Welcome
Welcome to the Phase 1 guide for information resources at Miner Library. This guide contains access to textbooks and resources for each course you will be taking. You will also find helpful tools, resources, apps, literature search tips, videos, and more. Miner Library has a wide variety of information sources to help you succeed during your time here at the University of Rochester.
A few of the services librarians can help with:
- Personal Librarian to support you while you are a student. You will be assigned your Personal Librarian during MEI.
- 1-1 instructional sessions to discuss search strategies and techniques in PubMed, Google Scholar, Cochrane, Web of Science, and other important resources
- Information about and assistance with data management
- Guidance on publishing and journal selection
- Assistance with library-supported citation managers Endnote and RefWorks
Choosing Miner Resources
Stay Connected
Recommended Textbook - print edition
Gordis Epidemiology by Call Number: Miner Library Answer Desk Closed Reserve WA 105 G661e 2019ISBN: 9780323552295Publication Date: 2019
Recommended Textbook - ebook edition
Gordis Epidemiology by
This bestselling text provides a solid introduction to basic epidemiologic principles as well as practical applications in public health and clinical practice, highlighted by real-world examples throughout. New coverage includes expanded information on genetic epidemiology, epidemiology and public policy, and ethical and professional issues in epidemiology, providing a strong basis for understanding the role and importance of epidemiology in today's data-driven society. Covers the basic principles and concepts of epidemiology in a clear, uniquely memorable way, using a wealth of full-color figures, graphs, charts, and cartoons to help you understand and retain key information. Reflects how epidemiology is practiced today, with a new chapter organization progressing from observation and developing hypotheses to data collection and analyses. Features new end-of-chapter questions for quick self-assessment, and a glossary of genetic terminology. Provides more than 200 additional multiple-choice epidemiology self-assessment questions online. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323877756Publication Date: 2025
Evidence Based Medicine Resources
- Essential Evidence Plus-You MUST create an account with EEP to access content. Please use your URMC credentials when creating an account.
How to Read a Paper by
Required reading in many medical and healthcare institutions, How to Read a Paper is a clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings. Author Trisha Greenhalgh guides readers through each fundamental step of inquiry, from searching the literature to assessing methodological quality and appraising statistics. How to Read a Paper addresses the common criticisms of evidence-based healthcare, dispelling many of its myths and misconceptions, while providing a pragmatic framework for testing the validity of healthcare literature. Now in its sixth edition, this informative text includes new and expanded discussions of study bias, political interference in published reports, medical statistics, big data and more. Offers user-friendly guidance on evidence-based healthcare that is applicable to both experienced and novice readers Authored by an internationally recognised practitioner and researcher in evidence-based healthcare and primary care Includes updated references, additional figures, improved checklists and more How to Read a Paper is an ideal resource for healthcare students, practitioners and anyone seeking an accessible introduction to evidence-based healthcare.
ISBN: 9781119484721Publication Date: 2019
