Skip to Main Content
Edward G. Miner Library

Med Students: Phase 1: Video Tutorials

This guide will serve as an information resource for first year medical students at the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry

Ask A Librarian

Interlibrary Loan Request

Visual Dx Videos

VisualDx is a diagnostic clinical decision support system designed to enhance accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety.  VisualDx includes medical images, patient handouts, and medication-diagnosis relationships.

  • Database covers 3,200 diagnoses represented by 45,000 of the best medical images and 3,700 Sympticons to visually represent disease.
  • Expanded content across general medicine as well as infectious disease, dermatology, STDs, travel medicine, and more.
  • Medical Education Resources: Link to Cases & Lectures.
  • Available on the web and mobile devices, via the App Store and Google Play. There are specific mobile download instructions to ensure you can use VisualDx app. Learn how to download the app here.

Lexidrug Videos

Lexidrug is URMC's drug database. As a point-of-care resource, users can access evidence-based content quickly via desktop or mobile device.

Information includes:

  • INTERACTIONS Analyze a patient’s entire drug and natural product profile, identify potential interactions, and obtain patient management options.
  • DRUG ID - Identify loose or unlabeled medications by searching based on imprint(s), dosage form, color(s), and/or shape. Database includes images of more than 22,000 drug products.
  • CALCULATORS - Access more than 130 medical calculators designed to assist you with drug dosing, conversions, drip rate, organ function and more in both adult and pediatric patients.
  • TRISSEL’S IV COMPATIBILITY -Determine the compatibility and stability of IV drugs in a wide variety of solutions and combinations with this tool that incorporates content from Trissel’s™ 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics Database by Lawrence A. Trissel.

Lexidrug is available to use in your browser or you can download the app. Learn more about how to download the app here.

Each tab has videos on using Lexidrug.

Phase 1 Libguide

ClinicalKey

UpToDate Videos

image of the UpToDate branding

UpToDate is an online, evidence-based point-of-care support tool with topic reviews covering medical symptoms, tests and diagnoses, and treatment options for over 8,500 conditions.  

The first time users log in to UpToDate through SSO, a new UpToDate account will be created.  If already using an UpToDate account, merge accounts during registration process. After completing registration, your username for Mobile App & UpToDate Anywhere will be your URMC Email address then log in through SSO.

An UpToDate account allows users:

  • Download Mobile App
  • Log in to UpToDate Anywhere which means going directly to UpToDate on the web and logging in.
  • CME/CE/CPD credits when researching a clinical question using UpToDate onsite or remotely — including on your mobile device.
  • Download the Anki UpToDate Add On for Desktop

Download the free app from your usual app store and log in with the UpToDate username which is your URMC Email address then login through SSO. Users no longer have to reaffiliate every 90 days. 

Each tab has videos on using UpToDate.

Full-text Articles

GRADE Recommendation

UpToDate Authors

Graphics

Calculators

Patients have varying information needs. Some want just a brief overview, while others want more in-depth information. UpToDate meets the varying information needs of patients by offering both The Basics and Beyond the Basics:

  • The Basics: These topics are 1-3 pages in length and are written in simple language. They answer the four or five most important questions a person might have about a medical problem. The Basics topics are best for readers who want a general overview.
  • Beyond the Basics (available and free to the public): These topics are 5-10 pages long and are more detailed. Beyond the Basics topics are best for readers who want a lot of information and are comfortable with some technical medical terms.

UpToDate provides more than 1,500 patient education topics, plus more than 1,000 translated into universal Spanish and Arabic, that facilitate clinician-patient communication. Written at an accessible level and infused with pictures and graphics, these materials educate and promote shared decision making based on medical evidence, clinical recommendations, and patient preference.

What's New

Practice Updates