Skip to Main Content
Edward G. Miner Library

Med Students: Phase 1: Key Tools

This guide will serve as an information resource for first year medical students at the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry

Quick Search of PMID or DOI with LibKey IO

Lookup a journal article by DOI or PMID

Lexidrug

Lexidrug is URMC's drug database. As a point-of-care resource, users can access evidence-based content quickly via desktop or mobile device.

Information includes:

  • INTERACTIONS Analyze a patient’s entire drug and natural product profile, identify potential interactions, and obtain patient management options.
  • DRUG ID - Identify loose or unlabeled medications by searching based on imprint(s), dosage form, color(s), and/or shape. Database includes images of more than 22,000 drug products.
  • CALCULATORS - Access more than 130 medical calculators designed to assist you with drug dosing, conversions, drip rate, organ function and more in both adult and pediatric patients.
  • TRISSEL’S IV COMPATIBILITY -Determine the compatibility and stability of IV drugs in a wide variety of solutions and combinations with this tool that incorporates content from Trissel’s™ 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics Database by Lawrence A. Trissel.

Lexidrug is available to use in your browser or you can download the app. Learn more about how to download the app here. Find tutorial videos on using Lexidrug here. 

BrowZine

Browse the most recent issues of a wide array of journals in an electronic format. You can build your own bookshelf of journals you would like to receive updates when new issues come out. 

  • iPad version provides PDFs that can be saved in a variety of programs such as reference management software, Box.com or Notability.
  • Web Version allows patrons to read articles online from a web browser.
  • Receive email updates when a new issue saved to your bookshelf is available 
  • Requires an account to save favorite journals.
  • Available to University of Rochester students, staff, and faculty from Miner Library.

LibKey Nomad

Linking Google Scholar to Miner Library

  • Navigate to Google Scholar and click on the 3 lines at the top left. 

  • Click on Settings 

  • Select Library Links 

  • Search for University of Rochester and save 

  • You can now see links to full text in your Google Scholar search results!

LibKey Nomad

 

Core Databases

There are number of information resources available at Miner library for your use, however below are what we might consider our Core Databases to search for information.