Required e-Textbooks - Anatomical Sciences
Moore's Essential Clinical Anatomy by
Known for its hallmark Clinical Blue Boxes, Moore's Essential Clinical Anatomy, 7th Edition, combines an easy-to-read approach, dynamic surface anatomy and medical imaging features, and engaging digital resources to build clinical confidence and equip users for success from foundational science courses through clinical training and practice. The concise, user-friendly format emphasizes structures and functions critical to physical diagnosis for primary care, interpretation of diagnostic imaging, and understanding the anatomical basis of emergency medicine and general surgery. This updated 7th Edition reflects the latest clinical perspectives and is supported by valuable self-assessment tools, case studies, and interactive BioDigital software to enrich understanding for students and practitioners alike. NEW! Sex and gender content clarifies important gender considerations and reflects an equitable focus on female as well as male anatomy. Extensively revised Clinical Blue Boxes highlight the practical applications of anatomy, accompanied by helpful icons, illustrations, and images that distinguish the type of clinical information covered. Revised comprehensive surface anatomy photographs ensure accurate, effective physical examination diagnoses with integrated natural views of unobstructed surface anatomy and illustrations superimposing anatomical structures with landmarks for more accurate physical examination. Insightfully rendered, anatomically accurate illustrations, combined with many photographs and medical images, strengthen comprehension of anatomical concepts and retention of "mental images" of anatomical structures. Medical Imaging sections familiarize students with plain and contrast radiographic, MRI, CT, and ultrasonography studies they'll use in clinical practice. Comprehensive tables clarify complex information about muscles, veins, arteries, nerves, and other structures for easy study and review.
ISBN: 9781975174248Publication Date: 2024
Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy: Classic Regional Approach by ISBN: 9780323680424Publication Date: 2023
Langman's Medical Embryology by
Concise, clearly written, and vibrantly illustrated, Langman's Medical Embryology, 15th Edition, makes complex embryology concepts approachable to help you build the clinical understanding essential to your success in medical practice, nursing, or other health professions. Hundreds of full-color illustrations clarify the stages of embryonic development with rich detail, and engaging learning features, clinical examples, and online review questions ready you for the challenges ahead on your exams and in clinical practice. NEW! Medical Embryology Animations, now included with the purchase of the print book, allow users to visualize the stages of human development and master the corresponding anatomical relationships. UPDATED! Clinical Correlates boxes reinforce clinically relevant content through realistic case-based scenarios you're likely to encounter in practice. UPDATED! More than 400 full-color illustrations, micrographs, and clinical images clarify key aspects of embryonic development in vivid detail. UPDATED! Clinical vignette and USMLE-style multiple-choice questions, available via digital access, with answers provide valuable self-assessment and strengthen your test-taking confidence. Problems to Solve boost your critical thinking capabilities. End-of-Chapter Summaries detail key stages of development, terms, and clinical conditions for each chapter at a glance.
ISBN: 9781975179960Publication Date: 2024
Junqueira's Basic Histology: Text and Atlas, 17th edition. by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. This user-friendly text and atlas combination is filled with clear explanations, art, and micrographs to elucidate key concepts and facilitate learning For more than four decades, this trusted classic has been considered the hands-down best overview of human tissue structure and function. Accessible yet comprehensive, Junqueiras Basic Histology provides everything you need to know about cell biology and histology, integrating the material with that of biochemistry, immunology, endocrinology, and physiology; it provides an excellent foundation for subsequent studies in pathology. It covers all tissues, every organ system, organs, bone and cartilage, blood, skin, and more. Formatted in a way that optimizes the learning process, Junqueira's explains how to study the structures of cells and tissues; the cell cytoplasm and nucleus; and the four basic tissue types and their role in the organ systems. Each chapter includes multiple-choice self-test questions enabling readers to assess their comprehension of important material; some questions utilizing clinical vignettes or cases to provide real-world relevance. Junqueira's is written specifically for students of medicine and other health-related professions, as well as for advanced undergraduate courses in tissue biology--and there is nothing else like it. Features: Self-test questions in every chapter Key points and summary tables highlight key content Clinical correlations presented with each topic Illustrations depict key aspects of cell biology and histology Electron and light micrographs deliver a definitive atlas of cell, tissue, and organ structures Valuable appendix explains light microscopy stains Lab manual alerts readers to see what they are actually reading about in real-life patients; enhanced lab manual available online Links to Junqueira micrographs
ISBN: 9781260462982Publication Date: 2024
Required Print Textbooks - Physiological Sciences
Medical Physiology by
A concise, clinically oriented overview of physiology Medical Physiology: A Systems Approach offers a succinct yet thorough overview of physiology along with an introduction to basic science principles and their relevance to the clinical expression of disease. The book reflects medical education's increased emphasis on providing students with more clinically oriented content during their first two years of medical school and the importance of the essential concepts of pathophysiology. Focused and clearly written, Medical Physiology: A Systems Approach details the major physiological processes involved in both health and disease. Each chapter begins with a list of Objectives, includes Key Concepts, and ends with Study Questions designed to test your knowledge of major concepts covered in that chapter. Most chapters also include Clinical Correlations that reinforce the major physiological principles covered and illustrate their importance to understanding disease states.
