Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Edward G. Miner Library

Med Students: Phase 1: iPads and Apps

This guide will serve as an information resource for first year medical students at the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry

Questions?

Clinical Apps

Medical Education

Visible Body

Includes Muscle, Human Anatomy Atlas 2017 edition, Skeleton, Physiology animations and Heart & Circulatory.

Award-winning interactive anatomy and physiology learning and visualization content available as multiples apps.  Medically accurate and visually stunning, they include hundreds of animations and scripts and a library of thousands of medical definitions in multiple languages.

Here’s info for downloading apps: http://ovid.visiblebody.com/mobile/

Study Tools

BoardVitals

-An interactive board review tool that contains test questions, answer explanations and will allow you to track your progress as you study for Boards.  BoardVitals provides access to question banks for USMLE 1, 2, and 3 along with the 7 shelf exams taken in 3rd and 4th year.

-To get started, type Board Vitals using the database tab. Once on the Board Vitals page click on the large blue Register button.  Register for an account and you will be taken to the test banks that we have access to where you can create your exams by subject.  Click on the subject that interests you and then select the subjects that you would like your questions to cover.

 

Comprehensive Drug Information

Micromedex App Icon

Micromedex is URMC's drug database. As a point-of-care resource, users can access evidence-based content quickly via desktop or mobile device. Information includes:

  • Indications and Dosing – includes efficacy, strength of evidence, and strength of recommendation ratings
  • Regulatory Status and Generic Availability – displayed in the summary document
  • Drug Toxicity – provides information on clinical effects, treatment, and range of toxicity
  • Patient Education – offers point-of-care counseling information for clinicians to use when educating patients about their medications  

Mobile App Download Directions

  • The IBM Micromedex Druf Ref and IBM Micromedex Drug Int. apps are available for free, through URMC's licensing agreement. They are available for download on Apple and Android devices.​ The apps require a password. Follow the instructions below.

    On the Micromedex homepage page scroll to the bottom right-hand corner of the page and click on “Download Mobile Apps”.

    The next page provides instructions for accessing the mobile apps. The password you need is listed in Step 4 of the webpage instructions.  These instructions accompany each of the three IBM Micromedex apps (Drug Ref, Drug Int, and IV Comp).  This password periodically changes. 

    Once you have the password, use it to login into your Micromedex apps. You are now ready to begin using your Micromedex apps.

UpToDate

Comprehensive clinical support tool accessible through the app on the the web

Register for an UpToDate account on a computer connected to the URMC network or VPN. 

Download the free app from your usual app store and log in with the UpToDate user name and password created during the registration process.

UpToDate requires that you verify your affiliation with URMC or Highland Hospital by logging in to UpToDate from a computer connected to the URMC network at least once every 90 days.  The mobile app will notify you when you need to verify your affiliation.

Visible Body

 

Includes the Human Anatomy Atlas, Muscle Premium, Skeleton Premium, Physiology Anatomy and Heart and Circulatory Premium.

Award-winning interactive anatomy and physiology learning and visualization content available as multiples apps.  Medically accurate and visually stunning, they include hundreds of animations and scripts and a library of thousands of medical definitions in multiple languages.

Find more information about downloading the app here

VisualDx

-Visual diagnostic clinical support system.
-Access VisualDx on a computer connected to the URMC network; click on Get Our Free App... and register. You'll receive an email with instructions for downloading the app.

BrowZine

iBook Tutorial

Evidence-based Information

Diagnosis