions on how to make learning about--and teaching--research methods more rewarding. -New interactive critiquing activity, available on thePoint website, brings the Critical Thinking Exercises from the textbook to an interactive tool. The new format makes it easy for students to respond to the series of targeted questions about the Research Examples. Responses can be printed or e-mailed directly to instructors for homework or testing.
ISBN: 1451176791Publication Date: 2013-02-09
Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses by
Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a complete eBook, Study Center, homework and Assessment Center, and a dashboard that reports actionable data.Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses: Appraisal and Application of Research, Third Edition is the definitive reference for transitioning research into nursing practice. Based on the innovation-decision process (IDP), each unit is shaped according to the five steps of the IDP: knowledge, persuasion, decision, implementation, and confirmation. This unique organizational approach, combined with updated case studies and ethical principles, allows the research process to be tangible and linked with strategies that promoteadvancement.KEY FEATURES:Updated and expanded "Apply What You Have Learned" feature prompts students to find, read, and evaluate current research"Keeping it Ethical" ties relevant ethical issues in to each chapterPractice questions in every chapter help students test their knowledge as they work through the materialChapter objectives, key terms, and critical thinking exercises help guide and focus studyInstructor Resources:Instructor's ManualLecture outlines in PowerPoint format Test bank
ISBN: 1284048918Publication Date: 2014-08-01
How to Read a Paper : The Basics of Evidence-Based Medicine and Healthcare by
Required reading in many medical and healthcare institutions, How to Read a Paper is a clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings. Author Trisha Greenhalgh guides readers through each fundamental step of inquiry, from searching the literature to assessing methodological quality and appraising statistics. How to Read a Paper addresses the common criticisms of evidence-based healthcare, dispelling many of its myths and misconceptions, while providing a pragmatic framework for testing the validity of healthcare literature. Now in its sixth edition, this informative text includes new and expanded discussions of study bias, political interference in published reports, medical statistics, big data and more. Offers user-friendly guidance on evidence-based healthcare that is applicable to both experienced and novice readers Authored by an internationally recognised practitioner and researcher in evidence-based healthcare and primary care Includes updated references, additional figures, improved checklists and more How to Read a Paper is an ideal resource for healthcare students, practitioners and anyone seeking an accessible introduction to evidence-based healthcare.
ISBN: 9781119484745Publication Date: 2019
Implementing evidence-based practice: real-life success stories by ISBN: 9781935476696Publication Date: 2011
Implementing the Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) Competencies in Healthcare by
Hospitals and healthcare systems around the world have attempted to build and sustain evidence-based practice (EBP) cultures and environments, yet they have struggled to clearly understand what EBP competency means. Implementing the Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) Competencies in Healthcare clears up that confusion and serves as a guide for clinicians, leaders, faculty, EBP mentors, and students in achieving EBP competency, facilitating evidence- based decision making in daily practice, and accelerating the speed at which research knowledge is translated into real-world settings to improve health outcomes and decrease healthcare costs. Authors Bernadette Mazurek Melnyk, Lynn Gallagher-Ford, and Ellen Fineout-Overholt provide step-by-step explanations and case scenarios that illustrate realistic advice and ready-to-use resources to help organizations integrate EBP broadly and deeply across their infrastructure to improve patient care quality and safety.
ISBN: 1940446449Publication Date: 2016-06-01
Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice by
The goal of evidence-based practice (EBP) in nursing is to promote improved interventions, care, and patient outcomes. Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice: Model and Guidelines has proven to be one of the most foundational books on EBP in nursing. This fully revised third edition builds on the strength of the first two editions with updated content based on more than a decade of the model's use and refinement in real-life settings. Authors Deborah Dang and Sandra L. Dearholt also incorporated feedback from nurses around the world. Key features of the Johns Hopkins Nursing EBP model include: NEW: Tips for using the newly updated Johns Hopkins Nursing EBP model and guidelines, NEW: Tips on seeking funding for the advancement of interprofessional collaboration and teamwork, NEW: Tools to guide the EBP process, such as Stakeholder Analysis, Action Planning, and Dissemination, Explanation of the Practice question, Evidence, and Translation (PET) approach to EBP projects, Overview of the Patient, Intervention, Comparison, and Outcome (PICO) approach to EBP question development, Creation of a supportive infrastructure for building an EBP nursing environment, Exemplars detailing real-world EBP experiences, CNOs, nurse managers, bedside nurses, and students alike have successfully transformed their practices and improved patient care using Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice: Model and Guidelines. Book jacket.
ISBN: 9781940446974Publication Date: 2018
Nursing Research by
Now in full color, this easy-to-understand textbook offers a comprehensive introduction to nursing research concepts and methods. Evidence-based practice is emphasized throughout, with clear guidelines for evaluating research and applying scientific evidence to practice. Coverage includes qualitative and quantitative research, appraising and critiquing research, critical thinking, and clinical decision-making using research information. Balanced coverage acquaints you with the processes behind research and evidence-based practice. Distinct coverage of qualitative and quantitative research approaches are presented in separate parts of the book to avoid the confusion that often results when the two are interwoven. Complete, high-quality research examples, including three sample critiques, demonstrate how to apply the principles outlined in the text to published quantitative and qualitative research studies. Research Vignettes help bridge the gaps among clinical research, academia, and clinical practice. All-star cast of contributors represents a widely respected team of experts in nursing research and evidence-based practice. Each chapter contains a variety of popular learning aids, including Key Terms, Learning Outcomes, Helpful Hints, Evidence-Based Practice Tips, Appraising the Evidence, Critiquing Criteria, Critique of a Research Study, Critical Thinking Decision Paths, Critical Thinking Challenges, and Key Points. NEW! Streamlined steps of the research process focus on how to appraise and apply research findings for evidence-based practice. NEW! Theory chapter features an up-to-date exploration of the most important theories behind nursing research. NEW! Systematic Reviews and Clinical Practice Guidelines chapter addresses this important area of nursing research. NEW! Quality Improvement chapter discusses the trending topic of quality improvement as it relates to nursing research. NEW! Updated research articles, including a Cochrane Collection study, reflect the most current, high-quality studies, particularly those that are accessible and relevant to readers with minimal clinical experience. NEW! All-new Research Vignettes illustrate the dynamic nature of nursing research.
Call Number: WY 20.5 N974 2010ISBN: 9780323100861Publication Date: 2013-09-27
Research for Evidence-Based Practice in Healthcare by ISBN: 9781118276334Publication Date: 2011-11-22
Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: a Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, 3E by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The leading guide to the principles and clinical applications of evidence-based medicine--updated with new examples and new chapters A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Revised and updated to reflect the latest in medical research and evidence-based resources Practical focus and organization to guide clinicians through the fundamentals of using the medical literature to the more advanced strategies and skills for use in patient care, using the key questions to assess any new research: What are the results? How serious is the risk of bias? How do I apply the results to patient care? Updated real-world examples drawn from the medical literature New chapters that reflect the changing complexity of medical research and literature, including genetic association studies, systematic reviews and meta-analyses, network meta-analysis, noninferiority trials, quality improvement, and evidence-based medicine and the theory of knowledge New emphasis on understanding the role of patient preferences and preappraised resources that provide updated evidence and evidence-based recommendations for practice
ISBN: 9780071790710Publication Date: 2015
Are We Missing Something?
Request that Miner or Williams Library purchase a new book or journal