ISBN: 9780071621731Publication Date: 2011
Recommended e-Textbooks - Physiological Sciences
Medical Physiology by
For a comprehensive understanding of human physiology - from molecules to systems -turn to the latest edition of Medical Physiology. This updated textbook is known for its unparalleled depth of information, equipping students with a solid foundation for a future in medicine and healthcare, and providing clinical and research professionals with a reliable go-to reference. Complex concepts are presented in a clear, concise, and logically organized format to further facilitate understanding and retention. Clear, didactic illustrations visually present processes in a clear, concise manner that is easy to understand. Intuitive organization and consistent writing style facilitates navigation and comprehension. Takes a strong molecular and cellular approach that relates these concepts to human physiology and disease. Student Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience includes access -- on a variety of devices -- to the complete text with thorough hyperlinking, images, 10 animations, and copious linkout notes prepared by the Editors. An increased number of clinical correlations provides a better understanding of the practical applications of physiology in medicine. Highlights new breakthroughs in molecular and cellular processes, such as the role of epigenetics, necroptosis, and ion channels in physiologic processes, to give insights into human development, growth, and disease. Several new authors offer fresh perspectives in many key sections of the text, and meticulous editing makes this multi-authored resource read with one unified voice. Your purchase entitles you to access the web site until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. If the next edition is published less than one year after your purchase, you will be entitled to online access for one year from your date of purchase. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should online access to the web site be discontinued.
ISBN: 9781455743773Publication Date: 2017
Cellular Physiology and Neurophysiology by
Gain a foundational understanding of complex physiology concepts with this thoroughly revised text. Cellular Physiology and Neurophysiology, a volume in the Mosby Physiology Series, explains the fundamentals of these multi-faceted areas in a clear and concise manner. It helps bridge the gap between basic biochemistry, molecular and cell biology, and neuroscience, and organ and systems physiology, providing the rich, clinically oriented coverage needed to master the latest concepts in neuroscience and how cells function in health and disease. Helps you easily master the material in a systems-based curriculum with learning objectives, Clinical Concept boxes, highlighted key words and concepts, chapter summaries, self-study questions, and a comprehensive exam. Focuses on clinical implications with frequent examples from systems physiology, pharmacology, and pathophysiology. Provides a solid depiction of transport processes?an integral topic often treated superficially in other cell biology texts. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Complete the Mosby Physiology Series! Systems-based and portable, these titles are ideal for integrated programs. White, Harrison, & Mehlmann: Endocrine and Reproductive Physiology Johnson: Gastrointestinal Physiology Koeppen & Stanton: Renal Physiology Cloutier: Respiratory Physiology Pappano & Weir: Cardiovascular Physiology Hudnall: Hematology: A Pathophysiologic Approach
ISBN: 9780323596190Publication Date: 2020
Mohrman and Heller's Cardiovascular Physiology by
The best cardiovascular physiology text for USMLE review and course work Concise and engaging, Mohrman and Heller's Cardiovascular Physiology provides everything you need to gain a fundamental knowledge of the basic operating principles of the intact cardiovascular system and how those principles apply to clinical medicine. This updated edition is more reader-friendly and includes important updates, design improvements, and fresh perspectives on critical subject matter. Succinct but thorough, the text focuses on the facts and concepts you must know to get a solid "big picture" overview of how the cardiovascular system operates in normal and abnormal situations. No other text will prove more valuable in enhancing your ability to evaluate the myriad new information you will be exposed to throughout your career than Mohrman and Heller's Cardiovascular Physiology. Medical students will find it to be an outstanding review for the USMLE® and experienced clinicians will find it to be a valuable clinical refresher. Features Updated to reflect the latest research and developments in the field "Perspectives" in each chapter identify important, currently unresolved issues Clarifies the details of physiologic mechanisms and their role in pathologic states Links cardiovascular physiology to diagnosis and treatment Summarizes key concepts at the end of each chapter Highlights must-know information with chapter objectives Reinforces learning with study questions at the end of each chapter
