Bates' Pocket Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking
by
This updated ninth edition of the leading medical physical examination pocket guide available today provides concise, authoritative guidance on how to perform the patient interview, physical examination, and other core assessments. This trusted pocket-sized reference includes fully illustrated, step-by-step techniques, retaining the easy-to-follow two-column format that correlates examination techniques on the left and abnormalities (clearly indicated in red) with differential diagnoses on the right. Now featuring an enhanced design, new content, and new student-friendly learning aids, Bates' Pocket Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, Ninth Edition, is the ideal quick-reference resource for today's medical, PA, pharmacy, and nursing students. NEW! Expanded Unit 1 provides an overview of the components of the patient encounter and helps you ensure the most effective information-gathering and decision-making approaches. NEW! Algorithms provide helpful starting approaches for patients with common presenting symptoms. UPDATED! Restructured Regional Exam chapters enhance your understanding of overview material, examination techniques, and health promotion and counseling considerations. UPDATED! Photographs, illustrations, and references reinforce key content based on the latest evidence-based information. UPDATED! Text boxes are numbered to provide quick access to important summaries of clinical conditions and tips for challenging examination techniques. Detailed, highly illustrated tables of abnormal conditions display examination and clinical information in an easy-to-find, quick-reference format.
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking
by
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking 14th Edition is the trusted resource for mastering patient assessment, carefully tailored to meet the evolving needs of students, educators, and healthcare practitioners. Whether you're beginning your career in healthcare or seeking to enhance your clinical skills, this updated edition has been thoughtfully updated to address the evolving needs of today's healthcare landscape. By focusing on enhancing clinical reasoning through the integration of common symptoms with high-yield health history questions, it empowers users to conduct more accurate and effective patient evaluations. With a refined two-column layout, new high-quality images, and expanded tables, the content is both comprehensive and accessible. The inclusion of point-of-care ultrasound (POCUS) techniques in regional physical examination chapters, where they correlate with specific PE findings, further enriches the learning and diagnostic process. Additionally, the text incorporates inclusive language and thoughtfully addresses health disparities, ensuring a holistic approach to patient care. This edition is an indispensable resource for those committed to mastering patient assessment and excelling in today's healthcare environment. NEW! Common symptoms with high-yield health history questions are integrated throughout, emphasizing that clinical reasoning skills are at the core of effective interviewing and PE techniques. NEW! POCUS techniques and a dedicated ultrasound chapter provide an understanding of how ultrasound can elevate PE skills, improving diagnostic accuracy and confidence. NEW! Tables on PE modifications for patients with clinical devices and procedures, ensuring comprehensive and accurate assessments in complex cases. NEW! Clinical reasoning-focused interpretation of sample documentations, enhancing the practical application of diagnostic skills. UPDATED! Inclusive language and non-stigmatizing terminology are employed throughout, with health disparities framed within the context of Social Determinants of Health (SDH). UPDATED! Integration with Connect Courseware, providing seamless access to interactive learning modules, customizable course content, and progress tracking tools.
Macleod's Clinical Examination
by
Fifty years since it was first published and now fully revised, Macleod's remains the textbook of choice for medical students, junior doctors, nurses and allied health practitioners who understand that excellence in clinical examination is integral to good practice. The fifteenth edition will teach you how to take a history and carry out proficient clinical examination, in order to elicit the key clinical symptoms and signs of disease. It covers general principles, relevant history, examination and investigations for all the major body systems - and how to effectively apply these skills to specific clinical situations and prepare for assessment. Macleod's Clinical Examination is enhanced with 32 supplementary videos demonstrating key clinical examination routines described in the book, many new and revised for this edition in line with latest guidance and best practice. Primarily focused on the practical skills required by medical students and early career stage clinicians Explains the physical basis of clinical signs to aid understanding Introduces the formulation of a differential diagnosis Provides logical initial investigations for each body system Comes with access to the complete, fully searchable and downloadable eBook Enhanced sections on adapting skills to particular situations, including the challenges of remote consultation and infection control Updated text and images, to ensure the content is relevant to a diverse readership and patient population Latest clinical decision-making models to aid the learner's diagnostic reasoning 8 brand new videos produced especially for this edition covering: Obstetric examination Gynaecological examination Assessment of fluid balance Examination of the hand and wrist Examination of the foot and ankle Examination of the neck Examination of the foot in diabetes and peripheral vascular disease The timed up and go test
Smith's Patient Centered Interviewing: an Evidence-Based Method, Fourth Edition
by
The definitive evidence-based guide to effective patient-centered interviewing A Doody's Core Title for 2024 & 2022! Smith's Patient-Centered Interviewing, Fourth Edition is a practical introductory textbook covering the essentials of patient interviewing. The most evidence based-guide available on the topic, and endorsed by the Academy of Communication in Healthcare, this acclaimed resource applies the proven 5-Step approach which integrates patient and clinical centered skills to improve effectiveness without adding extra time to the interview duration. Smith's Patient-Centered Interviewing covers important topics such as: Patient Education Motivating for behavior change Breaking bad news Managing different personality types Increasing personal awareness in mindful practice Nonverbal communication Using computers in the exam room Reporting and presenting evaluations The book's user-friendly design features icons, boxed case vignettes, and the use of color to highlight key points. Learning aids include practice exercises in each chapter, a pocket card, lists of essential questions, and graphics that facilitate understanding and retention.If you are in need of an evidence-based text that provides a proven systematic framework for taking an effective history, your search ends here.
Motivational Interviewing
by
This book has been replaced by Motivational Interviewing, Fourth Edition, ISBN 978-1-4625-5279-5.
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2025
by
Transgender and Gender Diverse Health Care: the Fenway Guide
by
Medical Management of Vulnerable and Underserved Patients: Principles, Practice, Populations, Second Edition
by
Essentials of Family Medicine
by