ISBN: 9781264618835Publication Date: 2023
Pulmonary Physiology, Tenth Edition by
Gain a complete understanding of the aspects of pulmonary physiology essential to clinical medicine For more than 35 years, this trusted review has provided students, residents, and fellows with a solid background in the aspects of pulmonary physiology that are essential for an understanding of clinical medicine. Lange's Pulmonary Physiology clearly describes how and why the human respiratory system works in a style that is easy to absorb and integrate with your existing knowledge of other body systems. Features: Thoroughly updated with new figures, tables, and end-of-chapter references and clinical correlations Each chapter includes clearly stated learning objectives, summaries of key concepts, illustrations of essential concepts, clinical correlations, problems, and pulmonary function test data to interpret, and suggested readings Enables you to understand the basic concepts of pulmonary physiology well enough to apply them with confidence in future practice Provides detailed explanations of physiologic mechanisms and demonstrates how they apply to pathologic states If you're in need of a concise, time-tested, basic review of pulmonary physiology--one that encourages comprehension rather than memorization, your search ends here.
ISBN: 9781264270040Publication Date: 2022
Gastrointestinal Physiology by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Gain a complete understanding of the functioning of the gastrointestinal system with this concise, engagingly written text Gastrointestinal Physiology explains the operation and performance of one of the body's most crucial systems. Using clear, compelling language, the book's presentation makes it easy to absorb the content andintegrate it as you learn the physiology of other bodilysystems. Written to help you understand essential conceptsrather than merely memorize facts, this unique textexamines many medically relevant facets of this important body system, including anatomy, pathophysiology, andtherapeutics, in concert with physiological information. FEATURES: Provides a thorough review of core concepts and highlights clinical application Covers the physiologic principles needed to understand and treat patients with digestive and liver diseases Includes clinical examples that link basic science with the practice of medicine Incorporates new information on emerging topics such as the communication between the intestine and central nervous system that controls food intake, the myriad rolesnewly ascribed to the intestinal microbiota, contemporary approaches to therapy for a number of GI maladies, and the role of the gut in obesity Enhanced by valuable learning aids such as study questions, learning objectives, key concepts, numerous illustrations and charts, and recommended readings
ISBN: 9780071774017Publication Date: 2014
Vander's Renal Physiology, Tenth Edition by
The best review of renal physiology available for USMLE® Step 1--completely updated with the latest research Combining the latest research with a fully integrated teaching approach, Vander's Renal Physiology, Tenth Edition clearly and expertly explains how the kidneys affect other body systems and how they in turn are affected by these systems. There is no better way learn the fundamental principles of the structure, function, and pathologies of the human kidney that are essential for an understanding of clinical medicine, than this time-tested resource. Here's why Vander's is the best review of renal physiology available for the USMLE® Step 1: The text begins with the basics and works up to advanced principles All chapters have been revised to reflect the latest research and developments in the field Includes learning aids such as flow charts, diagrams, key concepts, clinical examples, boxed statements to emphasize major points, learning objectives, and review questions with answers and explanations Focuses on the goals of renal processes and the logic of them Presents the normal function of the kidney with clinical correlations to disease states
ISBN: 9781264278527Publication Date: 2023
Costanzo Physiology by
Through six highly regarded editions, students and instructors alike have come to appreciate Dr. Linda Costanzo's clear, helpful writing style, logical organization, and easy-to-follow presentation of a challenging and complex topic in medical education. Costanzo Physiology, 7th Edition, retains the step-by-step, to-the-point approach that makes this text ideal for coursework and USMLE preparation. Complex concepts are presented in a simple, easy-to-digest manner, and are accompanied by well-designed figures and tables that provide handy visuals for procedures or physiologic equations. Fully updated throughout, this edition remains the students' choice for concise, clear instruction and a strong foundation in human physiology. Offers a comprehensive and consistent overview of core physiologic concepts at the organ system and cellular levels, making complex principles easy to understand. Presents information in a short, simple, and focused manner - the perfect presentation for success in coursework and on exams. Provides step-by-step explanations and easy-to-follow diagrams clearly depicting physiologic principles. Contains new coverage of SARS CoV-2 physiology, renal handling of uric acid, delta/delta analysis is acid-base physiology, endolymph physiology, respiratory distress syndrome, compensatory bronchiolar constriction, and more. Includes high-yield online features such as student FAQs with thorough explanations, animations, and video tutorials from Dr. Costanzo. Integrates equations and sample problems throughout the text. Features chapter summaries for quick overviews of important points, boxed Clinical Physiology Cases for a more thorough understanding of application, and end-of-chapter questions to reinforce understanding and retention. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323793339Publication Date: 2022
JoVE Core
- JoVE Core Anatomy and Physiology
This collection of lessons focuses on the structures, components, functions, and requirements of the human body.
Freely Available Resources
- The Urinary System: Animations(check the drop down arrows for additional content)
Recommended e-Textbooks - Anatomical Sciences
Gray's Anatomy for Students by
Easy to read, superbly illustrated, and clinically relevant, Gray's Anatomy for Students, 4th Edition, is medical students' go-to text for essential information in human anatomy. This fully revised volume focuses on the core information students need to know, in an easy-access format and with additional multimedia tools that facilitate effective study and mastery of the material. A team of expert authors and global advisors share their extensive teaching and clinical experience, highlighted by more than 1,000 innovative, original illustrations throughout the text. Helps students understand the practical applications of anatomical concepts through unique coverage of surface anatomy, correlative diagnostic images, and clinical case studies. Presents anatomy logically by body region, and now offers bonus eBook chapters for each major body system to facilitate learning from a different perspective - covering the Cardiovascular System, Respiratory System, Gastrointestinal System, Urogenital System, Lymphatic System, and Nervous System. Features an all-new eBook chapter covering the essentials of neuroanatomy, so readers can learn key aspects of this challenging topic in the context of general anatomy. Offers new schematic drawings for key structures and topics in every chapter, providing an additional, simplified approach to introduce each topic-ideal for quick initial understanding and as a guide for students' own anatomy drawings. Includes new and improved online materials such as self-assessment questions, clinical cases, an Interactive Surface Anatomy tool, an online anatomy and embryology self-study course, and more. Provides fully revised and updated clinical content including numerous new In the Clinic boxes, plus new clinical cases, images, and correlates throughout. Enables readers to quickly review the basic concepts from each chapter with Conceptual Overviews. Includes an Enhanced eBook version with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323393041Publication Date: 2024
Netter's Clinical Anatomy by
Offering a targeted, concise approach to clinical anatomy, Netter's Clinical Anatomy, 5th Edition, is a portable, easy-to-read text that bridges normal anatomy to common clinical conditions. It features nearly 600 superb illustrations by Drs. Frank H. Netter and Carlos Machado that provide essential descriptions of anatomy, embryology, and pathology to help you understand their clinical relevance. Authored by John Hansen, PhD, an Honored Member of the American Association of Clinical Anatomists, this visually stunning text covers and reviews the sizable area of human anatomy and pathology in a quick, easy-to-grasp format. Nearly 600 Netter and Machado illustrations provide essential depictions of anatomy, embryology, and pathology to help you quickly learn and understand through visuals. Every clinical correlation is illustrated-more than 200 in all. Clinical Focus boxes present hundreds of illustrated clinical correlations that bridge anatomy to pathophysiology, and Features and Characteristics boxes explain the relation between structure and function. Muscle/Ligament/Joint tables summarize attachment points, actions, and other key information related to each structure. Uses updated terminology based on the second edition of the international anatomic standard, Terminologia Anatomica, and content is aligned with Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy, 8th Edition. Both USMLE-style review questions and short answer questions online help you gauge your mastery of the material and assess areas in need of further study. Other study tools include bonus clinical focus boxes, and 3D models. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Evolve Instructor site with an image bank of clinical correlates is available to instructors through their Elsevier sales rep or via request at https://evolve.elsevier.com.
ISBN: 9780323826624Publication Date: 2023
Histology: a Text and Atlas by
Histology: A Text and Atlas: With Correlated Cell and Molecular Biology, 9th Edition, equips medical, dental, health professions, and undergraduate biology and cell biology students with a comprehensive grasp of the clinical and functional correlates of histology and a vivid understanding of the structural and functional details of cells, tissues, and organs. The 9th Edition reflects the latest advances in cellular and molecular biology and relevant imaging techniques, accompanied by large, high-resolution illustrations and full-color photomicrographs that clarify microanatomy in vibrant detail. System chapters align conveniently with curricula units and emphasize a clinical context, making this proven approach ideal for integrated curricula as well as standalone histology courses. Integrates new information in cell biology with clinical correlates, which readers will see as new clinical information items highlighted in blue text and in clinical boxes (called "Folders"). For example, the last few years of the COVID-19 pandemic has sparked interest about the changes in normal tissue when infected by the severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) virus. Several chapters contain descriptions of these changes with underlying explanations of cellular and molecular mechanisms and clinical features presented by patients. Additional changes include the following: A new discussion on the mononuclear phagocytic system and the cell biology of resident tissue macrophage has been added. The latest research findings in immune cell activation have been incorporated. Updated cellular biology topics include beige adipose tissue, the epithelial-mesenchymal transition, conjunctiva- associated lymphatic tissue, biogenesis and function of peroxisomes, and microsomes as the newest discovered form of cell-to-cell communication. New, more detailed information about the histology of the female and male external genitalia has been included. The skin chapter has been supplemented and updated with many new additions, including of skin color and aging. With the constant improvement in microscopic methods, a new basic discussion on three-dimensional (3D) microscopy methods was incorporated in the methods chapter.
ISBN: 9781975181512Publication Date: 2024
Helpful Links Updated 1/30/24
Miner Library has recently upgraded access to the Visible Body Suite which includes desktop & app access.
The Visible Body Suite includes Human Anatomy, Muscle & Kinesiology, Physiology & Pathology, and biology. There are 3D models and simulations, fladshcards, 3D tours, and augmented reality.
Users must create an account to access content & download the app.
Here's how to get started: Access the desktop version of Visible Body Suite while connected to the URMC network and create an account. (If you created an account previously, you can use this account to login.) Once account is created, users can download the app.
Every 150 days you will be required to sign in while connected to your institution's network to maintain access.
Acland's
Miner Library subscribed database contains nearly 330 videos of real human anatomic specimens in their natural colors, including 5 new videos of the human ear. Watch and listen to world renowned anatomist Dr. Robert Acland as he shows and explains anatomical movement within each region of the body covering bones, muscles, tendons, organs, and more.
AccessMedicine Human Anatomy Modules
Miner Library subscribed database of textbooks, multimedia, self assessment & cases. Video & Audio.
Multimedia includes Human Anatomy Modules inlcuding quizes, Auscultation Classroom, Big Picture Physiology, Patient Interview & Physical Exam and subject lectures.
Helpful Links
Miner Library subscribed database of textbooks, multimedia, self assessment & cases. Video & Audio include anatomy, embryology, physiology and more.
